3.7

Created with Sketch.
827 reviews
62%
would repurchase
3.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

There’s a lot of HD powders out there on the market, but none of them truly compare’s to this one. The packaging allows none of the powder to spill while your carrying it on your purse. It is very finely milled, and if used correctly, it won’t leave your face looking ghostly or like you smeared white chalk all over your face either. Even though this is labeled as a finishing powder, I personally use it as a setting powder. I keep stocked up on this stuff, because no powder leaves my makeup looking totally flawless and and has a wonderful blurring effect to like this powder does. Now, like any loose powder upon application it is going to be messy. It does have a smell to it due to the high silica content. For me, it is bearable, while for some they may find it to be more of an issue for them instead. Nonetheless, this powder is both talc and fragrance free, and it is definitely worth the money. It comes in 2 sizes, the mini (which comes with a very nice amount of product and does part for a long time), as well as the large size. I currently own 2 of the minis and 1 of the large size. Now, I don’t recommend baking with this powder, because there are other powders that are to be used for such, okay. This powder is not to be used heavily on the face at all. I use an actual HD powder brush that is not very big at all to apply the powder to my face. However, i’ve seen where it’s been demoed being used on the face with a kabuki brush. Which is definitely a very good option to use as well. Oh, and I don’t personally recommend taking pictures with this powder on your face. For special occasions when your going to be taking pictures, I highly recommend for you to use a translucent, colorless powder that is not an HD powder or completely white in tone like this on, okay. The flashback with HD powders are really bad because of it not being detectable after smoothing it out onto ones face. Which is why, when so many people have gone to take pictures and there’s flash photography involved, wherever the power was over applied or not blended properly it will show up as bright white areas on ones face, or in some cases some people’s entire faces have appeared bright white in pictures. So, please unless you are a professional and truly know how to get around such happening on ones face when they go to take a picture, please don’t take the risk of wearing any HD powder on your face when you know you’re going to be phoyographed. Otherwise this powder is perfect for regular use, no matter your skin type or skin tone.

About reviewer (972 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack



5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I really like this powder. Although it is considered a finishing powder, in my experience it sets makeup as well. I have dry skin, but sometimes I can get *slightly* oily on the nose and forehead for example in the summer and it's great for that. I think this would work well for both oily and dry skin. That is assuming you want a matte powder. It diffuses light and makes the skin appear refined and smooth. It also diminishes the look of pores. It's especially nice because fine lines, texture and pores look reduced like your skin is naturally nice, smooth and even with small pores instead of looking "filled in" and leaving a flat rubber like appearance like some smoothing primers do. It doesn't look powdery, doesn't look cakey. It's undetectable even up close in direct sunlight, provided you haven't doused yourself in it and not blended it out. Matte finishes can be quite flat, but this looks very dimensional and almost like a luminous matte finish maybe because it's so dimensional, translucent and smooth looking. If I use too much it can appear a bit dry (it's quite absorbent), but I do have dry skin and you know it's a powder. I can't really fault a matte and absorbent powder for being matte and absorbent now can I? It's a white "translucent" powder in the jar and using too much can slightly lighten the skin, but it's not really an issue on my light/NW20 skin and the fact that you really don't need to use a lot of it. It can easily cause flashback, but that is just the nature of these HD powders. Overall I really like it. It has a few limitations sure. It's not the be all end all powder. I like other powders as well for other reasons like when I don't want a very matte powder. But what it does, it does extremely well, and for that reason I will repurchase it.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairOther

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

10 months ago

I liked it makes my face soft and matte. But the problem is when I take a selfie with flash I can see white powder in the photo so you have to put little bit and blend and it is sooo good when you have a small pimple or the tiny things that appear when applying foundation the small dots (pimples) it covers them with a little amount of powder soo little because it is a soft powder

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

10 months ago

So finely milled, it's ridiculous. My skin is sooo soft and smooth with this applied. Like satin. Works perfect on some of my foundations, but others separate and pool in my pores like crazy. Separated on the l'oreal freshwear (looked like i had a major skin issue lol) but cover girl bb cream is gorgeous. Oil control is average but not amazing. I blot with blotting papers in the afternoon like most of my other powders. (I get mine from Daiso - so good)

About reviewer (47 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I have oily combination skin, but my under eye area is dry and suffers from heavy dark circles. I used to use the Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage concealer in the little round pot, and while that salmon color and the hydrating properties of this concealer were great, it was too emollient and migrated here and there and taking away my liner and mascara with it. At that time the SA had convinced me to invest in the Laura Mercier Translucent Setting powder, which for some reason so many people love, but I found to be horrible and settle into every line and wrinkle I never knew I had. That powder made my skin look reptilian, and aside from my under eye, I have pretty decent skin. So after searching for a decent under eye setting powder, I found Rouge Bunny Rouge, which is my HG, along with this MUFE powder. I was so loyal to my Rouge Bunny Rouge, I wasn`t willing to buy a full size of MUFE, until I found it in a travel size compact at a Sephora in Europe and that`s how we became acquainted. This is as good as my RBR, and although the price point is comparable, MUFE is more easily accessible in Japan, so I will go and purchase a full size of this soon. It works great with all my concealers, the moisturizing and the drier ones I use in summer, it doesn`t settle into lines or emphasize pores and dryness at all. It is an HG setting powder, especially for mature ladies with under eye issues.

About reviewer (880 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It’s amazing for me. It sets my spf and it doesn’t set into lines.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have bought this many times over the years and it’s my favorite finishing powder. However, I hate this latest packaging, so messy and wastes a lot of product

About reviewer (54 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

its nice and very finely milled but too chalky. i like the nars loose powder a lot better. This has a weird smell also.

About reviewer (392 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Holy Grail face powder! This powder is so finely milled its amazing, and a little bit goes such a long way. When I use this I find my face looks and feels smoother, and it keeps my foundation looking like I just applied it by the end of the night. I really love that this product doesn't make my face look powdered or matte, it gives such a natural finish and doesn't transfer at all. Another thing that really impressed me with this product is that it truly was translucent, and didn't change the colour of my foundation or concealer at all. It also looks great in photos, and didn't give any white-cast when flash was used. I originally got this product as a sample and have since purchased it twice, I'd definitely recommend testing it out!

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is an OK finishing powder. It's the most finely milled one I've ever tried, so I'll give it that. But I find this super drying and it also brings out any fine lines and wrinkles on my face and makes it so they're very obvious. A better description might be that when I use this as a finishing powder, I look much, much older. However, you only have to use a little bit of this to set your makeup, so a little goes a long way. If you have very oily skin, this might be for you. If you have any dryness or combination skin, especially if you have any fine lines or wrinkles, stay away from this product. Also, if you are often in photos with flash, don't wear this. It has horrible flash back.

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesHazel