RIMMEL LASH MAXXX - Extreme Black

RIMMEL LASH MAXXX - Extreme Black

3.4

55 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 2/10/2008 3:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I liked the look and the applicator and of course the price. However, something in the mascara made my eyes itch and burn so I have returned to Clinique High Definition Lashes.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am reviewing the waterproof version - don't bother. The colour is very black, which is good. But if you curl your lashes first, this mascara seems to drag the lashes down again so they are poker straight and stubby. Very hard to remove, but then again it is waterproof.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have a hard time finding a good mascara.Most mascaras clump on my lashes when I use it. I have used pretty much all brands of mascara. I really like the Maybeline xxl,but I like Lash Maxxx more. Because of the brush you will get no clumps AT ALL. It also makes your lashes really long.Mine already are long so it looks really good on mine! I really love my lash maxxx


on 1/4/2008 1:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Just when I've sworn off drugstore mascaras, I try Rimmel Lash Maxxx. What a find! The pink rubber/plastic brush applicator is wonderful for coating lashes down to the roots - and for the first time, I don't need to tint my blonde eyelashes as the brush coats every little lash from root to tip. Don't wiggle the brush, just stroke it over lashes to avoid clumps. The only drawback is that the formula lengthens my lashes dramatically, but doesn't add much volume. It's cheap, widely available, and makes my lashes look just as good as when using Diorshow mascara...but without the hideous constant flaking of Diorshow. I'll definitely buy again! Hopefully they'll expand the color range and add in an eggplant or dark green shade. continued >>


on 12/13/2007 6:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

did NOTHING! Thought the brush/comb would work well, but its actually worse than the regular spooly brushes~ if the comb had smaller teeth, it would be better perhaps...? the formula was pretty bad also ~ no maximizing of any sort...


on 12/8/2007 10:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Great applicator!! This mascara can make the flimsiest lashes appear so long - and the applicator/brush is the best. I love that this doesn't flake off onto my cheeks all day long and that you really have to work hard to get this to clump - I love this and have given it as little gifts to my sisters. How can you not for this price?? It comes off with my eye makeup remover so it's not difficult to remove - I just can't find anything NOT to like. I only wish it was made in a navy shade to help the whites of the eyes appear a tad whiter. But I will keep buying this mascara!!


on 11/26/2007 3:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

i'm torn on this mascara...it has good qualities and bad qualities. i'll start w/the good: great price and availability, rich black color, very non-clumping, minimal flaking and no smearing. the brush is very innovative and actually does work well for lash seperation and coating. it's a plastic stick with about 3 rows of very thin and pliable bristles at the end that hold the product. the comb actually reminds me of the old Barbie combs you used to get w/your Barbie dolls! one thing that i love about the brush is that it grabs and darkens your lashes right down to the root, and for a person like me who has blonde eyelashes that's very exciting! when you first open the mascara and pull out the wand, it looks like there is way too much product on the comb and you're tempted to wipe it off before you apply, but don't! even though it looks overloaded, there is the perfect amount of product already there. you just comb through your lashes until they're to your liking and you're set. now for the bad points: for my lashes, this mascara doesn't do much in the volume building department. it helps somewhat, but definitely not what i'd expect from a mascara that's advertised for giving extreme volume and false-looking results. i would categorize the finished look as regular daytime lashes, darkened and defined but nowhere near enough volume or drama for going out at night. this mascara also kills the curl i've put into my lashes, i'm not sure if it's because the formula is too wet or because of all the combing you need to do to get your lashes the way you want them, but when i'm finished i have no curl. that is a very big dissapointment to me because i like my lashes curled straight up (i know, a big-time makeup no no!) so they look their longest. lastly, since the applicator has longish plastic teeth on it, i find myself getting quite a few black dots around my eyes from bumping into my skin w/the bristles. we all know what a PITA that is when you've spent an eternity getting your e/s or e/l just right and then you have to grab your q-tip and start cleaning up mistakes! anyways, this is definitely not a bad mascara, but also not one i'd pick up again. **EDIT** a quick note, i have found that this mascara actually works well as long as you absolutely do NOT use the wiggle method. doing the wiggle that i usually do w/all mascaras will make this one clump and look like crap, but if you just ease the comb into the base of your lashes and sweep straight up multiple times, you're good to go and it looks nice. i would probably even purchase again if i wasn't insanely obsessed with mascara and unable to stop buying thousands of tubes ;D

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 11/24/2007 7:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

the wand is a 'comb' mascara but is more like a hair brush with 3 rows of teeth! but dont be put off as its great to apply.I used this in black when it first came out and liked it, and now its available in extreme black i think its great, you need to use a fair bit if you want your lashes to really stand out alot, but its worth it because it doesnt clump and looks really feathery and nice.


on 10/29/2007 8:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Another great let-down in my search for my HG mascara....This is so not lash maximizing! The funny brush in this one is really no better than your typical spooly. And the formula is pretty poor. It is thinner than most mascara formulas and it got really clumpy by the time I was able to build up to the thickness I like. Meh - I don't think I'll finish the tube....


on 10/27/2007 8:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i luv the way the applicator is my lashes are super long but very thin so the mascara just gave it so much volume i love it!


Back to Top