2.8

Created with Sketch.
18 reviews
44%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Very poor product. Piles. Irritates my skin even though I've used high % of c before. Piles again soooooo bad under my makeup. The only reason I tried it recommended by Sephora employee. Which I bought when my ptr vitamin c serum leaked in my bag when travelling. And lost the receipt/lazy to return. Certain this caused me also to break out. And saw zero results. Boo never again. Don't get the Sephora obsession with Dennis. I'm assuming there is a kick back.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Fair

HairOther

EyesOther



1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I bought this serum at Nordstrom after reading the Paula's Choice review. She highly recommended this product. I applied the serum after cleansing my face. It felt like a primer and not a serum. It sat on my skin and did not sink in. After five minutes, my skin felt dry and irritated. I applied a moisturizer over it and that didn't sink in either. My face looked like a greasy irritated mess. After using it for three nights, I decided to return it. It is definitely not worth $95.

About reviewer (91 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I initially didn't like this product but now I love it. I think the reason I had problems with it is because of its texture. As mentioned previously, it is quite thick and not like a typical serum. When I first started using it I was unsure how to apply it and I applied too much. As a result my skin became irritated and broke out in small pimples. Now I apply a lot less - probably three pumps of product at most. I dot it around my face and then lightly spread it around. This makes it easier to ensure you have covered all your skin, as the serum is difficult to spread. I have pale skin that is prone to blotchiness. I find that using this serum immediately makes my pores smaller and reduces redness. I use it at night after toning.

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I use this Vit C serum as a primer in the morning. It is a little thick, and it will sting a little because of the Vit C and the lactic acid--so don't get it too close to your eyes. This "airbrushes" the skin and really controls oil well! Makeup applies easily over it w/o any issues. I have many acne scars that have faded with usage of this (in conjunction with my other skin care products), and some age-spots have completely disappeared over time. I'm extremely pleased with this product, and it's worth the investment for me! There's usually a discount promo code for purchase on eskinstore, and for the dgskincare site. I shop around for where i can get it for a few dollars off. I only wear it on workdays (I let my skin "breathe" on days off). I've used this since 2007, and will continue to do so.

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Olive, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

This is expensive but so worth it! I love all Dennis Gross products and ordered this on a whim and I don't understand all the negative or low reviews I love this and it helps lighten my post inflammatory hyperpigmentation marks on my cheeks (3 on each) and brightens my complexion overall. I can understand this not working out for sensitive skin as it is a strong dose of vitamin c but for my combination skin it is wonderful and I love this and would definitely repurchase even though it is pushes my student budget to the brink. I have used Mario Badescus vitamin c and while it does work I know this does a better job for me personally. The texture of this is gel like and I can feel the silicones i believe as it is alot similar to my lancome la base primer but when I wake up every morning I see refreshed glowing skin.

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I've used philosophy's Turbo Boost, Skinceuticals CE + ferulic and the Boske CE ferulic product. I don't mind spending more for skincare products that contain effective ingredients and is packaged to keep them that way, and have spent a lot of time online reading up on vitamin c serum and what you should be looking for in a formulation. I decided to give the MD by Dr. Dennis Gross a try, since there are very few anhydrous (made w/o water) vitamin c serums available. He recommends using this product at night, but the majority of things I've read recommend C products for daytime use as extra protection from UV rays (and I use a retinol serum at night anyway). The packaging is GREAT - mostly opaque, with a small window to see how much product is left; you twist the top and the pump pops up, so it will definitely keep the vitamin c stable (and now I see Paula's Choice is using this as well). The texture is not what I consider a "serum", although I haven't looked up the definition of the word. This is a silicone based product, and has the look/feel of a primer, which worked fine for me, since I don't usually use primer. I apply sunscreen over this after I've given it a few minutes to sink in. I did have some slight stinging, as with most vitamin c serum, but not enough to keep me from using it. I thought the results from using a full bottle of this were very good - my skintone was definitely brightened, and the texture was smooth, although I'm not sure how much it faded the sunspots on the side of my face. I am still looking to find another C product with ferulic acid, but I would use this one again.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

