Darphin 8-Flower Nectar

Darphin 8-Flower Nectar

4.0

16 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Jojoba seed oil, sunflower seed oil, oleic polyglycerides, avocado oil, apricot kernal oil, macademia ternifolia seed oil, hexyldecanol, avocado unsaponifiables, ylang ylang essential oil, jasmine flower extract, iris pallida root extract, vanilla planifolia fruit extract, date seed extract, cranberry seed oil, orange flower oil, patchouli oil, immortelle oil, lavender oil, beta-carotene, rose oil, hydrogenated vegetable oil, rosewood wood oil, retinyl palmitate, ascorbyl tetraisopalmitate, tocopherol, benzyl salicylate, limonene, benzyl benzoate, farnesol, linalool, geraniol, citronellol, citral

Where to Buy



Start your review


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Along with Flora by Sunday Riley this could be the greatest product ever ! amazing my crowes feet around my eyes have disapeared and my skin is more even and plumped. I really believe in facial oils and they are very potent and are great for smoothing skin and this one is not meant to be used everyday about 2-3 times a week. I apply it right after my toner or spritz caudalie grape water all over and then press the oil. (Please go to darphin website and it describes how to give a facial massage which helps if you feel bloated) (Lymphanic drainage) Just love this product.

P.S. My skin broke out a bit at the beggining as it removes toxins.

3 of 5 people found this helpful.



on 3/17/2016 9:23:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was expecting a minor miracle from all the reviews I've read, but for me, it's been a week and there has been no change to my skin, tone, or texture. The smell is a bit strong, mostly of ylang ylang and maybe jasmine, and the three tips onto my fingertips as recommended by their website is seriously not enough for my dry skin. I don't hate it, and I will finish the 15 ml bottle, but I don't think I'll buy more. I will review again if there are any changes. This bottle is supposed to last me 4 months so I have some ways to go.

Update - wish the bottle comes with a dropper. Half a bottle in now, really no difference. Not going to try any more oils.


on 7/29/2015 3:41:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I have used this oil for a couple of months now, applying it 2-3 times a week. My skin feels nourished the next morning, but I don't know that this is particularly better than any other good facial oil out there.

However, as this is an anti-age facial oil for mature skin, why does MakeupAlley accept reviews from 19-24 year old girls? This oil is in no way applicable to them and their reviews of little or no help for those of us who seek advice from this board

10 of 16 people found this helpful.


on 12/13/2014 10:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I received a small vile of this nectar when I purchased a few Darphin products as gift for my mother. I'm 22 years old, so I am not using other Darphin products (I actually use skin-care products from a shop on Etsy that has AMAZING products & costs far less for better results). However, my mother doesn't like skin-care oils so I kept this one for myself.

I do like how it makes your skin glow and my skin not only feels better, but it LOOKS better in the morning (I apply this at night about 1-2 times a week, always after I wash my face). But I do also use the "Full of Grace" facial serum from LUSH that I noticed works just as well on it's own, without this 8-flower nectar.

I understand that this product is made with a plethora of natural nectars which do wonders for the skin; however, after doing some research, I discovered that not ALL of the ingredients in this product are natural & the Iris extract seems to do most of the work in terms of what this nectar does for your skin. The Full of Grace serum from LUSH is a preservative free bar which has worked for me for months, and I get the same results from that as I do from this nectar (and the LUSH serum only osts $15). I also do not like that this product does not advertise that it is NOT tested on animals, and LUSH is against animal testing.

All in all, if you're looking for a facial serum or "oil" that helps with aging and actually renews your skin, try the Full of Grace from LUSH instead. Like I said, I'm 22 and after using Full of Grace for just ONE month, people were asking me what I do for my skin to make me look so youthful, dewy, and vibrant. Strangers in the grocery store even ask me! So save your money on this product and try the LUSH one instead!


on 7/31/2014 2:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is my least favourite of the Darphin oils and the most expensive one also. it's not 100% natural and the smell is too strong, like perfume (not the good kind...).
After some time using it I started to breakout so, unfortunately, I had to throw it out.


on 6/13/2013 7:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I went ahead and splurged on this very expensive oil. I was anticipating drastic results due to the price. I like Arovita C a lot, I have respect for Darphin. This oil was a huge disappointment. It moisturizes and softens, but not to the extent that I can justify the huge price tag. You get tight pores and a glow, but not dramatically so. It is no different than other face oils, at triple the price tag. I would rather spend that on La Prairie, which produces dramatic results.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 2/11/2013 4:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Other

I agree with the previous reviewer. I love essential oils, but I think this product would be more effective if the bottle were smaller and there were a higher concentration of essential oils (and that's saying something because the bottle is only 15mls to begin with). The product would also be better if it was thinner in consistency (a higher concentration of EOs would thin out the consistency as well..). As is, it is not worth the price by a long shot in my opinion. Sunflower seed oil is a very cheap oil and is the second ingredient. If I had known that before I purchased this product, I wouldn't have bought it. In addition, jojoba, while a nice oil, is not as good as apricot which is further down the list..

For me personally, I have purchased some $20-$40 face oils from small cottage makers that my skin has liked better than this 8-flower nectar. I can't even tell if the essential oils they are using in this product are high quality because the carrier oils mask the EOs too much. I do know that a company like Darphin, in theory, would have access to the highest quality EOs on the planet - cosmetic grade EOs that would never find their way to any EO company (take that, Young Living), nor any cottage maker. That said, I should have been able to tell the difference in the product when applied! Sadly, I never could..

If I had to do it all over again, I wish I would have bought Creme de la Mer instead..

7 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 1/20/2013 7:33:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Original review (1/20/13): I got a sample first and thought it was pretty good, but I have since decided it is only fair. First of all, in order to spread a thin layer all over my face, I need quite a bit, so, using this every other night, as I do, it isn't going to last very long. It is hard to believe that my beloved CdLM appears economical next to this. My skin is nice and moist in the morning, but I don't see anything better than with CdLM. I don't think all those lovely botanicals are making a bit of difference. And, it would be nice if it came in a pump bottle. A screw off bottle makes it hard to control the amount of this very expensive oil you spill into your hand for one application.

Update (4/21/13): I finished the bottle and went back to CdLM on nights I don't use my Rx Vit A cream. My skin has the same or more moisture to it in the AM and it feels plumper than with the 8-Flower Nectar.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/13/2012 8:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Wow. Purchased in place of Darphin's Jasmine Aromatic Care, which is in itself impressive as a complexion enhancer. But this product is even more impressive: tangible improvement to skin tone and clarity even after first application.

This baby is jam-packed with all manner of pure botanical treats, aromatherapeutic nirvana in a tiny bottle! My skin's in love with it and, naturally then, so too am I!

Once again, Darphin can be relied upon to do the business.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 9/13/2011 2:00:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have 3 tiny bottles of this but will definitely be buying the full size as soon as the others run out. I'm new to Darphin but so far I've been very happy. I use this at night before the Predermine or the Stimulskin. I think my skin looks pretty good using this combination. I have to say though - the best part of this is the delicious aroma. I'm usually not a huge fan of scented skin products on my face but for this I'll make the exception.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.

Back to Top