3.9

Created with Sketch.
75 reviews
71%
would repurchase
3.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I was unfamiliar with theBalm, but I thought their products looked interesting. I'm always trying new foundations. A cream foundation is not something I often have tried. I bought it online, and was able to find a shade that worked for me. But I found it kind of greasy, and creasy, and it sat on top of my skin. It never really blended in well. It transferred like crazy for me. I tried to make it work for a while, and I threw it away. I don't see it on their website anymore. (I do have a souvenir of it--I kept the lid and use that when I want to mix foundations!)

About reviewer (496 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGray



2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I only got this because in was 75% off... glad I didn't pay full price! I kind of like the simple packaging, the lack of scent, and the colour is fine for me (albeit a bit pale), but it's just cakey. I should have known, really, with a cream formula like this, but I've heard such good things about this brand I thought I'd try it. It sat on top of my skin, accentuating every pore and wrinkle, and I'm only 35, not that wrinkly yet!! It was really obvious I was wearing makeup, no matter how much I buffed it, and it felt heavy and awful. Won't buy again.

About reviewer (39 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Another surprise hit from Thebalm! I love the timebalm concealer in lighter than light (reviewed separately) but thought, I draw the line at a cream foundation. The packaging of both products, both the box and the cheap plastic container, are off putting to me. I only bought the concealer as it was recommended - I bought it just to see - ended up loving it. So eventually, I decided to do the same with this. It's been discontinued from Superdrug here in UK so it was priced £2! What made me most curious was the inclusion of linoleic acid. I've noticed that skincare with this ingredient work well for me. I also saw vitamin C and have now read it actually has vitamins A,C and E. However I was scared by the fact it does include talc and wax and in the past these sorts of creme foundations have always looked slick and heavy. This one is a little on the heavy side for me (my eternal HG is ELDW) but I have been impressed with how it looks like skin and it matches well (lighter than light isn't truly that light but it's good for ELDW Shell/ MAC nw15) and it sets so there doesn't seem to be much transfer (ELDW is the only foundation I've ever tried which has zero transfer.) I'm not sure if it's causing breakouts so I'll come back to this if I realise this is the culprit. But from using it a few days I think it's a great foundation if your inclination is towards these heavy duty cake foundations. Coverage can be easily built without it looking theatrical. (I think I may travel with this as it's annoying having to pour out a sample of ELDW every time I travel.) All in all I'm impressed. Edit!!!! As suspected! This gave me acne ???? And of course I bought 3 of them whilst on offer. Most of Thebalm is a disappointment. I still love the concealer and schwing eyeliner. Everything else is mediocre or actually bad. Sadly. If you have dry skin then this is a lovely foundation minus the acne causing risk. Ok edit no.2 - I got rid of all my light foundations but decided to buy "After Dark" as a contour shade. It is the best ever, so blendable, and a gorgeous warm tone (I don't suit purple toned contour I've realised) and I love it. I guess on the perimeters of my face I'm not as breakout prone, so I can just enjoy the up sides now.

About reviewer (121 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This didn't work for me at all. I have a moderately oily T-zone, the rest of my face is normal. My nose got so oily while wearing this that my glasses started sliding off, and mind you, I set this with powder everywhere. It also never really sets into the skin - it just sits there, from the moment you apply it until you take it off or (most probably) rub it off by accident, so it's horribly transferable. Moreover, it creases like CRAZY. Literally after 10 minutes of wearing it, I get super bad smile lines. I really tried to work with it; primers, setting powders, all of that, but with no luck. I don't recommend it at all.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

No Silicones!! I may have written a review about this years ago, but I didn't find one. If so, then this is an update. Bottom line: I still own this (not the same container, of course) and I still think it's underrated. This is a full cover foundation that can be the fullest of full, like theatre makeup. When I use it, I apply it with a damp Beautyblender so that I can sheer it out. The thing I like about this, even though I'm not much for full-cover foundations, is the beautiful finish. This makes skin look buttery, soft, flawless, and even-toned. I use this more as a concealer than as a full-face foundation, and it's perfection. I wear Mid-Medium and it's such a perfect match you can see where the makeup ends and my skin begins. Many full-cover cream foundations look fake, mask-like, etc. This one really doesn't. It doesn't need powder to set, which is incredible. It's also not oily, which is highly unusually for a cream foundation. I think of this more as a cream-to-powder foundation. It can be layered, and it can be applied at any time, over any other makeup to smooth things out. This is sold as professional makeup stores all over the country, for good reason! A big thing for me is many "pro" makeup heavy foundations are waxy and full of mineral oil, preservatives, and yucky stuff. This has remarkably good ingredients! My only issue with it is I don't really like foundations that aren't liquid. If you love balm/cream formulas, this one is one of the finest.

About reviewer (825 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Olive, Warm

HairRed, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

This is possibly the best foundation I've ever bought, ever. The lightest colour matches me just right, the packaging is great for travelling (most reviews I read seemed to really dislike the sponge it comes with, but I think it's practical and quite decent) and the coverage is great without looking to heavy. The price is just right too.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

After spending so much money, I think I've found my holy grail foundation. I have oily, problem skin and though I want decent coverage, I don't want something that will weigh down my face, go cakey and annoy my sensitive complexion. Thankfully I've found it with The Balm's Time Balm foundation. The texture of this is gorgeous, really light and creamy but it covers absolutely everything. Coupled with Time Balm concealer and Sexy Mama setting powder from the same brand I feel I've found the perfect combination. The foundation sets as a powder without looking flat and chalky or settling into the creases of my face, it didn't exacerbate my oily t-zone either. The pot looks relatively small (though it's standard 30ml) but a little goes a long way and I found building up coverage was really easy. It didn't leave tide marks or streaks when I did this either, though I definitely recommend using a makeup brush or a beauty blender to apply, rather than the sponge pad included. Best of all this seemed to have calmed and softened my skin after I'd taken it off!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair

HairOther

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this foundation. I used to never use foundation because my face always looked oily and greasy. With any foundation I ever tried. Also matte foundations looked odd. Except for this one. It is great great for oily skin. I often read it's good for dry skin, but clearly as well for oily. My skin glows!! Not oily, not matte, not cakey but gorgeous. This is my HG and I am not looking for another one anymore. I have this in light and light/medium. They both work for me.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Sitting here in front of Mac waiting for my pain meds to kick in. So, a quick review on TheBalm TimeBalm Foundation. I wanted to try this for awhile, was in Kohl's looking around, and of course wound up in the makeup department. (Kinda tiny and very bad lighting) Ah, who the hell am I kidding? I went in to look at TheBalm and Cargo. Kohl's is kinda boring, really. So I bought this, along with some other crap I didn't need. (An eyebrow brush and more handcream? Come on!) Anyhoo, I like this stuff. I'm 62 (and I'm still alive?) and got this in the next to lightest shade. I also bought the foundation brush. Not too impressed with that. I put this on with the sponge, let it set for a minute or so, and buff it in with one of my Kabuki brushes. It looks natural, feels lightweight, and lasts okay. (I also bought the primer on Hautelook. Pretty good stuff.) Try it!

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairSilver, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Love it! Good for my dry skin, medium cover. I use a wet sponge or foundation brush to apply.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel