4.5

Created with Sketch.
51 reviews
86%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

Edit to add- in Canada you can get this at T&T the supermarket chain... The only thing is black (01) is always sold out very quickly, while dark brown and baby brown remain... Sometimes gone the same day they were re-stocked. This is nor just at T&T its at all stores that carry Asian cosmetics here, so I have a suspicion people buy them in bulk and resell them. The first one I used was from a girl who was reselling for much more. Also their gel twistup liner has nearly identical packaging, so you can accidentally pick that up if you are not careful to look closely (if you can't read Japanese). ---' This is the one makeup item I feel emotionally attached to. If they messed this up or discontinued it I would probably be ...inconsolable .... I kept referring to this as La Rose de Versaille liquid liner (which is just as good and likely the same item in different packaging) and feel embarrassed. The logo with the teary-eyed blonde girl is so similar to La Rose that I got mixed up. Anyway I prefer this above every other on the market (except aforementioned la Rose which is just as good-- perhaps too pigmented to where it went on too thickly at times--this has the right amount-- but pricier). I MAY have tried more liquid liners than many beauty editors to be honest. Everything has good and bad points except this. Just shake it--goes for any liquid liner aside from NYX epic ink which will gush out like a fire hydrant-- smoothen tip on tissue if need be (they instruct this but I have yet to feel a need to). They also advise to clean the brush after every use before securing the cap back on. I did not ever do this but it seems advisable to wipe with an alcohol or baby wipe just to prevent infections. This doesn't bleed, it has the best comfortable (not scratchy or too pointy) yet precise tip and best packaging, lasts for many months if not a whole year, never irritates my very sensitive eyes. Finish is not a completely deadening matte nor the L'oreal type of shine that never sets. It looks amazing in photos too- not blotchy from being too shiny nor in your face black and matte to where you see nothing else on the person's face Other liners I often had to toss out as they would begin irritating my eyes but not this. I only got the others when this was scarce in my area. Dolly Wink is better for sensitive eyes but not by much. This is more pigmented anyway. Another tip btw if you take any watery seeming pen liquid liner like Kat Von D or Love Liner--or even this if nearing the end-- you can rub it on any deep eyeshadow or cake liner to make a tinted liquid line. The liquid component is almost identical to any eyeliner sealant which is why it works. Now there'll be a single Buzzfeed article devoted to this banality but whatever.

About reviewer (105 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is my HG eyeliner!! This works great for my oily, astigmatized eyes, sensitive, olive skin, and wobbly fingers. I require quick-dry, waterproof, transfer-proof products. My eyelids are oily and my eyes have an astigmatism, so waxy products are an absolute no-go, as waxy products smudge onto my contact lens; taking the time to re-wash my contact lenses is inconvenient. If I wear eyeshadow, the only primer that keeps eye makeup in place is UDPP, not Innisfree, not Nars, not Marc Jacobs, and not TF eyeshadow insurance. This eyeliner does not smudge onto my contact lenses, and, though not completely matte, it lasts all day. Not only does this liner stay without fading, it looks true black on my olive skin. Due to the blue tones in my skin, black eyeliners tend to look like a dark blue. This eyeliner is the darkest brown, which, on my skin, translates to black. This eyeliner stays black all day without fading, rain, snow or sun. The brush applicator pen is easy-to-use. I have used every liquid liner pen in the American drugstore, and none apply as thinly, lightly, evenly, and not-too-firm as this. This easy applicator also makes this eyeliner perfect for first-time users. This washes off very easily with even the gentlest makeup remover. My aged eyelids are also sensitive, and this comes off with oil cleanser, micellar water, or eye scrubs without irritation and without needing rigorous rubbing. Though able to last through a spin class or a rainstorm, removal is much easier than that of waterproof eyeliner. Summary: Astigmatism approved OliveMUA approved Sensitive skin approved Beginner/klutz/standing application approved

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This is a great eyeliner. It does a beautiful job staying in place on my upper lid!!!! Doesn't smudge! I tested it on my hand and it is still there after multiple hand washing so I know the waterproof claims are true. I used it on my lower lid and it did not wear as well. My lower lid is my problem area and I'm on the continuous search for an eyeliner that can withstand the dynamic duo of oily skin and watery eyes. My search continues....

