3.5

Created with Sketch.
174 reviews
61%
would repurchase
3.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Starts off with a strong patchouli/woody/pinesol taste and dries to a mouth-watering sweet orange. Price is a little steep IMO as this is not straight Parfum oil (which is stronger and lasts longer) but it's an eau de parfum which means it has more water content.

About reviewer (123 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack



2.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I was really excited to try this scent as it was listed as a natural perfume. I liked it when I sprayed it but I couldn't get the full aroma because I was in the Lush store and it was overwhelming with scent. When I got in the car I could smell it and it was fine. I felt like I smelled more like a Christmas potpourri spray instead of an orange patchouli scent. I was bummed because I love patchouli but all I got was pine. It was still wearable until I started tasting cinnamon in my mouth and my eyes started to burn. I felt like I had licked a cinnamon sucker and then rubbed it in my eyes. It was slight but enough to bug me so I ended up taking it back. I also had the same reaction to the scent, Lust. Nice jasmine scent but smelled like cinnamon suckers and tasted like it also. I guess there must be an ingredient that they use in their scents that I have an allergic reaction to. Too bad! I'll stick with regular patchouli oil. It actually has a better smell than this fragrance did on my skin. I will say though that both packed a punch and had great staying power. It's worth it if you can tolerate the slight stinging sensation and like the taste of cinnamon.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

i dunno. i really like the karma fragrance in lotion and soap, but otherwise i feel as though the smell is way too cloying and overpowering.

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This review is for the solid version. I hate to say it, but I'm slightly disappointed with this perfume. Not because of the scent - I've known and loved the Karma scent for a long time - but because of the wear time. When recently applied, it's a big and bold scent, but it fades much more quickly than I imagined it would. In fact, much more quickly than the Vanillary solid perfume, in my experience. At the end of the day I can't smell even a trace of it where I applied it to my wrists, for example. Sure, the tin makes it easy to stick in your bag and reapply during the day, but it's still a bit disappointing. Speaking of the tin, though: I love it. As I mentioned, I also have the Vanillary one, but I've had it for a while, so it's in the little stick/tub format instead. There's all kinds of problems with that one, melting product and a whole lot of mess being the main ones. But this tin is really convenient. Unlike the tin that they used to (still do?) sell lip tints and lip balms in that are a pain to get the lid off, this lid simply screws on and off. Also, it's a vegan perfume, which is great in and of itself. I'm not opposed to trying more of Lush's solid perfumes, but if I want another Karma perfume in the future, I'll give the spray-on one a try instead.

About reviewer (419 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is horrible, not a fan. Smells like dirty patchouli and industrial strength prison bathroom disinfectant. It's super strong and has monster sillage. Legit, one time this girl walked by me on the street, we were going opposite directions, and I could smell it for blocks. For BLOCKS!

About reviewer (191 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Your tastes change. I used to love Karma. It used to start out strong patchouli to me and then by the end of the day an orange creamsicle scent. It lasted all day. I had the shampoo the body cream the spray and the solid perfume. Fast forward a few years and all I smell is pine and cleaning solution. Will be throwing what I have left out. Try it, it may work for you. For a while.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Some note or combination of notes in this induce nausea in me. I tried a sample and felt unwell, queasy and unable to eat. Later, I had a middle-aged office manager who used to douse herself in the stuff and I spent multiple afternoons feeling sick because of it. The ferocious, weird stink would invade an entire open-plan floor. She thought it was wonderful though. Clearly we were smelling something different. I'm fairly tolerant to most heady perfumes, generally don't mind patchouli and even enjoy fairly strong scents myself, but this concoction is the most unpleasant I've ever had the misfortune of sampling. Actually reminds me of some sickly fragrance that's used to mask a foul chemical odour and doesn't quite succeed rather than something that should be used on the human body. Seriously, I'm reminded of industrial toilet cleaner or something. Literally, the least sexy or pleasant scent I've come across. Still can't work out exactly which notes upset me so much but it's bad enough I'd avoided all LUSH perfumes since. I can't trust a 'nose' that puts something this wretched on the market.

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This perfume is one I would definitely buy again. The scent is warm but not heavy, and is suitable for year-round wear. And another plus: it actually lasts on your skin for hours afterward rather than just disappearing like so many other fragrances are prone to do.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Oh my goodness gracious me - KARMA! Okay, there's a bit of a backstory here. I'll try not to get too long-winded, k? (I said I'd try...I didn't say I'd be successful ;) ) So, many eons ago I was recovering from major surgery when out of the blue (well...UK, actually) a little package arrived from my Mum. I had since moved to the US, and obviously frequent visits weren't in the budget. So, I opened up that gorgeously smelly package with joy (or as much joy as one could expect after having life-changing surgery, anyway) and lo and behold.... Karma! The green soapy thing! The clear other soapy thing! The little bottle of love! THE FRAGRANCE! Now I was a kid from the Opium/Giorgio fragrance age, and I'd never smelled anything like this. It bonded with me. We had a few tentative evenings out together before throwing caution to the wind and declaring our mutual love. To this day, it's my HG (I only learned what that term stood for today, by the way) fragrance. It's patchouli and orange and...other stuff...sandalwood? Something-wood? If you want to mess around and make a sort of close version of the original, grab some bergamot, patchoui & lavendar and...some other stuff...and if you mess around with it enough you'll hit paydirt eventually. Oh - the really cool bit? My mum had the same surgery as me, several years before, and my Aunt sent her the same stuff. Mum shared the wealth. And now I have to go and buy some. PS. Mum also tossed in some Maltesers and some Marmite. Bonus!

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

definitely a maker or breaker for people. though for me its definitely a maker. I always like fruity citrus or vanilla and dessert smelling fragrances but this ones been a change for good. love the packaging n the fact that for 16 cad I get the black refillable vial (which I can later use as a sephora atomizer placebo) ;) love it for sure!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown