3.8

Created with Sketch.
240 reviews
65%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Love this mascara! Makes my lashes look great and lasts a long time.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Dark, Not Sure

HairBlack, Relaxed, Coarse

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

This mascara is the only mascara I have found that doesn’t leave me with panda eyes and stays on all day. I just wish this product was a bit thicker as it’s hard to create volume with such a thin brush and don’t like the look it gives me lashes when finished. I find it useful for bottom eyelashes where lesser volume is needed.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

Very expensive, same as drugstore but it does an "okay" job. But i knock off 2 lipsticks because it's another rip off!

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

I think in Asia Pacific market it would refer to the DW Extreme Zero-Smdge All Effects Mascara and I can't be bothered to add a new product unless I really hate it. Pros : Doesn't flake, doesn't clump, doesn't irritate my eyes, doesn't smell. Cons : Doesn't lengthen, doesn't add volume, doesn't come in an affordable price, doesn't do anything. Bottom line : If you have big, beautiful eyes and eyelashes that need just extra definition and a big beautiful wallet, you can get this.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I wear this every day and I like the way this looks and I like that it is long wearing without smudging. I am very sensitive and this is very pleasant and non irritating. However, after going through 3 tubes this year, I am shopping around for another mascara because it just dries out really quickly. Maybe I'm expecting too much.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Nearly a decade ago, I borrowed my mum's tube for the first time (this was when I was a poor student with no concept of how grotty it actually is to borrow someone else's eye makeup, simpler times...) It was the first mascara I had tried that DIDN'T end up smeared half-way down my face by midday (oily gal probs), making me look like a hungover, hard-partying panda who had been in a fist fight and come off worst. It was a total game-changer. It was heaven for my medium-short, unbelievably straight lashes that couldn't hold a curl if their tiny little lives depended on it. I scrimped, saved, caught the bus instead of driving and took on as many extra shifts at work as possible, to make the idea of me owning this sorcery myself a reality. I finally had soft, fluttery lashes that stayed on my eyes instead of migrating to my. It held them in a delicate curl once dry and they actually stayed there, all day! They didn't flake, or clump, or look anything other than bangin' but also natural, like I was one of those people who were born with lashes that looked pretty and 'girly' and opened up my face. The icing on the cake was watching those little tubies sail down the sink or shower drain without any scrubbing or makeup remover, just a splash of warm water. WATER! It was love. I would drag my friends to the Estee Lauder counter when we were at the beauty store to try this potion of happiness to make them love it as much as I did. I was a maniac in those early days of discovery, but friends who actually tried it also loved it and were pretty darn stoked that they could wear a mascara out clubbing and not look like they had drawn all over their face with black sharpie afterwards. I hijacked travelling friends/family's duty free time to make them bring it back for me so I could have my fix. For 9 years, this has been my holiest of holies, my pièce de résistance, the crowning jewel of my made-up face. Until 3 months or so ago, when (devastatingly I may add) out of the blue, I developed acute contact dermatitis. On my eyelids. After using a brand-new-never-been-touched-by-human-hands/eyes/whatever tube I had just purchased. Horror, disbelief, grief... I felt them all. My doc gave me some cream and sent me on my way with advice to skip the eye makeup for 2 weeks to let my lids stop swelling, itching, stinging and flaking and just heal. I did as I was told and when the wonderful day arrived, I elatedly swiped my way back into lash glory. And the redness came back. As did the itchy-flaky-puffy-stingy feelings of both allergies/grave disappointment. Again I tried the 2-week wait and see, but every time I reapplied it, the same thing. I tried other inferior mascaras and my lids were totally fine. I tried this one again and itch. My own body sabotaged my happiness. Alas I return to the exhausting hunt for the best mascara, hoping that one day I will try this beauty again and it will be like those first 9 years all over again. Even though I'm sad, nine years is pretty good innings, no? TL/DR: Pro's: -Doesn't clump, flake or smudge. -Stays on even if you're oily as anything. -Comes off easily with water. -Seems to be pretty sweat resistant. -Formula is forgiving, isn't too wet or too dry. -Pretty good at maintaining a lash-curler induced curl. -Looks natural. -Gives length and definition. -Comes with a spoolie brush (if that's your jam.) Cons: -Is fairly 'up there' cost wise, at least it is her in NZ. -Doesn't work on my stupid face anymore. (More of a personal gripe....)

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Did not perform for me. Started out super dry on the wand so that I thought it was old. Then day by day it got wetter so that it started going on clumping my lashes and leaving balls on the ends of my lashes. Added length as the name says but very little volume. This did not leave my lashes looking good. And this did not come off easily. I had to use makeup remover whereas I thought this was a tubing mascara. And the final straw was it irritated my eyes. I took it back.

About reviewer (1595 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Pro’s: stays in place all day - easy to remove at day end. Con’s: gives lenth and volume but (!) in a very messy way. I cannot really explain in words. This mascara does not make my lashes look better, on the contrary... they look like they just returned from a battle. I had high hopes, but just like any other EL mascara... does NOT work for me AT ALL!

About reviewer (315 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a drier formula than I would have expected for a tubing mascara. It does indeed give some serious length to your lashes but as with other tubing style mascaras, very little in the way of volume. The most disappointing thing about this mascara is that within minutes I saw little black flecks under my eyes from the product flaking off and it only got worse as time went on. The flakes are pretty stubborn as well because I had a heck of time getting them off my face when I removed my makeup. I don’t know if this is typical or if maybe my tube was a bad batch, drier than it normally is? Regardless, for $33CDN I am not impressed with having to sweep away black flecks while wearing this mascara. I get better effects from L’Oreal Double Extend Beauty Tubes mascara and it’s less than a third of the price. That one comes with a primer so you actually get both volume and length. This ELDW mascara is not worth the money and I will not be repurchasing it.

About reviewer (950 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

TL;DR: this crumbles/flakes a lot sometimes - brittle. But doesn't run/smudge/stain from tears or water. Best for natural-ish look; no double coats - best with no double sweeps even. Update 1: waterproofness (tested spraying, then splashing with lots of cool water) is impressive. Update 2: becoming friends with this one after a work shift biking around in light rain. Need to find cheaper replacement, but will look for tubing formulas from now on. My first tubing mascara. It performs like people say tubing mascaras perform: isn't much affected by sweat or oils or humidity, but instead it's brittle and flakes more than average. If I do just one sweep at each place (advisable with this anyway) and am super super conscious not to touch my eyes, it generates about 1-2 flakes/hour the first few hours, barely visible at speaking distance. But later in the day it seems to accelerate (or I just end up touching it at some point after all?). If I rub an eye lightly, it rains flakes and doesn't stop till I remove it completely. Since it dries fast and is so brittle, you have an very short window of opportunity to comb. Which is not great, since it does clump a bit (not for the first few uses, but now after 5-6 it's starting to). Wiper isn't tight, meaning it loads brush with quite a bit of product. Just now, I put it on 1,5 hours ago and combed through one eyelash after applying both. The one I didn't comb hasn't flaked yet, under the other one I have 3 flakes. It comes off the way it's supposed to, with warm water and gentle pinching, and then the skin around the eyes is fully clean. P.S. Estee Lauder tests on animals. EU outlawed that shit, but I just realized of course that doesn't affect these companies that keep testing overseas. Duh. If I'd do this over I'd try blinc or Trish McEvoy's version. Not sure of best cruelty free DS tubing mascaras to try, but there must be a bunch - Nyx, E.l.f., Milani, Essence etc are all cruelty free.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther