DECLÉOR Aromessence Ylang Ylang

DECLÉOR Aromessence Ylang Ylang
Aromessence Ylang Ylang

4.2

102 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Corylus Avellana (Hazel) Seed Oil, Cananga Odorata Flower Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Pimenta Acris (Bay) Leaf Oil, Linalool, Citronellol, Geraniol, Eugenol, Benzyl Benzoate, Benzyl Salicylate, Farnesol, Isoeugenol, D-Limonene

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 6/17/2018 12:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

After using the Neroli oil I thought to give Ylang whirl since my skin is combo/sensitive. Have been applying 2-3 drops of it after my serum and before the moisturizer every other night. I enjoy the ritual although I liked the scent of Neroli better but don't think my skin looks different in any way.

The best use I've found so far is mixing a single drop with foundation, especially the thicker kind. I bought the 50ml salon format with the pump so it's easy to adjust. Foundation applies much more smoothly as it has a lot more slip and looks more natural while retaining the coverage. If there are skincare benefits too that's welcome. Then I blot with tissue before applying powder. Very happy with this trick, try it to see if it works for you too!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Bought this 1 year ago after reading many positive reviews and I kinda need a facial oil for my early 30s skin. I have quite bad combination skin that my cheeks could be very tight and dry whilst my t-zone is super oily. It's extremely tricky to find right product to keep my face happy.
Anyhow, at first I did not like this facial oil. I usually apply this as last step of night regime to seal in all my serum, mask, eye cream and moisturiser. So I left it aside.
I have recently learnt to do lymphatic facial massage using squalane facial oil (from youtube) but the squalane oil might be too hydrating for summer weather so I dig this out again.
I have to say you definitely need to use proper massage technique to massage the oil into your skin. After 10 minutes of facial massage, my face doesn't have the thick and congested feeling (the main reason I stopped using it before) Instead my face is kinda glowing..
After using it with massage method for a whole week, I've noticed my skin is less congested, clearer with no breakout and most importantly my makeup seems to last longer. I still get some shine on my t-zone area but at least my skin does look clearer (as i'm extremely acne-prone)!
So my tips is use it night time with proper massage method (at least 5 mins)

p/s: I have to agree with others that the design of bottle is quite ridiculous but I usually aim to get 2/3 drops for whole face.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 3/11/2017 10:10:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought it as I read that ylang ylang was good for acne prone skin. I used it for around a week as a night time routine, and realised that the smell was keeping me awake. I am unsure if the essential oil is known to keep one awake (eg rosemary) or was it is smell; smells almost like sweet urine. Additionally I did not find any dramatic results after using almost half a bottles although the product is packed with essential oils . But I had no bad breakouts or weird itch from the product . Few weeks back I found the bottle again and decided to use it as it was expEnsive. Inspired by the Sk2 oil I use it over my almost wet face after toner. This way it cuts down the oil and hopefully makes the oil absorb better into the skin. Due to time, the scent is now weaker and I can sleep well. The first night I used it I observed radiant skin that looked well rested. I will continue to use and update the results . I don't really like the bottle as it is not a dark bottle which would have kept the product better. It is also extremely expensive, as a bottle of ylang ylang essential oil is not that expensive and I can easily replicate the formular using better carrier oils (eg argan).

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This oil serum from decleor is the only one that didnt contain orange oil. It has a divine aroma and easy to apply. The only downside is this serum has a very small packaging. It is only 15ml while the other oil serum usually package in 30ml bottle.


on 1/9/2016 6:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

First off, the packaging. If you watch Fiona on UK QVC she shows us how to dispense product properly: simply put a drop on 2-3 fingertips by covering the bottle top with your fingertip, tip the bottle upside down quickly, return to the right way up and repeat with other fingertip(s). Hope that helps. Adorable smell and ingredients list, expensive at £45. For that price l would like a product to work. I bought this about 3 years ago after having good results with other Decleor products. I began using it instead of a day cream and l soon broke out and consigned it to the bottom of my box. I've recently been reading up about layering skincare, Korean-style. I dug it out once l realised it would of course not work when used alone as it was designed to work under a cream. So now l use it with zero breakouts. Unfortunately it isn't doing much for me. I'm benefiting from the extra hydration with a bit of plumpness, but it hasn't cleared up existing acne prone areas, or made my skin matte all day. It hasn't helped with pigmentation after 2 months, so l won't be repurchasing.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I was using this along with the Decleor Aroma Purete Shine Control Oxygenating Fluid.

At first I loved it, my skin was hydrated, soft it controlled the shine, but then I noticed I started getting small pimples all over my face and my PMS breakout was 10x worse then it usually was. I put this down to the change in weather, bad diet etc...

Then I went to speak to a dermatologist and she advised me it was Decleor products, they are full of fragrance and its not good for your skin! So I took her advise and stopped using it, and in about 5 days my skin was back to normal!

