3.9

Created with Sketch.
15 reviews
60%
would repurchase
4.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have dry sensitive skin with some redness and my skin tone is a light medium olive shade. I have always used high brand foundations all my life and have wasted a lot of money on them as they just weren't suited for my skin type. From Estée Lauder double wear(gave me dry patches), to Clinique even better makeup foundation (I looked orangey grey and it made me break out), to Lancome teint miracle foundation which I found good however it was pricey and a light coverage. I needed something with a more medium coverage to cover some of my redness but not a full coverage as I do not like the cakey look and want my skin to still be able to breathe. Wanting a cheaper but still a good value foundation, I went to the no7 counter to get matched (did not wear any makeup in order to get the truest colour match to my skin tone) and was matched to the colour 'Warm Beige'. It was the perfect colour, my neck and face colour was one exact shade. After carrying out my face normal face regime before makeup (spf, primer and face oil) I then dotted small amounts of foundation on my face and used a stippling brush (not a blending sponge because it gives me a more sheer coverage) to blend the foundation in circular motions evenly into my face. I also apply it under my eyes instead of concealer and it instantly gives me a radiant glow and look less tired. The foundation sets to a semi matte finish but still gives a dewy glowy look without being drying. Did not sink into any of the pores on my nose and covered my redness well. I do not feel the need to set my face with a powder as my tzone is not oily, but after all these steps it is healthy looking and does not look dry whatsoever. It gives a lovely natural look, great for every day use. Worth the price as it is less than half the amount as a high brand foundation and ticks all the boxes for me. The package is great as you can clearly see how much foundation is left in the see through bottle. It has a pump so it is easy to dispense the foundation without any going to waste or making a mess. It lasts all day without having the need to re apply throughout the day. (I also use a face mist setting spray after finishing my makeup) Overall, a great foundation.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Outstanding foundation: it has a radiant finish which is probably due to the lovely sheen it imparts to the skin. This is probably due to pearlised shimmer particles which are very subtle, absolutely no chunks of glitter. The 'glow' seems to distract the eye from my red thread veins which I am paranoid about and I normally pat a little 2nd dab of this over those areas after applying foundation on my whole face. Its brilliant and super coverage, so much so that I could skip concealer over thread veins. It is a 'Holy Grail' product for me at a bargain price. Unfortunately I recently discovered this contains Alcohol denat. Deal breaker for me. I use it occasionally and still love it but I know my skin wont thank me in the long run Why?????

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Pros: Nice, neat packaging which shows how much product you have left. Pump is also attached. Reasonably priced. Lasts a reasonably long time (30ml). Blended well and did not stick to any dry patches. Nice coverage and looked more "radiant" and airbrushed compared to the stay perfect foundation. Cons: I found the wear wasn't very good, and the product became patchy after a short amount of time. Doesn't really cater to paler people, with their lightest shade being Calico and being considerably too dark for myself. I was matched in store with this shade as it is their palest. Had good coverage however needed to layer in some areas. It felt quite sticky on my face compared to other foundations.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Last winter i was colour matched to cool vanilla in Stay Perfect but my skin was dehydrated and it clung to my dry patches. So i stopped using it. But in general any of the no7 foundations i had tried were very good, with good colours, decent staying power and a good level of coverage. I found myself in Boots browsing the makeup counter and ended up being colour matched two shades darker than cool vanilla- logical i suppose as it's "summer" here in ireland. I use that term loosely seeing as we've just had a months worth of rain in three days! Anyway, i was colour matched to cool ivory in Instant radiance and went away with a little sample. Now speaking from experience i know that Boots foundations tend to oxidise slightly throughout the day so i thought i would test run it for a day in work before buying a full bottle. The Instant Radiance seems to be lighter coverage than Stay Perfect but more dewy and moisturising. I used a highlighting primer under it, which gave it an extra glow, but i did have to blot once with my Ben Nye powder during the day, very unusual for me as i normally have dry skin. The extra moisture however meant that my face looked healthy and not dull or flaky by the end of the day. The foundation didnt disappear either, it held up well with only minimal oxidisation, in fact it actually looked better & more natural at the end of the day than when i had put it on that morning! I was pretty delighted to see how good it still looked at 5pm after being applied that morning at 7 am with only one powder touch up between those times. I went and bought the bottle and am glad i did. It was only £12.50 too so excellent value for money. A very slight criticism would be that it doesnt cover dark circles round the eyes too well because it is a more sheer foundation but that can be remedied with a good concealer. Overall im very happy and would definitely recommend this foundation over many of the super expensive high end ones. For reference i am nw20 and was colour matched to cool ivory, in winter i am nw15 and was matched to cool vanilla, two shades lighter. The cool and warm colour labels make it very easy to choose but i would advise you to get the colour match done in boots but make sure you take ALL your make up off your face before being matched or it will give a false reading!