About reviewer (195 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

It's not a HG eyeliner but it's my current favourite. I'm gonna be really quick - I've tried so many eyeliners, and have been searching for a TRUE waterproof eyeliner, but EVERY SINGLE ONE recommended NEVER works. I have really watery eyes so i NEED one that lasts. This is not waterproof. The first time I used it, it was difficult to remove and I thought maybe I found my HG eyeliner, but now that I've used it for several months, I can say it is not. For reference, I use eyeshadows as well - my lids can get oily, and also I keep my makeup on for at least 10 - 12 hours a day. PROS: -lasts a long time -doesn't smudge down - if it does, it's only after a very long day but can't tell if the smudging is from my mascara/shadows? -easy to control & make a SHARP wing -can be built up to be opaque -slightly waterproof (if you splash your face with water, or cry a bit you'll most likely be OK) -inexpensive CONS: -can start to break down/fade after a long day -doesn't last as long near inner corners -won't apply well if your eyes are already watery -will come off in the shower/swimming -SHINY -not completely opaque -difficult to buy in north america (bought on Amazon for ~$16 CAD I think but it took 3 months to arrive. Last time I checked, the price went up to the 20's) Okay, that was not a short review. Overall, I'm still looking for my perfect waterproof eyeliner, but I'll repurchase this one in the mean time. Eyeliners I've used in the past: maybelline, essence waterproof, katvond tattoo liner, tarte double take (liquid side), maybelline gel, elf gel, jessie's girl waterproof.. My 2nd favourites would be kat von d or jessie's girl. Both did not last on my eyes when they watered though - they would do that weird thing where it would crust up and break off. Tarte one was okay but I didn't like how it was difficult to control.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This product is perfect for beginners and pros Not only does it last forever but it follows exactly how you hand moves to make the perfect line and can be built up to make a thicker nicer line As soon as you apply it you can quickly twerk it around to make it thinner without too much smudging and then after that, it will stick on your skin foreverrrrrr Would always recommend

About reviewer (40 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is the best liquid eyeliner in pen form available on the market- no doubt about it. Dark long lasting non irritating (my eyes are quite sensitive)--clean lines very perfect and small tip-- and the whole thing is better than Dolly Wink, a BILLION times superior to Stila (hate that one), Dior, Guerlain, Kat von D, NYX, Essence, Cover Girl, Fusion Cosmetics, Estee Lauder-- the list goes on- i've tried tons this is the best pen form liquid liner period also available in dark brown

About reviewer (635 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

This is my HG eyeliner. I'm talking about the pen version, and not the one that you dip into a pot. I wear winged liner almost everyday, and my eyes have a tendancy to smudge everything. This one does not budge. It is a pen liner, with a very tapered brush tip (similar to Physician's Formula and Kat Von D). I can achieve a very thin and sharp line with this product. It is opaque and black, and it does not transfer, smudge or flake. I've been thrown in the pool with this on and my liner stayed on point. I would suggest if you get it wet, not to wipe, but to lightly dab and let it air dry as much as possible. I tightline with this, and it never transfers to my bottom lid. This liner always lasts until I take it off, and I have no complaints about it. It is priced around 10ish $, and it works as well, if not better than more expensive eyeliners such as Stila (the felt tip tends to deteriorate), and Kat Von D (dries out quickly). It lasts a long time too - I think I kept mine for about a year before it needed replacing. The only downside is that it's not readily available in Canada - I've ordered mine from sasa.com, or you can pick them up in Asia. Other comparable products I've tried are Physician's Formula (color is nowhere near as opaque, brush tip gets encrusted in product), Dollywink (I had to go over my line, the formula flakes off, and its not as long wearing). Highly recommended.

About reviewer (169 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My favorite eyeliner. Stays on all day. I don't do any crazy big wings. I just do a tightline and it stays very well. And it's easy to work with. I have slightly oily lids because of eye creams and this holds on. I buy from Amazon and I can get it for 10-14 dollars. Sometimes it comes in a week, sometimes it takes a couple of weeks so I make sure I am not out before reordering. Worth the wait. I've tried all of the drugstore WP eyeliners and Dept. store ones too for that matter and they can't hold a candle to this one.

About reviewer (1599 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Cons: cant draw fine lines. Ink leakage The cap spoiled after several use. pros: doesnt smudge intense black colour affordable price

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Lasts long; both in product amount and wear time. Always lasts me all day, super black and smooth lines. Very precise tip, great for any kind of eye lining; especially winged eyeliner! Holy Grail of eyeliners.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us