Don't be fooled by this! Not worth it in the long run. It takes about 3 months to actually realise what it is doing to your skin!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I first came in contact with this one through a salon where I had a facial done. The skin therapist used all Decleor products, and since I've only tried a handful myself, I was curious about some of them. I explained my problems with my combination skin (oily t-zone) and that no matter what foundation or primer I use - my makeup just doesn't stay on. I get super shiny by lunch and by the end of the day my face looks awful.

She recommended the Ylang Ylang and let me try it there. It was quite expensive, so I passed on it at the time. A few weeks later though, I was flying home and saw it at the airport. Tax-free price + day cream gift? Yes, please! I got it and I've used it ever since.

So far, it has been amazing. I warm up maybe 2-3 drops of the oil between my palms and then massage it in to my face. I apply day cream immideately after it and I can feel the moisture really sinking in. Wonderful! My primer goes on smoothly and my foundation stays on all day. Amazing.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/4/2013 10:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I can't say I'm in love with this product. It hasn't performed miracles on my skin, and I've been using it for several months now. It's a good buffer for when my skin gets dehydrated but any good oil help with that, and as the ylang ylang oil is quite expensive I won't be getting it again. I'll stick with my jojoba oil. Plus the packaging kinda sucks, even though the bottle is pretty to look at.

But on a positive side, the ylang ylang oil didn't break me out at all. And I'm sure the oil will be fantastic for some of you out there :) But it just wasn't for me.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 7/28/2013 10:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I hate to add a bad review to a series of glowing testimonies, because it makes me feel as if I'm using it wrong! However this product just didn't work for me unfortunately, however much I wanted it to.

I'm a huge fan of Decleor - they're actually my favourite skincare company. However the issue I have with them, and a lot of other skincare lines, is that I find it awkward to choose the correct range for my skin type. My skin is not typically oily, but it is blemish-prone. It is more normal, but can err on the dehydrated side. At the same time it is sensitive and prone to redness - clearly I have a lot of issues for a product to deal with! Because of this I've also tried the Rose d'Orient Aromessence and the Neroli, both of which I really like and will probably review in the foreseeable future. I was drawn to the Ylang Ylang because of the great results I'd seen with the other Decleor oils - I thought maybe it would give my skin the same benefits but with extra blemish-fighting properties. This is designed for oily/blemished skin, so I thought I'd give it a go.

The price is really extortionate, for me at least. Now I love Decleor and their products are quality and do last a long time, but looking at the ingredients, I really don't think it should cost £44 per bottle. Having said that, a bottle would easily last me a year because minimal amounts contribute great effects - you only really need 2-3 drops per day. So it will last a long time. I know it seems tempting to overuse and slather yourself with it like you would a moisturiser, especially when it smells so divine, but trust me it's really not necessary, and you won't see better results from doing so. The formula is highly concentrated and a little goes a long way.

The bottle is terribly impractically designed. It looks beautiful like you would expect from a spa-brand, however without any sort of pipette or dropper it's incredibly awkward to have to tip the bottle upside-down to dispense the right amount of product, especially towards the end of the bottle. Moreover, the glass makes me nervous about dropping it especially when it's so pricy! And although the packaging is pretty, the glass is clear which from what I gather is a big no-no when dealing with oils as exposing oils to light can affect their quality (notice how essential oils always come in dark amber bottles?). Now Decleor makes no mention of how to store the Aromessences, but with it being so expensive and lasting so very long, I don't really wish to risk disturbing the oil quality so end up keeping the bottle in a drawer - so I never really get to appreciate the niceness of how it looks!

Packaging-rant aside, this product just didn't compare to the other Aromessences I have tried. It initially made my skin look glowy and healthy (what I like to call the Decleor-glow..), but this didn't last throughout the day like the Neroli. It made my skin feel nice, but unfortunately it made me breakout. I had managed to get my skin under control and any blemishes I get are usually on my chin or forehead - but I got loads of spots around my nose after using this which I've NEVER had before. I thought maybe it was just purging my skin, but the breakouts didn't get better or go away - they persisted until I stopped. It didn't make me breakout anywhere else which was weird, just around my nose. I recently gave it another try and the same thing happened, so unfortunately I've had to pass it on.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 3/20/2013 10:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this oil and have repurchased several times. It smells wonderful and keeps my skin hydrated throughout the day, even on cold winter days, without looking oily. I apply it in the morning, a few drops are enough, and follow with the moisturiser "Decleor Aroma Purete Matte Finish Skin Fluid". Packaging could be better though. The little bottle looks nice, but once the bottle slipped out of my oily fingers and quite a lot of this rather expensive liquid went on the floor. I have now purchased the salon size pump bottle on ebay, and that is clearly much better, although not quite as pretty.


Back to Top