3.1

Created with Sketch.
29 reviews
59%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

These suck!! As much as it pains me to write negative reviews these pens deserve it. They are not nailpolish they are ink so ur designs will wash off or else crackle/smear w topcoat IME. A bottle of LA Colors in the skinny nail Art Deco bottles will go a lot further & is half the price (& is actual nailpolish not an ink!). My pens dried up oh well expensive lesson learned!!!! I will not buy another pen unless I know its nailpolish & it'd be white for my toes but really the fine thin long brush on the LA Art Deco is just as easily used once I got the hang of it, screw up--that's what qtips are for ;-) pass on these thank u for reading.

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther



4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

So I think I need to do some more testing with these, but I wanted to give a first impression. Decided I'd pick up a white nail pen to try a french manicure, but was a little taken aback by the price of some of them. $11? Nooo thank you. This one was only $5 & I figured it would do a similar job - not to mention it had better reviews than the others. Picked it & a sheer pink polish up at Walmart for around $7 total. I used a base coat & applied a coat of the sheer pink on my nails. Then I used the pen to draw the tip (several layers of it), and then went over it with a second coat of the sheer pink. I had an issue here, because the white cracked in a few places. I let it dry, went over the cracks with the white pen, and then went over all my nails with a fast dry top coat. Overall, my nails look really good. I uploaded a couple of photos, one of me holding a Pure Ice polish bottle. The white didn't crack again when I applied the top coat, so that was a plus. I'm curious about whether the fast dry top coat helped keep the white from cracking because it dries too quickly to shrink a lot. Next time I do a french mani, I think I'll try doing both coats of the sheer pink first, then the white tips, then the top coat. Maybe that will keep it from cracking & will make it look cleaner.

About reviewer (81 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Coarse

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Meh. I bought the magenta one to do french tips (wanted white but it was sold out) and these things arent quite as convenient as I wanted. The only way to use this without it looking stupid is to do 1 coat, wait for it to dry COMPLETELY (like half hour), add another coat, wait another half hour to dry completely, then apply top clear coat...so it still takes like 1.5 hours! Seems to wear pretty good though. I will use it up but not buying again.

About reviewer (276 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

These are terrible. I bought a white one so I could do french tips at home. I wasn't expecting these to be salon perfect, but they did not work at all. They dry very fast which is a plus, but it takes several layers so it's not see through. They are very, very watery! Usually I put on those sticker guides to make the tips, but the white seeped through under the stickers. It looked awful. My biggest complaint is that the polish crackles when you use a top coat. I tried several different polishes and it cracked, just like crackle polish, with every single one!! I cannot use this pen. This is such a waste. DO NOT BUY THESE.

About reviewer (267 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I love this nail art pen! I had 2 other nail art pens, and they were like markers. They worked well, but they were hard to use. The Sally Hansen pens, however, were amazing. Color- I only got 1, in 'Coral.' I'd say it's more of a hot pink, but oh well. You need to have a light color underneath your hot pink nail design, or else the pen won't show up. Texture- I liked the texture! it was a TAD bit watery, but it was easy to use and didn't smudge easily so no complaints there. Durability- I just used this stuff yesterday, but I will say it looks great so far. But, there is one complaint. It had a tiny bit of a bubbly look to it after drying. I don't know if I didn't do it right, but it's not very noticeable, so oh well. Price- I'm very young, so I hardly have any money. The pens cost 8$ at my local walgreens, and I wouldn't have bought this product if I didn't have a walgreens gift card. I'll be asking for these for Christmas, but I can't afford them. Other- I have to say I'm impressed! I want more of these so I can have rainbow nail art! yay! XOXO, Cookies

About reviewer (16 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I have tried several colors of this product. I like them all pretty well and the idea is very cool! I love being able to "draw" on my nails. And the colors are all great. BUT after using them on a few nails and shaking the pen to release more of the polish I've found that the pen starts to get way too runny. And then I just end up with globs all over my fingernails, but very shortly after the pen will go back to normal. Having said that however, I love these pens so I will continue to buy them. Just have to be very cautious with them halfway through your nails,lol<3

About reviewer (146 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

Bought the white for a French Manicure and used product as instructed, but the product is very watery and thin, and durability once dry is nil (needs top coat). Agree with commentator below that the final product looks like a crappy white-out job. Product crackled when top coat was applied and dried.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 years ago

I don't have any serious problems with this pen as do other reviewers. I personally found these easy to use. The only problems I have is they only come in metallic like shades and can be watery. It does take patience, but I like them overall.

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

These are completely awful. I bought one in silver, one in black, as they were bogo1/2. I thought they seemed pretty terrible when I opened them as the 'paint' is super watery and pools way too easily, smears when you apply topcoat, chips if you don't, and it's also not very opaque at all either, so I stored them away for a couple of months. Pulled em out today, gave em a little shake. Opened the silver one, gave the tip a gentle press, and the tip proceeded to come out completely. Confused, I slid it back in. It now will not put out any color. Okay, I'll try the black, I figured. Gave it a little shake, and pulled off the cap. And black dripping color went flying everywhere. The tip was still intact, but my arm is now covered in black streaks, as is my new t-shirt. If I could give this a zero, I would.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I love the idea of this product and bought it on a whim because I needed something quick to do a french manicure, the packaging is good and cute, but the product itself doesn't work all that well, I find that the white one is not opaque at all and I've followed the directions and it still wasn't all that good, i wanted to really like this product but I wish that I would have spent the extra money and bought the OPI one

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us