3.6

Created with Sketch.
59 reviews
69%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a month ago

I will be doing a 6 month review here so as of today this is my review. I feel because you do go through a purge and have to get used to it that it’s better to have a play by play than anything. Background- I have hormonal acne. I had clear skin until I was 20 and went off the pill. My face blew up. I went back on the pill and my face went back to Ok but never back to normal. I’m 27 now and last year I decided to go off the pill again. My face didn’t explode but it’s not great. When I sent int my photos it was freezing cold in my city, I had just gotten out of a very hot shower, and my acne was as red as a pepper. I had a huge inflamed cyst on the side of my face and a number of clusters near my mouth. It was not pretty. I didn’t feel that the skin test/review was all that great. There should have been a couple pages worth of questions about daily life, items used, health, etc. Tomorrow I will be on Curology for a month. I am 4% Azelaic Acid, 4% Niacinamide, 1% Clindamycin. I hear this is pretty much the trial version that most people get. So much for “Everyone’s skin is different.” I ordered on the 15th of December, got it on the 20th, started using it right away. I didn’t have any feelings about the cleanser- mild, not exciting. Easily duped by drugstore. The moisturizer also wasn’t super exciting having come from more luxury and drug store versions. The gel formulation is nice but it isn’t enough for my skin. I actually need to use a pump of squalene to get enough moisture. Being a month in I can note that the top of my cheek bones, which get those tiny impacted pores, are super smooth. That’s about it as far as the healing goes. My acne hasn’t calmed down. I’ve got a cluster at the corner of my mouth and the stuff gave me a horrible impacted pore under my eye that was the grossest thing I had to deal with all month. As of today, 1 day short of a month, I’ve run out of my mixture. I used a pump every day at night and that was it. I’m hoping to have my new bottle soon. If you stop using clindamycin for too long, because it’s a antibiotic, it stops working effectively. That’s one of the reasons why dermatologists will no longer offer it as a oral remedy for acne- people stop taking it before a course is finished and you mess up the way it works for your body. Month 2: ordered the bigger bottle and after less than half a month it’s already pretty much done. Getting thick, congealed globs in it. However, my skin is actually doing a bit better. I’m still purging on my cheeks where I never got acne before, but, my jaw line is clearing up. It’s kind of a trade off I guess. I’m a little put off still as I think the introduction of Vitamin C has been helping more than the Curology at this point. At this point my 1 star is not changing and I don’t see myself continuing past the 6 month mark at the current cost.

About reviewer (104 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Curology used to work for me until they reformulated the base it’s in. I started noticing with a new bottle that I was having lots of uneven texture on my cheeks and couldn’t figure out why. It turns out that curology had reformulated the base and never bothered to notify customers, which is really terrible. I will try to find a replacement with a different online company.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I started Curology in November of 2018 & after a month of using the free trial my face definitely had a difference in it. My acne was clearing up remarkably & now I’m 6 months of using it & it’s amazing I’ve never had anything actually be this good in clearing up my acne. I still get a little & I mean like two to three pimples on my face when it’s going to be the time of the month or when I have been eating too much junk food. But I tell you all have to do is wash my face with the cleanser & then at night apply the acne treatment & moisturizer then the next day those completely of pimples are on their way to being gone. I do pay for the complete package which is $60 every two months for the cleanser, acne cream & moisturizer. I have found that everything last me a lot longer than two months. I started with the free trial stuff in November ordered the bigger bottle in January 2019 and that one lasted me until the the beginning of May. I think $60 every three to four months is great for my acne and I don’t mind spending that amount. There is plans that are cheaper. I really wish I could upload pictures here to show you the difference in my face. If you’d like to see the difference find me on insta @chelsea.foulon or Twitter @chelseafoulon & I’ll be more than happy to show you my face from beginning to now!!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I am really obsessed with this product. I have only been on curology for 3 weeks and I can already notice a major difference. It’s even helping my dark spots this quickly!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Curology saved my life. I never believed that I would be able to wear no-makeup outside of my house, but here we are! The process is so easy from the consultation with the dermatologist to the application of the product. The texture is super light and creamy, leaving my face soft and dewey the next morning (I apply it post moisturizer). Most topical creams that I have tried usually burns my face and leaves it really dry a couple days after, but I didn't have this issue with Curology. Shoutout to Curology for giving me my no-makeup confidence back! I really owe them one.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Olive

