RIMMEL Volume Flash Mousse Mascara -- Extreme Black

RIMMEL Volume Flash Mousse Mascara -- Extreme Black
Volume Flash Mousse Mascara -- Extreme BlackVolume Flash Mousse Mascara -- Extreme Black

2.5

69 reviews

30% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 3/19/2019 8:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I don't know if my mascara is the same as the one discussed here or not.it looks like the photo but the name written on it is:24Hours SuperSpeed Volume Flash,and says with small font: one stroke,zero clump,volume mascara(I uploaded it's photo)
A lot of reviews mention it creates spiderleg,dramatic yet very clumpy look.well,not in my case.it's a very average mascara IMO.it doesn't give me much length or much volume,but at least it's not clumpy and It doesn't make me deal with racoon eyes.it's,not as thick and heavy as the other mascara I use these days,Lancome Moniseur Big,but I can't call it really lightweight either.it makes my lashes stick together a bit( but not too much), doesn't straighten my lashes like some other mascaras do,but also doesn't help my lashes to hold the curl better.it doesn't stay wet or sticky for a long time and dries soon enough
It doesn't have horrible,very strong smell.I don't like it's brush but I don't hate it either(I prefer huge,fat brushes)
I use two phase makeup remover and this one wasn't among difficult to remove ones.so while it doesn't have most negative points a mascara can have I don't like it because it doesn't do much for me,except making my lashes look more black and that it makes me feel like I'm wearing mascara! I gave it 3 lippies but it's 2.5 for me
Edit:
Oh boy it dried in a month and half! and I was careful to not pump it's want into the tube.there's still some product left inside the tube but it's too tacky and flaks like crazy



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After trying a lot of mascaras, thinking each one was better than the last, I have finally found my Holy Grail mascara that I will use until it is either discontinued (dear God, no!) or I die. That mascara is Rimmel's Volume Flash Mousse in Extreme Black. Beware though, Rimmel also have another Volume Flash mascara but it's called Volume Flash X10 and has a black and red tube rather than a silver and red one. It's good but no way as good as the mousse one.

I've never came across an air-whipped mousse mascara before but it seems air-whipped cosmetics are all the rage since Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse. It seems the mousse makes the formula all the difference as when you apply it, it coats every lash and raises them to the roof. I have to tilt my head practically 90 degrees to try and prevent mascara smudges on my eyelid.

Once I ran out about a month ago, I tried finding it in local drugstores like Boots and Superdrug to no avail. It was ridiculously easy to find on eBay though, and at just 3-4 it's surely a steal. The packaging is okay, silver and red with the tube curving inwards towards the ends - not gross, not beautiful but this doesn't bother me.

This mascara makes my lashes so long and thick as well as curly - all three in one! The smell is neither pleasant nor unpleasant. A bit too much mascara comes out the first 2-3 months you use it, especially on the flat end of the brush so I just wipe off the excess back into the tube. It's a bit tricky to apply to lower lashes as it's a thick brush and has lots of mascara on but it gets easier once most of the mascara has gone onto your top lashes. I only need to pull the brush out once to do my top and bottom lashes for two coats so it's great value for money too.

I really, really love this mascara, it's definitely my No.1 and I hope to continue to use it forever.

http://geishababy.blogspot.co.uk


on 12/23/2011 6:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It's very simple with this one-if you love spiderlegs-lash mascara with ton of maskara on your lashes,volume and clumpy look which I adore since I have small eyes and hooded lids- the best mascara there is!!
If you want a ''neat and clean'' mascara to separate, give some volume without clumping- not for you!
so you can't say this is a bad product because it doesn't suit your needs...
a very,very good mascara for people who are not the ''average mascara users''...I loooove my lashes to be thick, a bit messy and with a ton of product that makes me look like a doll!!

Happy, happy....would buy it again, especially when this cheap- only 4.5 $ in my country!:DDD

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 9/27/2011 5:38:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This mascara says that it will add volume and wont clump. Well for me it added lots of volume but it clumped a lot. And if you are going to buy it, scrape off excess mascara because it does have a lot on when you take it out.


on 3/9/2011 9:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I didn't like it. Ironically, after applying my lashes felt heavy (despite the whole 'Maxi volume mini weight!'), and I had to be really careful when applying it, because it was extremaly clumply.
I would agree with some people on here though who say that it's not the formula that's wrong, but the brush. The formula itself isn't bad (although it still felt a bit heavy and sticky for me), but the brush is definetly one of the worst I've used. After a few days I couldn't even see the brush because it was all covered in clumps!
About the volume...Well it definetly gives some volume but the lashes don't look attractive. - especially if you have short lashes (like me!), this mascara definetly isn't for you.
I only bought it because it was on offer in my local pharmacy (1!).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love having thing chunky (but still nice...if that makes sense) lashes. Especially my lower lashes. I love my lower lashes (especially when hitting the clubs) to be vissible and full looking, and this mascara is perfect for that.
I love this mascara so much that when they stopped selling it in all the main shops, I started to peak out and went online to buy a replacement. Yeah. Addicted I am to this. Luckily they're now still selling it in Priceline. I love it soooo so much. For my lashes, it does what I want. It makes them look fuller (without feeling heavy), seperates them enough for the look that I wear, shows up well, and doesn't smell funky.
It isn't for everyone. But nothing in this world is. For some it'll work. For others it won't.


on 9/8/2010 7:23:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

Mine was a little watery - which I didn't like - but it did give me a hell of a lot of volume with no clump (I only needed 2 coats)! I did find that the mascara was a little heavy and did straighten my lashes a bit. I have short lashes and this mascara didn't give me any extra length.


on 8/25/2010 2:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I highly recommend saving your money (plus time, and lashes), on this mascara. This is the only mascara from Rimmel I've tried, however, I've heard good things about their other mascaras, so maybe this is the only one to avoid. Junk.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bad, bad, bad. I bought it on a whim during some CVS sale along with a bunch of other useless makeup, JUST BECAUSE THEY WERE ON SALE.
It's really clumpy. Not "oh my lashes look full" clumpy and you can separate it, but actual chunks. If you just do one quick swipe on each eye you're ok, but that just makes your eyelashes look black is all.
I'm keeping it as a backup since it was only a few bucks...


on 7/1/2010 4:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So I know whats wrong with this mascara. It's the brush. While the formula itself is pretty good to me, its lightweight not as sticky and has that mousse quality; the brush is the thing that ruins it. It has big bristles that are separated too far apart, making the mascara gather in the spaces making application clumpy. Because I didn't throw away my covergirl lashblash yet, I am going to use that brush with this mascara.


Back to Top