L'Oreal Paris Telescopic Mascara - Carbon Black

Filtered by skin tone : Fair
L'Oreal Paris Telescopic Mascara - Carbon Black

3.8

151 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Paraffin, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Stearic Acid, Cera Carnauba (Carnauba Wax), Acacia Senegal, Palmitic Acid, Triethanolamine, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Aminomethyl Propanediol, PEG 40 Stearate, Sodium Polymethacrylate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Simethicone, BHT, Polyquaternium 10, Panthenol, May Contain: ( /-) CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77266 (Black 2), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77288 (Chromium Oxide Greens), CI 77289 (Chromium Hydroxide Green), Mica, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 75470 (Carmine), CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide)

Start your review


on 2/2/2012 8:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I actually really liked this product out of all the drugstore mascaras Ive tried. I loved the regular gold telescopic but it just wasnt thick enough for me. This makes it almost perfect gives great length and pretty deep color. Im a mascara perfectionist so I got bored with this quickly and decided it wasnt right for me. But I deff would recomend this for a lower end mascara



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

The brush only has four bristles on it, so it caused a lot of clumping of lashes into one big lash. But this mascara provided a lot of length for my lashes (which is what I personally was not looking for) and some volume. The mascara quality itself is pretty good. The packaging is good, the tube is shaped like a telescope, which I find is cool. Overall, this is a fine product. If stubble length and volume is what you are looking for, this mascara is not for you.
I would not purchase again because I was not looking for what it offered.


on 1/11/2012 11:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

After receiving a bounty of gift cards for Christmas, I headed to the local CVS in search of a new HG mascara. I ended up walking out with three, but for the purposes of this review I will only address LíOrealís Telescopic in Carbon Black.

What I had to work with: Average-to-long blonde eyelashes.

What it claims to do: This mascara claims to lengthen lashes with a dramatic effect due to the carbon pigments.

Price: I had a gift card, but it was $10.99 at CVS. It would be cheaper to buy it at Walgreens or Wal-Mart.

Packaging: Gorgeous sleek black tube fashioned to look like, you guessed it, a telescope. I wasnít sure which end to open so I tried with much chagrin to open the bottom. It didnít work.

Scent: This mascara has a peanut odor mixed with fresh tar. Not a good description, but itís the best Iíve got.

Consistency: This is a very runny mascara. Iíve only had it for a few days, so Iím hoping it will dry out.

Effect on my lashes: The first time I tried it, I was disappointed. It clumped at the base of my lashes, effectively making them look shorter. I gave it another go the second day and had more luck. My lashes lengthened considerably but not without a few drawbacks. The wand is difficult to use because of its sparsely spiked exterior and makes for a tedious application. My lashes were crunchy and prone to clumping by the second coat, and a comb was needed (which I never need.)

Overall impression: Not worth the price. Nice black color, but too difficult to apply and too crunchy. If youíre looking for defined lengthening, look elsewhere.


on 12/14/2011 5:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I want to give this 3 1/2 stars. I think has one of the cleanest finishes I've ever seen in a mascara, especially for L'Oreal. It also makes my lashes super long, and I do mean, rediculously long. However, I feel like sometimes it clumps my lashes together just a little bit. Also, doesn't give me any volume, which I wasn't expecting, but I thought maybe it wouldn't look like I had less lashes. I'd buy this again because it's nice, but I'm not all over it because I have very long lashes, but sparse ones. Yes, I know that this mascara wasn't meant for me, but I just wanted to see what the hype was all about, and it's pretty good. :)


on 11/14/2011 12:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Well, I have mixed feelings towards this one. At first, it made me lash all stuck together and looked like I had only a few lashes. I read someone's review on this and said that you should apply this mascara with the tip of the wand. I tried it and it helped a lot. This mascara DOES great job on lengthening, but it doesn't separate very well ( I guess I still don't apply it the best way maybe). It DOESN'T hold a curl because he formula is really wet. I usually use L'Oreal bare natural under and then use telescopic for lengthening after bare natural dries. I might repurchase (kind of pricey) but I'd like to try the telescopic in clean definition first since i heard the clean definition has drier formula.


on 9/18/2011 5:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This one's awesome for lengthening. I have very short, sparse lashes--this really makes a difference. I love the brush--very neat application.


on 8/10/2011 12:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

So far this has been the best mascara I have used in terms of making my eyelashes look great (makes my eyelashes look longer slightly thicker and very dramatic) BUT, and this is why I've given it a 3, it smudges like crazy I'd only been wearing it for 2hrs and by the time I got home it had traveled about 1cm under my eyes making me look horrible (it wasn't hot, I hadn't been crying nor rubbing my eyes) and also this mascara irritated my eyes, I've never experienced this with a mascara before but whilst wearing this my eyes were stinging. I haven't trialed using a waterproof mascara on top yet to see if it stops this mascara migrating south but I'll update when I do, other then that I think I'll just save this for special occasions when I want to look great (with the price of constant touch up and stinging eyes lol).


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great mascara!

I got this for christmas last year, and my first impression was that it's just a cheap mascara with no effect. But impressions were wrong.. This one is fabulous! I use it everyday, because it gives my lashes great length and volume. It's also a very nice black colour. The brush is amazing, and it takes only seconds to apply. This mascara is also kind of cheap, so that's a plus. Usually I'm not into L`Oreal products, but as I said, this one is great. I will definitely buy this one again, because it's perfect for everyday use.


on 7/23/2011 7:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm not too crazy about this. Like most L'Oreal mascaras I've tried I just found this ok. The telescope packaging is cute and it is a very deep black like the name implies. The brush is a weird rectangular shape with tiny comb-like teeth. The formula is very wet and combined with the weird brush it makes quite a mess. I admit I am a messy mascara applier but this was worse than usual. It did leave my lashes long and soft but only after I brushed through them with a clean Lash Blast brush. I would not repurchase and I doubt I will finish my tube. For lengthening I much prefer Rimmel Lash Accelerator or Maybelline Lash Stilletto.


on 7/9/2011 8:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this mascara! The first time I used it, I was amazed. My eyelashes looked fake and I loved it. It is so easy to build length with Telescopic, and the skinny rectangular brush is wonderful. It wears well and I love how dark it is. I recently ran out and decided to try Voluminous Million Lashes to see how it compares, but it definitely does not lengthen my lashes the way Telescopic does. I will be repurchasing Telescopic very soon!


Back to Top