4.2

Created with Sketch.
226 reviews
77%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range
$20.00 on Lovely Skin
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

For a bronzer/contour this looks scary dark in the package however, it is not as bad as you’d think. I lightly tap a big fluffy brush in and buff in along my hairline as well as do a combo bronze/contour on my cheeks and neck. I do not find any powdery kickback after putting product on the brush either. Bahama Mama is a matte bronzer/contour, no shimmer whatsoever, however it does not leave you looking flat, or dry. It has a very neutral tone to it and doesn’t pull cool or warm on my skintone. Solid choice in cute packaging. Highly recommend.

About reviewer (968 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

A beautiful bronzer that is not too warm or too cool. A must have for medium olive skin tones, in my opinion.

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It makes stains on my face, looks uneven and muddy. Maybe I have too light complexion for this one? Love the package and the amount of this product that you get for this price. Unfortunately, it just does not look good on me.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love this product. It warms the face gently. It suits many skin tones and types because its effects are progressive with its application...????

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

For reference, I am NW20ish with dry skin. I really like this bronzer! I live where it's pretty sunny and warm all year long, so I like to have a slightly deeper bronzer so my face can match my body without having my foundation be too dark (I find the bronzer looks more natural). This is a beautiful tone that isn't too warm or too red- it looks like a real tan rather than makeup sitting on your face. I don't use this for a contour, I think it would be a little too warm for me as a contour, but it might be better for those who have warm undertones. It is on the darker side if you are fair to light, but it blends really well and can be sheered out without much effort. It has a natural sheen but isn't packed with shimmer or glitter- if you prefer a matte look this would still work well for you. The staying power is also fantastic- if I put this on in the morning it is still going strong at after 12 hours in the heat. Also, this isn't scented. In a market where it seems like more and more products have added fragrance (particularly bronzers) I appreciate this a lot. Honestly I took off a star for two minor reasons. One is the packaging. I used this for a month or so and the top was already starting to rip off. The magnetic closure is decent, but I kept this in my makeup bag and was always terrified it would somehow open up and get crushed. Second, this does have the tendency to get hard pan. It's not a huge deal because you can just scrape it off, but it does waste product. Overall, excellent bronzer if you are light to medium (not sure this would work for dark or deep dark) and need a scentless bronzer that lasts all day.

About reviewer (101 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This breaks me out so bad! My cheeks hurt. Its so sad, I thought this was it. That I had found my holy great contour product. ;_; I now have breakouts everywhere where I apply this (whiteheads, bumps). I have this same problem with EVERY SINGLE bronzer, and powder contour product I have tried. It must have something to do with the colors used to make deep skin tone colors. Other than that BIG problem, this product is a perfect natural contour shade (cool color) for my NC 42 skintone (on the lighter side of nc 42). I used this to contour everything from my nose, to my cheekbones, to my jaw. I'm so disappointed. I should throw it out but ill just keep it around for a bit until im ready to declutter it. Would only recommend this to people with normal to dry skin. This blends like a dream. It shows up fast but its also buildable. Will not repurchase.

About reviewer (354 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have used up my old one and repurchased Bahama Mama about a year ago. To use up the first one it took me 4-5 years, so you definitely get your money’s worth out of it! I like this bronzer but I have to be in the mood for it if that makes sense. I don‘t use it all the time but I have periods where this is the only bronzer I wanna use. And at other times months go by without me touching it.. It‘s a matte cool toned bronzer that is relativey dark. I‘m about an NC20 and I can *just* get away with it. It’s not a super pigmented and powdery bronzer, but due to the colour I still have to be very careful. I like using it as a contour powder as well and it works wonderfully for that. It’s however definitely not your „glowy, bronzed goddess“ bronzer - too matte, too cool toned and dark for that. All in all still a great product, but not my favourite. I have repurchased it once but probably wouldn’t a second time.

About reviewer (38 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I got a sample of this in my ipsy bag, probably a year and a half ago, and I still use it (I do not wear makeup daily). I use this bronzer often when I do wear makeup, but I would not say it's my favorite, I guess. I'm not sure why, I think it might be the texture/look of the powder. The thing I like about it is that it's cool-toned, and I have pulled it off as both a contour and a bronzer. I have a natural contour that is very cool-toned, even though I have warm-neutral skin, so it is weird to me to use anything warm-toned near that area. A lot of bronzers I receive or buy are somehow always warm-toned compared to this one.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

HG bronzer and contour! I can't believe it's taken me THIS LONG to finally get to it! It's more fitting for my C40/C6 (I mix them together via Fix+) skin than Laguna or Casino. This costs more than I usually pay for a contour powder, but it's worth it! It's the few shades that actually look normal on my skin and not straight-up gray. Please don't ever stop making this!!

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

$20.00 Website Description: Finally, a Caribbean getaway in a compact! This matte bronzer creates the look of beautifully tanned skin without any orange undertones for a fresh-off-the-beach glow. Bahama Mama also doubles as the perfect contour powder, neutral brow-filler and matte brown eyeshadow. Yes, this tropical beauty keeps busy! This was a total fail for me. Gave it away. It is too cool toned and made my face look ashy, gray & dirty. Not orange at all, zero orange. But lots of ashy mud on me. This to me is definitely more of a contour not a bronzer. It went on splotchy with some foundations, doesn't play nice with some of them and ends up looking a muddy mess. It is matte, but not chalky looking and doesn't emphasize pores or texture. Packaging it typical cardboard. Cute but not all that sturdy. Maybe if the color worked better I would have liked this better, but on me it was awful. No way could I use it as a bronzer ever.

About reviewer (781 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us