HairBlack

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

LOVE IT !!!!! favorite skin care product to exist! Cleared my acne in less than a week???? I’m so happy I finally caved into the trial. My skin is glowing and no more cystic acne here !! My skin will be clear for prom !!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I have been using Curology for a year give or take a couple of months. At first I was super wowed because they sent me tretinoin, niacinamide and an antibiotic in my cream. My face cleared up. I always have some stubborn clogged pores around my chin so this was pretty miraculous but over time I asked for a reformulation which they did after some back and forth. I mentioned irritation so they lowered the % of the tretinoin and added azelaic acid plus some other supporting player which I can't remember. My face went from red and flaky to severe flake city but still clear. Many bottles later and emails to and fro I once again like my formula. But a caveat: They have limited substances from which to make your serum. Even after much talk I still ended up with the same formula for many months, and right now I have a bottle of the previous formula I haven't touched. My new formula is great for my clogged pores, wrinkles and hyperpigmentation. It's supposed to be working on my melasma but of course this is slow. But I'm okay with that if there is improvement. And so far so good. Price is a little high. As many have said they are providing you a formulation for which you can go to a derm and get the various creams for cheap. IF you have a derm and great insurance. My insurance was jerking me around about retin-a but then that issue has resolved and it is now way cheaper than Curology. You really need to keep track of your automatic shipments. For awhile I was getting a pump every 3 weeks but only used it once a day so I had plenty. Then I started doing my hands too, then I was running out. And it's so hard to know how much you have because you don't know the quantity left. If you are in this program, you know the panic...If they'd only give us a view window on the pumps. They are great with email communication but you don't get to talk to a live person. HOWEVER they respond very well to indepth photos that support your need for a reformulation like new breakouts, dark pigments and irritated skin. I have received messages from a couple of PACs within hours of an email. It IS very hard to cancel. I actually was ready to cancel over the winter so I stopped using Curology to see the difference. But during that cancelation period I emailed them and went so far as to stop shipments for awhile. My chin had clogs, my cheeks had some breakouts, my rosacea was out of control. After some hard photos of my skin, they went above and beyond and sent me a new formula within a week. I still struggle with frequency and pacing but continue with the program. Oh and a note to readers: I have never received a free bottle or incentive to buy this service. How do people get these things for free? Money always has to come out of my pocket.Woe is me

About reviewer (1595 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

In love with my product- my last review got deleted and flagged but I’m not an influencer or have been sent this item for free as I pay for it on a month to month basis.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I've been using this for 3 months in combination with my Paula's Choice products and have come to realize that a monthly subscription is just too expensive. I just went to my dermatologist and got a generic brand prescription for 1% Tretinonin which I am now using in replacement of over the counter Differin Gel. This will last me about 3.5 months. But this is not why I'm giving this a low rating! Have you tried canceling your subscription? Probably not based on these reviews. It's virtually impossible! Long story short is this - I followed all the prompts to cancel. (You CAN'T CALL AND CANCEL!) I was still being charged. I had to file a claim with Citibank Mastercard to get this company to stop charging me, however, I still had to pay for the one month that I thought I canceled! They don't have a phone number and they don't respond to emails!!!! COMPLETELY ASININE! So, just be aware of that as you watch all those youtubers talk about this shady brand. ONE LAST THING -- click on the accounts that reviewed these products. They only came on Makeupalley to review Curology, which tells me that they are fake reviews!

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a hard review. I’m sort of in the middle right now trying to decide if I should cancel or not. So I have always had acne. I did accutane in my early 20’s and it worked great. Then I got on and off birth control and it kind of screwed with my skin. So I was stable on birth control and my skin was still flaring up. Also, I've been using retin A for all over skin benefits but I haven't had a dermatologist in a while and it was a several month wait to see one and I wanted an easy way to get a retin A prescription. Enter curology about one year ago. They started me on a tretinon, clindamycin, azealic acid combo. And I broke out like never before. My skin looked terrible. I emailed, freaking out, and they told me I was purging and to keep going. I was kind of angry because in my past experience, purging is a myth and my skin only ever got worse when something caused me to break out. But I decided to try and trust them. It took forever. But my skin finally stopped breaking out. I want to say it took 6-10 weeks, I need to dig through the emails. But it was bad. Since then, overall my skin is ok. I do still get small breakouts. But I can’t use curology every night or else my skin gets deflated looking. It’s dull and dried out. So I end up wasting a lot of product because they keep sending it. Recently I discovered I could delay a delivery by one month, so I’m going to try that. Paying $160 a year is better than $240, but it’s still a lot. I’m just torn. If the formula is stressing out my skin, I can try other things. But I went through such a long aweful “purge” and if curology is helping my acne, I really don’t want to start over. So I’m a little afraid to quit, but I’m not totally sure how much it’s helping. Currently I use it every 2-3 days. I emailed my provider about these concerns and while she’s perfectly polite, she’s a little condescending and not helpful at all. I don’t feel like she’s hearing my concerns about how the formula is affecting my skin and she’s not answering questions I have about how dull and dehydrated my skin seems if I use it every day. So I’m very torn. I think that the best option is to go see a dermatologist in person. If I get to a life position where I can, that is what I’m going to do. But I only think it’s worth a try if you can’t see a dermatologist for some reason.

About reviewer (541 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Other

EyesBrown