New York Color Smooth Skin Loose Face Powder - Translucent

New York Color Smooth Skin Loose Face Powder - Translucent
Smooth Skin Loose Face Powder - TranslucentNYC Smooth Skin Loose Face Powder

4.0

313 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Zinc Stearate, Silica, Kaolin, Aluminum Starch, Octenylsuccinate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Imidazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 7/1/2017 3:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have tan skin and this makes my foundation look ashy. I haven't tried a setting spray on top because I already threw the powder away.. Yes I don't like it.

Also it makes my undereyes look very dry, cracked and powdery, but on the rest of the face it doesnt control oil as well as Id like.

Maybe fair women that use setting spray and powder sparingly would prefer this. I threw away both this loose version and the compact version, which I found to be better than the loose.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.



on 12/16/2016 1:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Bought it because of the great reviews here but this unfortunately makes my under eye concealer very noticeable & cakey & whitish on my tan skin after about 3 hours. Maybe this is typical of loose powders or maybe it's the concealer causing this - I wouldn't know. Packaging is also flimsy & messy. Somehow one side of the cap is cracking. I've been using this for over 1 year & I don't plan on repurchasing.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

Poor quality. Makes face look cakey. It also broke me out badly, probably due to the talc. Will not purchase again. I'll stick to my urban decay face powder, more expensive but worth it.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 9/26/2015 5:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This powder is so so but it is very messy and product will get everywhere if you aren't careful. It's an okay powder to set your makeup it is a little thick. However if that is the look you are going for than this powder will work for you. If you are looking for something that is a little bit lighter then I suggest trying another loose powder. This powder seems to clog my pores and looks cakey however, it is hard to say considering I've used several different liquid foundations in conjunction with this loose powder. The prices great because it is a drugstore product however, I will try other products to set my makeup. As far as my recommendation it is based on skin type if you want to purchase this product just note keep your receipt one hand in the event you do not like it.


on 7/18/2015 6:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This made my face look so cakey so fast but without even mattifying my face.
It also did NOT set my makeup and did nothing to make my makeup last longer or not crease no matter how little or how much I put on.
Basically the worst powder in the world.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This powder is terrible:( I was left with a cakey, powdery, grey cast (for reference I am an NC35, olive skin yellow undertones). Just skip this powder if your looking for something "translucent" head right on over the E.L.F. display and pick up the HD powder it's much more forgiving and milled more finely.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 11/23/2011 9:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The powder itself is fine and smooth and makes my skin quite soft, but I find that I do need to constantly apply it, because I still get oily, but that's fine because it barely cakes on me at all! Only on some of the dry patches around my acne scars ):


The packaging is quite bad, but honeslty, what can you expect from such an inexpensive product! Also, dont bother with the sponge it comes with haha. I apply the product with a big soft fluffy brush :3


Make sure to moisturize your face first and put on a good foundation/bb cream/primer or similar product so the powder can really grip itself onto something! By the way, my skin is NC20-25, and the shade transluscent is a tad pale for me, especially in natural sunlight, it gives me a slight grey cast, but this can be fixed with either a darker foundation or application with a light hand! It seems a bit pale in the jar, but blends okay(: Im just saying because I had a heck of a time deciding if I should get Naturally Beige or this shade! This also makes me look white and ghostly in pictures, so for picture-taking-events, I wouldnt recommend, but should be fine for everyday use (to school, work, etc).


One last thing, if you purchase this, cover up all the sifter holes except for 3-4, or else this will be a super messy product! If you do this extra step, application will be way easier, cleaner and faster (: you could also buy both shades and maybe mix them (LOL I have no idea..) and make your own shade (play around with the ratios of the two shades!)
Hope this was helpful!


EDIT: I don't use this any more as the ingredients in this are a major turn-off for me :c Ive found pressed powders that control mid-day shine better, dont give a grey cast and that contain better ingredients :) I would still reccommend trying this because its inexpensive, but this isnt for me.


For a natural mattifying powder, give cornstarch a try! It's an active ingredient in many natural-blend face powders (:

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 1/4/2009 8:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have used translucent powders that were really translucent. They gave me a polished look without depositing obvious color. I didn't find this powder transclucent. It was a very light, cool based powder that made my already pale complexion, ghost-like. At first I thought that I had used too much, so I applied less the next time I used it, but the pale-pinkiness of the powder was apparent; very chalky and dry looking, as well. Luckily it was under $3 USD, so I didn't feel guilty for tossing it.


on 12/24/2007 3:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because it had great reviews on MUA, but I'm not very happy with it at all. I have very pale cool-toned skin and this powder is way too orange on me. Even when I apply it very lightly it still looks too dark and orangey on my skin. It's not "translucent", in other words. Also, the texture of the powder kind of sucks-- it's grainy, powdery and cheap looking. I tried using this once to catch eyeshadow that falls underneath my eyes, but I ended up having to wash my face because the powder messed up my skin. I just can't stand the texture. Also, the packaging is incredibly cheap and is totally not travel friendly. The lid doesn't even close properly.


on 5/15/2007 4:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

The price made me want to like it and it does have a lot going for it: it gives me a great polished look, doesn't accentuate dryness (i'm not oily, so i couldn't comment on that), is finely-milled & plenty transparent. BUT it clogs my pores like it's going out of style, so I can't use it except to set my undereye concealer. argh!


Back to Top