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is a great foundation, totally gives your skin that 'instant radiance' and is a nice medium to full coverage. I usually wear MAC face and body which is extremely sheer so this is the one I go to when I want a bit more coverage. However, after a few hours the glow has disappeared a little bit and the foundation makes your face a bit dull. The lightest shade 'calico' which I was matched to by a lovely No7 Sales Assistant is still a bit dark for my pale complexion but then again I find it really difficult to get a good match almost anywhere. Excellent price, think it's £12.50 and you get boots points! Would totally recommend this for a night out if you want that something extra, but for me its a bit much for day time.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrown

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Looks nice for 2-3 hours, but it completely wears off. It looked like I hadn't applied any. It also made me break out after a week.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have long been on the hunt for the perfect foundation! Always bought premium beauty products so have wasted a lot of money. Was given the chance to try No 7 on a Boots promotion - wish I had done this years ago! Found three foundations I love! But my favourite at the moment has to be Instant Radiance for a groomed but natural look. And their colours are brilliant and the color match service really works. The best thing is that everything is not completely yellow based like almost every other foundation on the market. I have a cool based colouring and the Cool Ivory and Cool Beige are perfect. Instant Radiance lasts pretty much all day but does not have that dry look of lasting foundations. Protect and Perfect is great for an evening heavier look and for a quick fix at the weekend I love the Essentially Natural. The best thing about all of them is the natural and very wearable colours - very subtle differences between each shade - I mention two colours above because the texture of the foundation is the key - the lighter textures can take a slight shade darker for a more healthy glow effect. Spend some time at the No7 counter and make your choice - you will not be disappointed and not too much damage to your wallet either!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Having tried the Essentially Natural foundation from the No 7 line, I wanted to try the Instant Radiance to see if I would like it any better just for more coverage. It wasn't bad. I usually go for light coverage but wanted to try a product with more coverage, this one providing medium coverage on the skin. I didn't feel like this was caked on and it did provide radiance in a way that is hard to explain - it wasn't glittery, it was just "glowy" without looking too false or in-your-face. It lasted well on my dry skin, although fear it wouldn't last so well on someone more oily just for the fact that it would look a bit much shine-wise. As with the Essentially Natural foundation, I found this to transfer more easily than one would want (I suppose setting with powder would ease the risk of this, although I don't tend to like setting with a powder personally). Although I probably wouldn't buy this again just because it's more coverage than I want/need, I didn't dislike this product at all and would recommend it to someone who wanted that coverage with the radiance this foundation provides.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

This foundation is easy to blend and covers redness and imperfections very well. However, while my face looked beautiful in the morning when I used to wear this, within a couple of hours the foundation would have totally disappeared! The dewy effect was nice for my cheeks but my nose, chin and forehead looked extremely shiny, so if you get oily skin I would advise that you avoid this. If you have normal or dry skin and you like the dewy look, and you don't have a problem with reapplying throughout the day, then for the reasonable price it's worth a try.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I love this stuff! I love Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua and I feel like this is a MUCH cheaper version but I don't get the exact same glow as with VA. It has a nice dewy finish, decent coverage, and stays put through most of the day. I have applied with both my fingers and foundation brush---I think I prefer application with the foundation brush. I brought Porcelain 003 for my NC-20 skin and find it matches perfectly.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue