3.9

Created with Sketch.
42 reviews
76%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I absolutely LOVED this and the Waves of Envy spray when they were still around. Absolutely amazing. They worked so well. I had fairly straight hair and they both gave me really good, beachy looking waves. I haven't been able to find any products that work as good as these did.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

This is a total HG product for me. I try tons of others and always come back to this one. I have 3a hair that is fine-medium. When I want my hair in ringlets I use Suave Professionals Captivating Curls mousse and finish with Argan oil from wherever (they all seem kind of the same to me). When I want supermodel waves I use this. This does not hold my curl well, in fact it seems to relax it. There is not a single ringlet on my head when I use it. It takes my hair from 3a to looking 2a or 2b. That messy wavy bedhead all the VS models have, that's what my hair looks like with this (minus photoshopping of course). I just take a flat iron loosely over the roots and the shorter layers around my face and voila. It looks even better the second and third days when I run some pomade through it (I use Aveda Brilliant Humectant). Make sure you are using enough of this. My hair is mid-back and I have to use a full pump. It feels like a LOT of product, but it really takes quite a bit to make this work. I rarely actually finish any products, but I've just finished my 4th of this (and third of the Suave Captivating Curls). Oh and P.S. the captivating curls one is EXACTLY THE SAME, ingredient for ingredient, they are just different colors. I'm so sad this is so hard to find now because it is amazing. Definitely going to have to stock up and then have a grieving period when I find a new product to replace it.

About reviewer (234 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I love this! It really boosts my already wavy hair, but takes my more piecey texture and makes it more smooth and lush. You get really glam looking waves with this, without any crunchiness. I usually use it on dry hair: two pumps (since I have super thick long hair) and just scrunch it through--instant glamour waves. Unfortunately, I think its been discontinued, because I can't find it anywhere! This is terrible, since I'm almost out and its my absolute favorite wave product!!

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I first picked this up because of the adorable packaging. How I use this is I towel dry my wavy permed hair, put one pump in my hand, rub my hands together and apply evenly. Then I scrunch or twirl my hair a little and when it air dries, it's less frizzy and also the waves are big and lush. They look really moisturized and defined.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

This used to be the ONLY product i use when i scrunch my hair, it always has a special place in my heart. ok let me start off by telling you a little bit about my hair..my hair is long and naturally wavy, it's very thick and very frizzy due to its curly nature. on those days when i want to wear my hair wavy as it is, i would use this product, so i first damp my dry hair with some water and then divide in halves, i used 1 and 1/2 pump of this product for each side (sometimes less), what i do is rub it between my palms and scrunch it into my hair, then i let it dry on its own which really doesn't take long at all, no blow dryer needed. it defines my tired curls so well without giving me any stiffness, my hair stays soft but well defined. (WARNING: to achieve a similar result you should have some wavy patterns in your hair already, i don't know how it will work on straight hair). and also, the smell of this product is just heavenly, reminds me of herbal essences products..it seems like sunsilk really works well with my hair, i also like their waves of envy sea mist,, which i spray on and scrunch for a quick tousled look when i'm running late, i also used to use the captivating curls anti frizz cream after i wash my hair as a leave in conditioner and to ease away the frizz while still keeping the curls. i feel like sunsilk is a really underrated brand i hope more and more people would love their products like i do.

About reviewer (143 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I will say that this product has an appealing package. The gel and cream twist combined with the pump is unique and attractive. It also has a nice scent which makes it pleasant to use. However, it does not do the job that it is intended. My hair is partially wavy/curly and frizzy and this does not help to keep it tamed. If I use a lot of the product then it makes my hair crunchy (much like excessive amounts of gel would) and in that case would help my hair's frizziness and definition. If less of the product is used then it really doesn't do much for my hair at all.

About reviewer (46 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I have long, thick hair with loose curls, so I thought this might be a good product to guide those curls into nicer waves. It did not work for me at all. I used a couple pumps, and all I got when my hair dried was a poofball that became poofier as the day went on. I though, okay, maybe I need some more hold, so the next time, I tried mixing it with a strong hold gel. Well, the two products did not play nice together, and I ended up with white bits in my hair. At this point, I really should have given up, but for some reason, I really wanted to make the Sunsilk work. I continued to try it with various styling and drying methods and varying amounts of product, until I had used up the whole thing. Result: lots more bad hair days. I'm not sure why I was so bent on making this work, since I can easily achieve nice waves or loose curls with mousse.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

ok i don't know if this really brings out my natural waves as i dont use the product for that reason. i do have naturally wavy hair which is mid back length. i like to air dry then use a curling iron to smooth hair and create some bounce/curls/throughout but mainly on the ends. i have found this to be a great product because nothing has ever made my hair feel so soft yet in no way greasy. there is nothing crunchy about this in any way. i have bought ever heat protectant and other styling product and all leave at least some crunch. this provides great body, and smells good too. i wish i bought more as a massive dollar store nearby had everything in the line. i recalled something in it was raved over so mistakenly bought two of the sprays. have not really tried them yet, should have bought a bunch of these;( i tried this last in conjunction with the shampoo and conditioner. i am not terribly impressed by those, but am with this. for the record, this is a blue and white gel that comes in a clear pump so you can see it. its not sticky but enough so initially that you might not believe it will be so soft later. i am now using this as a root booster as well. was using charles worthington volumizing mousse which does really work but the cost? crunchy-ness. hope i come across more of these. could be hg. did not give it 5 lippies cause it doesnt help tremendously to hold a curl once i create one. however, it may not be designed to do so.

About reviewer (619 reviews)

Age

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

How is it that a gel I bought for $1.99 on sale at my local drug store has worked better to give me shiny, healthy wavy hair than all of the expensive $10+ products I've been trying to use for the last 10 years? I love this stuff. I have no crunch, no grease, no anything to my hair. The way I like to use it is to put in one small pump after the shower for my very thick just-above-the-shoulders hair. Then I go to bed (for some reason, sleeping on my hair makes it the curliest) and I wake up with great hair. This curl cream is a life-saver. I was about to give up trying to find one.

About reviewer (70 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

This stuff really brought out my natural waves. I put two pumps of this on my hands, then finger combed through my towel dried hair. I scrunched and twisted parts of my hair, and it dried in beautiful loose waves. It also (I think it was this, it might be my new leave in conditioner) gave me a LOT of volume. Maybe even too much volume since my hair is already voluminous enough. Regardless, I really like this stuff and recommend it to people who want to create soft, loose waves without crunchiness or stickiness.

About reviewer (60 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue