4.7

Created with Sketch.
32 reviews
87%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Love this powder. I used to use MUFE HD powder for yrs, which is so expensive, about $30 for this same size, pass. This works just as well to combat shine at only about $9., will buy again. At little goes along way, is sheer, white/colorless...Love this company!

About reviewer (145 reviews)

Age

SkinOily, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlack



3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is a review for the non-vegan formula of their untinted perfecting powder. On my dehydrated-normal skin, I found this product looked lovely when it first went on and softened the appearance of my pores and fine lines. However, it is too drying for me. By the end of the day my skin was visibly drier than normal and looked rather scaly. On my medium skin tone, there is a slight white cast as well so for anyone who generally has a problem with those the tinted options would likely work better. Unfortunately, I don't find that Silk Naturals has any light-diffusing powders that work on my dehydrated skin type (I also tried their Cloud formula meant for dry skin) but this seems like a decent option for anyone with normal-to-oily skin.

About reviewer (219 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Product: Perfecting Powder - Sheer and gorgeous finishing powder This product is great, it makes your skin look like it has a healthy glow/sheen. I use it to set my tinted moisturiser and it makes my skin look so healthy and flawless (even with some redness in my cheeks) It is not glittery or shiny in any way, but gives your skin this gorgeous subtle glow. The powder is easy to apply and I don't find it makes my makeup look cakey or look like it has a white cast (NC25 for reference). I find a little goes a long way, and you get a decent amount for the price! I am glad I stumbled upon this product, it is a great translucent finishing powder.

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This really makes my skin look flawless. It's good over foundation too, but I hardly wear it, so use this alone, over my spf moisturizer. After it settles for a bit I catch my reflection in the mirror during the day and really love how it makes me look. Like my own skin, but more perfect, no pores, even tone. I do have good skin to start with though, other than undereye concealer don't need any cover up. My skin is fair, but not like English Rose fair, mine is more translucent and I can look too pale. Well, this powder makes my skin look porcelain, still fair, this doesn't oxidise, but good, not sickly.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

Makes my skin look pretty much flawless, even without foundation. I don't have oily skin, so I can't comment on its oil control. But it makes my pores invisible, and I love it! I use a flat powder brush and place it over the sifter, turn the jar upside down, and tap the bottom once. I use that for one cheek. I repeat and use that for the rest of my face. Love Silk Naturals, and the shipping is CRAZY fast. Thanks SN!

About reviewer (14 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

This is a decent perfecting powder if you're not looking for coverage. Oil control wise is just so-so though. Goes on very sheer and light. I'm a bit meh about this as I prefer other perfecting powders from SN and from other Indie companies. It's not a bad powder, just kinda blah for my needs.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

The reviews are all true. This seemingly simple white powder makes a big difference in the finish of my foundation. Softer, more even toned, without adding heaviness. It can be used in a variety of ways. Sometimes I add it over my blush to create a more natural effect, sometimes I mix it with a bit of the mineral foundation for a slightly tinted, less transparent look. Overall it's a terrific product and my only gripe is that I wish it would be sold in a larger size. This is a general gripe I have with all SN powered products. They seem to sell products in the same volume and in disproportionate sizes to their individual uses. Example: Base shades of mineral makeup is sold in the same size as the concentrated color powders used to mix them with. The mix ratio is generally 10 to 2, base to color. The Perfecting Powder is used in a larger concentration than any of the foundation so why sell it in the same volume, 1 tablespoon at a time? I'm starting to feel like a drug dealer with all the little plastic bags with powder. :D PS: Silk Naturals! Your website needs an overhaul! I love you Karen, I love your products but I really don't care for your site. Not user friendly and confusing.

About reviewer (38 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I love this product! I use it with a small powder brush to set my under eye concealer. I find that it is the only powder I have ever used that doesn't give me that crepey look.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

i love this powder. As another reviewer said: Just sort of soft-focus. I have dry skin, with eczema patches on the cheeks. and it does not irritate at all. its really good quality, natural product. i use it to set my makeup, and also against shine on the T zone. Also, to matte my sunscreen, which is quite oily, and i do not like the shiny look if it. the powder endures hot weather. I will definitely buy. my only complaint is the packaging. it could be a bit more user friendly. but i will definitely go back since it is top quality with very affordable price.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

It's a powder. It perfects. And it's perfect at it. An unreserved 5 lippies. <p> A fine, lightweight powder. White, translucent on the skin. Also available in darker tints; the untinted one is perfect on NW05-15. I've applied it using a sponge, a velvet puff, and a brush; I prefer the latter, being faster and easier and easier to clean. Tool of choice: EcoTools retractable kabuki. Or using the Clinique "powder rub-down" method: tip a small amount into palm of hand, rub palms together, and pat around face from there. Use fingertips to ensure you've got the nose. <p> I just generally buff this all over as a finishing powder. Indeed, my only facial slap other than dabs of concealer if and as necessary. Using this on top of moisturiser and sunscreen. Makes only a tiny amount of difference to skin-- but that's the idea, and the difference is definitely there. Everything is smoothed out, softened and blurred, pores vanish (well, to be fair mine were small to start with--but you can see this around the corners of the nose). Not matte; not shiny either. Just sort of soft-focus. In a word, "perfecting." <p> Very good in hot weather; though SN also offer special oil-control version(s), probably a better bet on oilier skin and/or in a hotter and more humid climate. <p> In the past, my best plain translucent powders have been silk, rice, and arrowroot powders. Arrowroot is by far the cheapest; it and rice the best at dealing with summer heat & humidity. But this is the best year-round finishing-touch flawless perfecting thing ever. <p> Minimal ingredients, zero irritation, no clogging. Fragrance-free, cruelty-free, nice company to deal with, and pretty cheap. The full size is 0.14oz / 4g (USD8.95 in baggie, $1 more with jar): similar price range to Laura Mercier's Mineral Finishing Powder ($32/12g), Lancôme Ageless Minérale ($42/similar). Cheaper if your skin's OK with their stuff (mine isn't: grittiness, result/finish, colours, and then the irritation): BM, Everyday Minerals, CoverFX. <p> SN's jars are pretty good; but I'm using an old LM jar, which has a nifty second cover inside that moves to slide over the sifter-holes, so you can close them off between uses, and not end up with lots of powder in the lid when you next open it (and then powder everywhere). <p> INGREDIENTS: mica, silk powder, silica microspheres.

About reviewer (442 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us