I have used Skinceuticals CE Ferulic and Phloretin CF (both liquid and gel versions) as well as the Arcona Youth Serum and I have found this product to be better. This is supposed to be used at night and after the first night I saw a difference. Having used the other three Vitamin C products for the prior several months I did not like the look of my skin after using them (especially the liquid Phloretin CF). I prefer Dr Gross because- - packaging is air-tight -dispenser is easier to use and more pleasant that the Skinceuticals dropper and the Arcona pump (all of which create waste) -no irritation, just a nice glow -it is less expensive than Skinceuticals and marginally more $ than Arcona

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I got a sample of this serum, I believe from Sephora. I did not experience the burning that other reviewers did so it's possible the formula has been changed. However, I could not stand the smell--like maple syrup. It was so nauseating, I had to wash my face, which isn't what I would have preferred to do since I have a broken nose (don't ask).

About reviewer (975 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

10 years ago

I purchased the value pack of the "travel size" items, and this was included. I'd put off trying it until I wouldn't be embarrassed in case my hypersensitive skin had an allergic reaction. It is very much like the Perfekt Skin Gel that I use (in Transparent)!! It FULLY CONTROLS my freakishly-oily shine, smooths out lines and pores, both moisturizes AND exfoliates, and lasts all day. It has a thick silky texture (just like Perfekt--which also has Vit.C), and it spreads like any thick gel primer. I keep waiting for the hives to come, but it hasn't happened yet. I apply this after I wash my face in the morning, it replaces a primer. Because of the nice "smoothing" effect it has on my poors/fine lines, I don't even put foundation over it--just strategic concealer. My concealer doesn't slip/move, and my skin is really soft and has GREAT texture after I was my face at night! It has been only 14 days, so I'll wait to see how it goes, and will update. This is a little easier to use that my Perfekt Skin Perfecting Gel (which I LOVE--but is SO expensive); however, This is pricey for me too! I don't know how long the product will last. Am thinking that this could replace my Perfekt Gel and foundation, completely. Only time will tell. GREAT container! Edit: It's been 5 weeks, and I'm ecstatic!! It STILL controls my freakish-oil-production!!! ALL DAY!! My skin feels soft and smooth--but no irritation. How weird that I'm sensitive/allergic to EVERYTHING, but NOTHING bad from this--especially since other people had sensitivity to it!! This is now my daily primer!! I still use my Perfekt gel around my eyes and lips, and this everywhere else. I'm so pleasantly surprised!!! This is a new HG!! Update 12/ 09/10): This is HG for me! I don't even wear/need foundation anymore. because this "airbrushes" my face/pores so beautifully, and allows NO oil breakthrough. I alternate this with the Hydra-Pure Anti-Oxidant Serum...which is equally awesome!! I HATE to say it, but this product line (the C-Serum, Anti-Oxidant Serum, and the AlphaBeta Peel Pads) has TOTALLY changed my skin--from a freakishly oily mess, to normal, glowing, beautiful skin!!! Can't praise it enough!!!

About reviewer (98 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Fair

HairBrown

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

omg, i rec'd this as a sample and it said vitamin C, so i figured vitamins were supposed to be good for your face.. as soon as i put it on my face it started burning and itching like crazy. i do not have sensitve skin and my skin has never had such an immediate reaction to a product, i know something was wrong and wasnt going to take any chances so i immediately washed it off because i put it all over my face...my face was red and looked like lil bumps were forming..... hope that 2 seconds doesnt break me out... i would never buy this.. and i think i saw it for 100 bucks... i would def. get a sample before buying this! i better just stick to my all natural night cream i use.... oh and i saw some reviews say it didnt have a smell... mine had a pretty strong fragrance... i thought it was the fragrance that i was reacting to? i dont know..

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us