Revlon ColorStay Liquid Liner

4.0

791 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Water, Propylene Glycol, Triethanolamine, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract. Tocopheryl Acetate. Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Oleyl Alcohol, TEA-Stearate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Cellulose, Hectorite, Glyceryl Stearate. Xanthan Gum, Isopropylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben. May contian : Ultramarines, Iron Oxides, Titnaium Dioxide, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Mica, Chromium Oxide Greens, Bismuth Oxychloride, CArmine, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Manganese Violet.


on 9/9/2004 9:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

My HG liquid liner. So easy to apply, Doesn't budge once it's on. Great little brush lets you put it exactly where you want it!



on 7/26/2004 6:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I had never liked liquid liner because it just seemed too messy for me and seemed to smear everywhere. I had got this on clearance for about $4 so I tried it and fell in love. The application is super EASY because of the sponge applicator. It stays put throughout the day, but can smear a little if you sweat. I do not get that nasty eye goop either with this product. I am sold on this and would definitely buy again. As a matter of fact after about 4-5 months I finally ran out and had to buy again for about $7..a STEAL. I use it almost every day and to last for about 4-5 months it is GREAT!


on 7/23/2004 6:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I got this in black. this is the worst liquid eyeliner ever. the brush tip is really short and it hurts your eyes so badly. Even though I've learned to control the tip so that it hurts less when i put it on, I still go through a noticeable amount of pain everytime I put this on. I also find that this takes a long time to dry, so i sometimes end up with a streak of black line in my crease area. Ewww. It's also very hard to remove even with eye makeup remover. I guess this is good for oily eyelids but definitely not for sensitive ones like mine.

Edit: Revlon just renovated this line and I decided to give the new one a try. Big mistake! The colour Black is nolonger available; the blackest colour they have is called Black Shimmer, which is black infused with silver shimmers. I don't mind the silver shimmers even though I prefer matte black eyeliner cuz they're not too noticeable anyway. But the formula is worse than before. The eyeliner stings my eyelids everytime I put it on. I don't understand cuz my eyes are slightly sensitive but it never behaved this way to an eye makeup product. However, this product has a lot of benefits as well. It lasts all day and it doesn't budge, smudge or crease. Even the short tip doesn't hurt anymore. All in all, the cons outweigh the pros and I will not repurchase.

Edit: Another renovation, another failure. The previous versions had great coverage and staying power, which were the only things that made me repurchase this one time after time. The latest tube has just ruined the only positive things about this product. It's as sheer as water and smudges horribly in a few hours. I don't even live in a hot country. I tossed this one out in a few days of purchasing. STAY AWAY, DO NOT PURCHASE!


on 6/23/2004 6:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my liquid eyeliner of choice. It goes on bold and evenly with one application and it doesn't flake or chip off, but it does smear a bit and can rub off if you happen to get it wet enough (such as with tears). It will also slowly smudge a soft line of its color on your eyelid at the point where the top of your open eye sets, over the course of its wear for the day, but I have yet to find and eyeliner, liquid or pencil, that doesn't do this. I love this liquid liner.


on 6/13/2004 11:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am very satisfied w/ this liner. I always have a little smudging when I wear the Maybelline liquid liner and it's hard to clean completely off your eyes. BUT, this Revlon liner not only has a strong dramatic & deep color, it also is easy to guide on your lids and NO SMUDGING ALL DAY. When it came time to remove it, it completely wiped off my eyes w/o a trace when I just used water...before I even used soap. I will never use another liner b/c this is sooo affordable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/18/2004 1:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG eyeliner. I wear this every day of my life (excluding weekends usually). The pen-type applicator makes this easy to apply and control (once you get the hang of it, if you normally don't use the pen-types) and it L-A-S-T-S. This isn't even waterproof and has outlasted other, so-called "waterproof" liquid liners. With some products, though I've found an HG product I love, I'll still try other brands and types for variety, but not with this. I'm sticking to this eyeliner, that's how proven this product is to me. I prefer Blackest Black. Icy Black is a shimmery gray/black, it doesn't last as long but it's nice for a change (haven't tried the other shades).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2004 9:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a great liquid eyeliner for a first time since you don't have to worry about brush hairs going all over the place

I love the intensity of my Black l/e and it really lasts all day. My only complaint is that it gets into my lashes when I apply and makes a bit of a mess there. I don't that's necessarily a product flaw, it may just be my lousy technique. I've switched to using the gel liner by Bobbi Brown and I'm in love with that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2004 9:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the way this goes on -- the felt tip applicator is easy to handle. The colors are deep and saturated and they don't get that plasticky look to them like a lot of drugstore liquid liners do. Stays on very well until you take it off. I only wish it was waterproof (and didn't sting my eyes on removal). Bronzed Brown is exactly what it sounds like, and Icy Black is a black shimmer with silver tones.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love liquid eyeliners and this one is really good. I have it in black. I like that this is a felt applicator and not a brush one. It makes it easier to apply...especially if you want to line on the bottom w/liquid. It's an intense black, easy to control. You can draw a really thin line and build it for more drama. Overall, a very good drugstore product.


on 3/27/2004 5:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My hands aren't skilled enough to have the grace and precision when apply the kind of liquid eyeliner with the ultra fine brush tip and long handle [like a mascara], so I was ecstatic when I discovered Revlon's colorstay liquid! I don't use anything else and refuse to try other brands just because I know that this never fails me and I'm satisfied to the core with this product. It looks like an inkwell, with a short handle and a felt tip so it's easier to control. Plus it's long lasting and I wear it all day and into the night [which is helpful because I bartend part time]. Even if my eyeshadow has faded, my eyeliner is still there. I use it in black [always] and it's always sold out in stores so I make sure to buy more than one at a time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top