4.2

Created with Sketch.
151 reviews
75%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

15 days ago

If you're not sure about wearing red, like I was, then this is a great red to start with. It's a rich shade of red, but not too bold/bright and wears sheer. Wears comfortably.

About reviewer (942 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Looks bright red in tube but comes off lighter and sheer.

About reviewer (985 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Let's get this out of the way first: Medieval is not a red lipstick. A beautiful sheer, yes. My lips but better, absolutely. But "universally flattering red"? That's poppycock, pun intended. Medieval IS an extremely sheer wash of color that can look pinkish or berryish depending on your undertones. I have a lot of yellow in my skin and on me it's a pinky-red that perfectly matches my post-inflammatory erythema. It's effectively a tinted balm that makes my lips look like they just so happen to be naturally pigmented and flushed. It's neither glossy nor matte, with a satin finish that helps it look even more natural. Add in the fact that it's unscented and I'm sold. I will happily pay $25 for a holy grail MLBB like this one. Of course, a side effect of the sheer, buttery texture is that it doesn't last very long. 1-2 hours of wear is typical for me. I would not buy this if you have very pigmented lips because it's just not going to show up all that well on you.

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I’m on my 4th or 5th one - have been using it for several years. It is very sheer and more like a stain but the texture is smooth without being greasy. Also it has no smell which is a plus. There’s nothing worse than perfumey lipstick! It is on the pricey side - which is preventing me from having a bunch of them to keep in coat pockets, at work, in the car...

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOily, Olive, Cool

HairGrey, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

lovely texture and sheer application, but I just wasn't feeling the shade. Universal shades never seem to work for me. This one doesn't have enough blue in it to flatter me. And although the formula is luxurious, it's a lot of money to pay for what is essentially tinted lip balm.

About reviewer (430 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I really like this lip color, and I've found that (for me) the best way to apply it is to lightly dab it onto the lips until you build up the shade you want. The first time I applied it, I smeared it all over my lips in a heavy coat and was horrified when it came out looking hot pink and patchy. However, when I dab it onto my lips lightly, it looks lovely; it's hard to describe the color. It's definitely not a true red, or a coral, or a pink; it's kind of a mixture of all three. It's not too bright; it's muted, which is what I prefer in lip colors. It has a very similar texture to Frog Prince--light, balmy, moisturizing, and sheer yet pigmented. However, it doesn't stain your lips like Frog Prince does, so after a few hours you have to reapply. For that reason, I think it's slightly overpriced, but the unique color and formula make it worthwhile for me.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I bought this because it sounded really great but as others have said, it isn't red. It's berry. And I knew it wasn't lipstick. Wanna get that out of the way first. It is nice on your lips but my Ocean Potion lipstick is just as nice if not better as it contains an SPF and I can add any color I want to it. The other thing that made me give it a not so great rating is that is does not last long and by that, I mean, before you know it, you are at the end of your tube. I am so thankful that I didn't pay full price for this lipstick. Pretty packaging, pretty tube color but other than that, it's hype.

About reviewer (50 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Lipstick Queen as a brand is kinda hitting it out of the park for me. Their lipstick formula is everything I could want out of a lipstick—in that the ones I've tried feel like lip balm and are not heavily pigmented. I know that's not what everyone wants out of their lipstick, but I'm in love with the ease, comfort, and peace of mind I get out of their lipsticks. Medieval is a very wearable red for someone like me who is afraid of wearing red lipstick.

About reviewer (138 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Other, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love this! I'm on my second tube and will continue to buy it as a staple unless LQ reformulates it! If you buy it expecting a "lipstick," you'll be disappointed. I'd really call it more of a tinted balm--it's VERY sheer on me. It's so sheer that I don't need a mirror to apply it; I just use it like a chapstick. I love it for no-makeup days when I want to look like I didn't just roll out of bed, and I love it with full eyes also. It has what I consider the perfect balance of sheerness and moist texture. Some sheers are too slippery/oily, but this stays on my lips without sliding around or collecting in weird globs like some glosses can. It is also very moisturizing on me. Many lip products make my often-chapped lips worse. It's on the expensive side, but I've never found anything like it. My most recently bought tube says "Made in Canada," which I like. (I won't pay premium prices for makeup that's made in China.) The packaging could be sexier, I guess. It's a basic lipstick tube. The box it comes in is gorgeous, though!

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I'm very surprised at the positive reviews here. I bought this lipstick based on my desire to try a wearable red shade. I went in knowing that it would not have good longevity but was okay with that. But what I'm not okay about is that this is NOT a red lipstick. It is a berry shade -- a nice berry shade (hence my second lippie), but I have several of those already that I like. The shade is nothing special or unique. And what I'm also not okay with is that this lipstick, during it's short-lived time on my lips, was not at all moisturizing, as advertised. I returned this lipstick.

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal

HairBlond

EyesBlue