3.6

Created with Sketch.
162 reviews
60%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I bought this foundation because it is supposed to have a good color match for pale olive skin tones. I tried it in the color Buff #140, which comes quite close, but is missing a bit of yellow and/or green for me. The color might work well for the less green faces, though. I have combination skin that has been on the drier side lately. Then this foundation doesn't look too good on the skin. It gets almost a textured, dry look. It looks better when the skin is less dry. The coverage is medium, I would say, which I like. I don't know what it is about the formula of this foundation, but I don't enjoy putting it on. That's a big turn-off for me. I want to enjoy the products I am using every day. I also feel like I have to use quite a bit of product to be able to spread it all over my face. The staying power of this foundation is very good. I never have to worry about touching my face throughout the day – the color will stay put. It also doesn't make my skin look too shiny throughout the day. The packaging is practical with the pump. Given the user experience, as well as the condition of my skin, I will not be repurchasing this foundation. But it's not a bad foundation. And it's pretty cheap too.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue



1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I tried this in shade 160 (naked) and the color was really light. I have fair skin with redness and this was still too pale. And it wasnt just pale... it looked really flat and made me Look like I was sick. Really strange. I was going to try a different color but the finish looked so bad I don't want to waste the money

About reviewer (981 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I went to buy my normal makeup and both types didn't have my color so I saw that this makeup had my color. I have never used this brand of foundation before and I never will after my experience. This makeup was zero coverage, broke me out and was heavy without heavy coverage. Awful. I will never buy again.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

2/6/2017- using the shade sand #260 Wow! I usually ONLY use tinted moisturizers because I believed foundations made me look too cakey and whatnot. I picked this up on a whim (I usually don't buy Almay) and WOW- I'm so glad I did! Comes with a pump and the packaging is actually great and looks professional! The color blended in beautifully and DEFINITELY lasts all day for me. I usually ALWAYS have greasies and have to reapply powder but this stuff STAYS on. not kidding, it looks the same in the morning as it did at lunch. Has SPF which is a major plus and I definitely think you could get away without wearing powder, although I have yet to try. Looks natural, medium coverage, and THANK GOD a drugstore foundation came with a pump! A little goes a LONG way. it IS a bit thick when it first came out, but it's very blendable and doesn't look cakey! I know it'd seem like it would be gross & thick, it's NOT! Goodbye, Tinted moisturizers, Almay has my heart. Update: While I love this produt & would recommend, I did notice horrible flaking, especially near my acne which was noticeable & embarassing. Maybe I should just use a more nourishing SPF moisturizer, but if you have dry skin, I'd suggest to thoroughly moisturize before putting this on and/or avoiding it during winter months! Still a great product:) Update in 2017: I don't know why it flaked so bad on me back in the day, but I use this now exclusively and it's great! Amazing coverage!

About reviewer (57 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This foundation was a huge fail for me. It looked like a mask on my skin. This did not blend into the skin very well. Overall it looked unnatural and I returned it.

About reviewer (843 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I had a few cystic blemishes and a whole lot of dark spots and scars prior to using this..and I couldn't figure out why for a while why I was continually breaking out. My skin did not react well to this formulation, it truly does lasts on my skin but that was also the problem. Trying to remove this was a nightmare, within 2 days of not using this I stopped breaking out. I think that if you don't have sensitive acne prone skin, this could be a very good foundation. It was a great colour match, good medium coverage and long wearing.

About reviewer (193 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Other, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Yesterday, I tried this foundation for the first time & I'm compelled to write a review about it. I have oily skin with scarring, acne & discoloration. I'm a fan of ELDW, but currently I'm on a budget & cant afford it right now. Also, DW is too tight on my skin & feels like I'm wearing a mask. Almay TLC 140 coupled with Physicians RX concealer (fair light) is a gorgeous finish (medium coverage) that looks like high end product. Almay TLC lasts 10 hours for me & feels clean & fresh on my face. I believe this product is underrated. After I wore it yesterday, I wanted to inform every woman with oily skin & blemishes about it because it's an amazing product.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Really does last. I worked hard today and it did not budge. I have dry skin so I recommend a moisturizer before applying. Good find at a good DS price.

About reviewer (40 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I am not loyal to brands and usually switch between a dozen foundations. But last week my reminder pops up for reordering my 6th bottle of Almay TLC foundation. Wow! That's almost a record for me! My skin was pretty much ruined by hormone imbalance. Most people experience that during adolescence. I, being a late bloomer, experience that after 40. Once like porcelain, now my t zone is plagued by pores as large as coarse sand resembling mini oil wells. In warm weather, my makeup would melt in 10 minutes. With setting power, 20, tops. In my arsenals, there are about five long wearing foundations. But my oily skin would cause them to turn orange, and then melt off my face. Almay TLC in Buff allows me to walk from my car to indoors without turning into a pumpkin face. It's a perfect match for my skin including my neck and hands. So naturally I reach for this foundation on warm days when I want a quick and simple routine. I always use light moisturizer first (with sunscreen), add moisture to my cheekbone where its dry, stipple the foundation on thinly with a dense flat foundation brush, and add a very thin dusting of HD powder over it. I have never use a foundation without any moisturizer. But given this foundation is drying, I imaging it may be hard to spread without adequate moisturizer. Why not use this every day? Well, although Almay TLC stay true to my skin, it does not look as nice as some of my other foundations. It is a simple foundation without ingredients to help my skin feel better. My light application does not cover as well so discoloration shows. It does not make my skin look better because it's kind of flat. It shows every flakes and intensifies any lines. And it does not last all day. But it does help even out my skin tone. And with a little bronzer and blush, I'm more presentable with minimum effort. If anyone is looking for anything above, that Almay TLC is not, one is bound to be disappointed. I try to use foundations with good-for-my-skin ingredients on cold winter days. But for our warm California days, Almay TLC will be in my rotation for a while until something better comes along, or until my skin changes again.

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination

HairBrown

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

What to say about this foundation? I honestly didn't notice anything significant that makes this stand out from the others. The blend ability is good,doesn't irritate skin and leaves a semi matte finish. The coverage is medium. This doesn't last all day and transfers while sweating. A mediocre foundation at best.

About reviewer (165 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown