Cetaphil UVA/UVB Defense Facial Moisturizer SPF 50

Cetaphil UVA/UVB Defense Facial Moisturizer SPF 50

2.8

97 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Medicinal ingredients % w/w: octinoxate 7.5%, octocrylene 7%, oxybenzone 6%, titanium dioxide 5.7%, octisalate 5% Non-medicinal ingredients: purified water, glycerin, propylene glycol, dimethicone, cyclomethicone, vinylpirolidone/eicosene copolymer, stearic acid, glyceryl stearate (and / et) PEG-100 stearate, potassium cetyl phosphate, phenoxyethanol, aluminum hydroxide, triethanolamine, dimethiconol, methylparaben, chlorphenesin, cetyl alcohol, ethylparaben, carbomer copolymer, disodium EDTA, tocopherol/soya oil, xanthan gum

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 6/27/2017 8:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Edit June 28, 2017: I thought it might be helpful to add that if you are not used to using a moisturizer with high SPF (48 or more), you might not like this. It does NOT need a moisturizer underneath. It also is NOT like the water textured sunscreens that are on the market that offer no moisturizing properties. If you are new to using a high spf sunscreen every single day you might have some experimenting to do unfortunately but as a 55 year old, I can tell you it's absolutely worth it.

Original review:
Today I purchased my 6th or 7th tube of this which promoted me to finally write a review for the version made in Canada. I always think I'm going to find something better but I always go back to it because of the way it looks under makeup. It gives a subtle, healthy glow which does show through makeup but in a good way. It makes every foundation I use look better. It never breaks me out or causes any problems. It comes off easily with a double cleanse. I have mature, slightly dry skin because of Retin-A and the acids I use. The package is perfect because it's travel friendly and light. Every time I buy a higher end SS such as Josie Marin, LaRoche Posay, Vichy, Avene etc., etc, I always end up going back to this. It is basic in that it doesn't have peptides or other actives but I put those on at night so I'm not bothered. I'm truly surprised at the negative reviews it gets here because for me, it really is fabulous and I would not want to be without it.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 4/14/2017 10:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Greasy, sticky, tacky, very shiny, slight white cast, hard to wash off. Wouldn't repurchase.

Active Ingredients
Octinoxate 7.5%, Octisalate 5%, Octocrylene 7%, Oxybenzone 6%, Titanium Dioxide 5.7%
Inactive Ingredients
Water, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Dimethicone, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Glyeryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Dimethiconol, Disodium EDTA, Tocopherol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Triethanolamine, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylparaben, Chlorphenesin, Cetyl Alcohol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Methylparaben, Xanthan Gum.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This product is SO not worth buying. It left my face looking very shiny and feeling like i had this greasy film on it, it would always end up running into my eyes and making them blurry. It has broken out my skin everytime i have worn it. Plus, I am not a fan of it's unpleasant sunscreen smell either. I have only used it on bare skin, and not under makeup too, as it know that it would totally leave my makeup looking like an absolute mess.

I honestly tried to put up with this stuff, but there's more going wrong for this product than there is going right. Overall, it was an absolute waste of my money. And, i don't recommend it to anyone.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have super oily, clog prone skin. I got this because the Cetaphil Bar Cleanser has been good to me & I have really sensitive skin. This is basically a moisturizing sunscreen: thick, white casted, makes you shiny. I only use this during the day as it has spf 50+ but since this is a moisturizer I take extra precaution & add my Coppertone Sensitive Skin spf 50+ sunscreen to it to ensure the sun throughout the day doesn't make me red, itchy, irritated & sunburnt. I would never wear this under makeup but for what it is I can deal with the heavieness & shine to avoid using a matte day lotion that will break me out horribly because my skin is just that sensitive.


on 1/19/2015 9:26:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

"Gross. Gross. Ugh. What have I done?"

That's how I felt almost immediately after putting this stuff on. Like I had made a big mistake putting this on my skin... like I had just put on a full facial mistake mask. I wished that I could go back in time and undo my decision. I felt like I had unintentionally poisoned myself... a feeling that was only intensified after I read the ingredients... and I was compelled to read the ingredients by the feeling of this stuff on my face and hands... it just felt WRONG.

This product was recommended to me, and I took that recommendation too lightly. I am chiding myself for having not read the ingredients first.

octinoxate
octocrylene
oxybenzone
titanium dioxide
octisalate
propylene glycol
dimethicone
cyclomethicone
vinylpirolidone/eicosene copolymer
glyceryl stearate
potassium cetyl phosphate,
phenoxyethanol,
aluminum hydroxide
triethanolamine
dimethiconol
methylparaben
chlorphenesin
cetyl alcohol
ethylparaben
carbomer copolymer
disodium EDTA

If I had read that list before I would have never asked my skin to absorb this into my body.
If you wouldn't feel comfortable swallowing this compound, then why would you put it into your skin? If you read these ingredients on a food product and would have no qualms ingesting this chemical cocktail orally, then maybe this lotion is for you. In which case I have an almost full container for you, because there is absolutely no way I am using this again.


on 5/19/2015 10:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Slightly disappointed at this sunscreen ... It's sticky, clogged my pores, made my face oily in 2 hours (I have dry skin ...) and leaves a white cast .... Hmmmm .. Is there anything good about this ?


on 2/24/2014 5:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I feel like this is getting crappy reviews because This product definitely should be advertised for DRY skin. It's far too emollient for oily skin. That being said, I enjoy it for what it is. It moisturizers and provides sun protection. I have combo skin, so it is a bit shiny, but I always powder before leaving the house anyway, and that solves the issue for me. Packaging is great and sanitary, and best of all, it doesn't break me out. In conjunction with the cleansing bar my skin has actually become more clear!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 8/15/2014 10:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My boyfriend suggested this per his dermatologist. It does moisturize well although a bit sticky. The white tint is impossible to blend. Would not buy again.


on 12/20/2013 3:16:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really love this sunscreen, it is light and not too greasy. It doesn't feel too heavy on your face and it is a really good moisturiser. It's only downside is that it makes your face look a but greasy/shiny. I only wear this sunscreen when I go running, as people can tell that you are wearing sunscreen even though it doesn't leave a white cast.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is good nicely moisturizes, but can look greasy and leave a white-ish tint.. Because of all the sunscreen in it. I do like that it has SPF 50 in it to protect you from the sun.


Back to Top