3.7

Created with Sketch.
13 reviews
69%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is a decent shampoo that cleanses my scalp thoroughly, unlike the more natural shampoos out there. It does take a bit of product to make the shampoo lather and cleanse thoroughly, but it works pretty well. The scent of the shampoo is lovely and herbal and I enjoy using it.

About reviewer (1756 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen



2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is a review for the shampoo and the matching conditioner. Also, I have fine, thin, 3a curly hair. To start off I'd like to say that I have only used this shampoo (and the matching conditioner) one time. However, one time was enough for this stuff to completely wreak havoc on my hair. I received a small sample of this, so luckily I didn't have to pay the full EXPENSIVE price for this. Now on to the review. This product has an extremely strong smell. I suppose it's a bit herbal, but the scent also seems medicinal to me. And it doesn't fade away. I had to drench my hair in coconut/argan oil to mask the scent. The shampoo lathers up nicely which is rare for a natural shampoo. And it did get my hair clean. However, after rinsing, my hair felt like straw; dry and brittle. And I had a handful of hair fall out. I haven't had this much hair fallout ever in my life before. It didn't leave bald spots, but it was not normal and made me die inside a little. I used the conditioner afterward. Immediately I didn't like it. Same strong smell (obviously). But what bothered me is that as I was massaging it in, I didn't feel like it was hydrating at all. I left it in for 5 minutes, hoping that would help. It did nothing but make my hair feel worse. I do not recommend this line of product from John Masters.

About reviewer (103 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

To begin with I bought the big bottle from strawberrynet and it came with a broken lid, so as far as the packaging concerns it is elegant and minimal but rather fragile. The product itself is great for the hair. You can actually feel the positive effect on your scalp. I am not crazy about the herby smell but I prefer it over peachy, fruity smells and the texture is great ... Liquidy but not runny. It lathers very well and it def cleans very well, you can feel feel your hair very clean afterwards. I dye my hair and it does not have any bad effect on my color, it does make hair soft and strong and it is evident for the first time. Of course I use a conditioner afterwards, who doesn't ???(BTW I use the matching conditioner, equally good). It is an expensive shampoo but I do feel my hair healthier and stronger so I am willing to pay the bill for this organic baby. My previous shampoo was joico's reconstructing shampoo and it was pretty average compared to this.

About reviewer (55 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

Expensive yes, absolutely, but one of the only SLS free shampoos that doesn't leave my hair feeling like straw and feeling rough. The lather is surprisingly good, "natural" shampoos tend to lack any lather at all and I know it isn't necessary in order to clean your hair but without it, I find the whole experience a bit lacking! I will probably use this once a week in conjunction to a coconut hair masque, doing this will obviously make the bottle last longer but also I find it gives me an incredible shine which is always nice if I'm going out somewhere special!

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Other, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

Def. worth it! It gives me 'GODDESS HAIR', smooth, silky, tangle free! i only use this for special occasions and maybe once a week since it's so expensive..but yeah, it's def worth. have to agree with another reviewer, don't let it get to your eyes! I begin my shower foaming it up on my hair, do the rest of my shower and let it sit there for a bit, then rinse. One thing to mention, if you have sensitive skin this might make you either itchy or irritated afterwards. make sure you rinse well. i only had irritated skin the first time I used it but after that no more. But yes, i love this and i believe it really is awesome. Have had it for a year now :)

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

love this product. sulfate free is the way to go... and the ingredient list is like a prescription for your hair. the smell isn't my favorite type smell.. but it still smells good. overall its one of my staples and i highly recommend it if your hair has been through a lot..like mine has.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I am currently on my third bottle. I have never been this faithful to a shampoo before. Amazing. My hair can now compare to the youngsters (about 20 something) that I am teaching. I am 32 and regularly dye my hair, so it suffers a little bit. Now it looks so healthy and lustrous, with a lot of volume as well. Great! Why should I ever change? There is now buildup whatsoever, and my hair has is not "getting used to it". This is my HG. Update 2016: From time to time I check out other brands of hair care products, usually only as natural as you can get but still with glamour. I have used Kevin Murphy Hydrate me for a while and liked it. Then I was in the US and went to Wholefoods to stock up on John Masters, went back to Sweden (John Masters is damn expensive here) and was again amazed of the effects of this shampoo and the regenerating mask. My hair was clean (of course), bouncy, and looked and felt incredibly healthy and shiny. It is so interesting to see the difference to other brands, what this particular shampoo can do. Why should I ever use something else?

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

I haven't tried a single hair product from John Masters that I didn't like. I purchased this after using the Honey & Hibiscus Hair Reconstructor for two months. It is a very thick shampoo and lathers more than the other JM shampoos that I've used. It has a strong wonderful floral scent that dissipates after rinsing away. It claims to rebuild your hair. I'm not sure about that, but it really makes my thick textured hair smooth without taking away any of the body or natural wave. Even if I just use the shampoo and don't follow with the conditioner. I LOVE this product. Shopping for beauty products is an addiction of mine, but I don't even look at other shampoos or conditioners anymore. HG Status.

About reviewer (164 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

This shampoo is so expensive in the UK. Its nearly £27 which is absolutely shocking for a shampoo. This has been reformulated and its just not the same, it doesn't smell as nice and its overall disappointing. I will not buy again as its just too expensive to maintain and the packaging always leaks product out the bottom :(

About reviewer (124 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

Not impressed. For what it does, there are just as good for a lot, lot less $$$. I don't care for the smell AT ALL -- smells like a chemical factory to me. Lathers nicely, rinses out okay -- leaves my hair a terrible snarled up mess. And be careful with this around your eyes -- burns like Hades! I won't waste my $$ on this so-so product ever again and will be glad when this tube is used up and GONE.

About reviewer (110 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue