Elizabeth Arden • Mariah Carey - 'M' • Fragrances

rated 3.6(171 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* magicalmoongoddess on 7/28/2009 7:45:00 AM more reviews by magicalmoongoddess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

M opens as a very light floral fragrance that smells like it's been dipped in marshmallow. I get a slightly tart scent to begin with, with some vague white florals...I have read the fragrance notes but must admit I am unable to distinguish the exact floral notes by scent in this one. All of this wrapped in sweet marshmallow. It then moves on to become a softly sweet marshmallowy vanilla with a tiny bit of an incense feel to it - albeit very tiny!

Make no mistake, this fragrance is definitely sweet. However when you think sweet, M brings to mind toasting marshmallows over a roaring fire whilst you're wearing a soft, cosy sweater......I find it quite comforting! This fragrance is also very long lasting and a few spritzes will see you through the whole day with no need to re-apply. I also must admit to loving the bottle - love the colour and also the butterfly lid which appeals to the little girl in me :-)

Oh and of course have to mention that I have been complimented on this by a male.....so being wrapped in vanilla marshmallows is obviously not too abhorrent to all men :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* drvogue on 7/25/2009 8:45:00 PM more reviews by drvogue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The juice is nicely done: muted nutty vanilla which lingers on the skin. Yet another perfume you grab when you don't want to overthink it. The bottle, on the other hand, is atrocious. The cardboard packaging is bulky and mine doesn't even close properly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Camera on 7/15/2009 5:38:00 PM more reviews by Camera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This perfume is amazing. I hate floral smells and I found my perfect sweet smelling perfume.

When I can't afford it, I buy the imitation (I forgot what it's called but it's also purple) and it smells just as good, but a tad bit more like baby powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fustyluggz on 6/20/2009 5:57:00 PM more reviews by fustyluggz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I liked this scent the first time I smelled it so I purchased a bottle. It smells different on than it does from the bottle which is a good thing, it also wears very well. The only reason I gave it such a low rating it because I found it to be sickly sweet and muskier than I prefer and honestly after a while the smell just really turned on me, I got to a point where I didn't like the scent and I didn't want to wear it anymore so my best friend ended up with it. I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anna8607 on 5/7/2009 11:41:00 AM more reviews by anna8607

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love this scent. Its so sexy and spophisticated...I love how its soft, but its there...I really like the bottle too, its very pretty. I would def. repurch.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blueelm on 5/6/2009 2:58:00 AM more reviews by blueelm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was very surprised by this scent. It is a sweet burnt milk scent, full of sugar and cream. As much as it would seem hip to talk about the crappy-ness of a celebrity fragrance this is very lovely and nice. It gets panned a lot. I think that's unfair. M is not a very pricey fragrance, and in its price range it stands out as a rather sophisticated sugar sent. I like it much more than I thought I would. I would put this on the top of a foody/candy scent list. While this isn't something I could imagine wearing every day, I it is something I wear from time to time when I just want a simple nice smell that isn't floral or clean oriented. The bottle is horrible though. Purple butterflies? Really? Yeah. But the scent is a surprisingly nice deep sugar vanilla.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* urstandingonmytoes on 4/11/2009 6:42:00 PM more reviews by urstandingonmytoes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I snapped up a bottle of this and literally doused myself in it...in wishful anticipation of the marshmallow/vanilla that I've heard so much about. OMG I gagged, I fanned, I rubbed, I ran from the cloud I'd created. I did not get the sweet fragrance that everyone else enjoys...apparently the cat peed in my bottle! Perfume is such a personal thing and chemistry can change one persons delight to another person's cat pee...and in this case..that is exactly what happened. I'd recommend using a tester first. I do love the pretty purple bottle and even the little butterfly, I like that it can be picked up at Wal Mart and I don't have to go to the Mall to get it, and $$ it isn't priced insane for EDP. As with all perfumes, its a try..and see.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Isolinde on 4/11/2009 6:10:00 PM more reviews by Isolinde

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Sweet, but not in a good way. I get the vanilla and the marshmallow that others have mentioned, but there's nothing on the other side to balance it out. It's just sweet. If I wanted to smell like sugar, I'd buy pink sugar, which at least has a tiny bit of depth.


Also, the bottle? If I were 16, I'd love it. But I'm not in high school, and I don't doodle unicorns in the margins of my notebook paper anymore. I do not need a cheap plastic bottle with a malformed butterfly on the top.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pattyshine on 4/11/2009 5:52:00 PM more reviews by pattyshine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this M from Mariah! I tested this once at a department store and liked it right away. Sometimes when I get home, I see perfumes in a different light and ask myself ,"Why did I buy this?"
Not this time! It has such a lovely aroma, almost sophisticated yet comfortable to wear. The sillage is wonderful and the fragrance lasts all day! Hey you other perfumers - ask for the secret to "M's" staying power. This is what I find most lacking in modern perfumery. Such as,
Fabulosity - wonderful perfume, but the staying power is not good! Try this lovely perfume from Mariah. I don't think you will be disappointed. I just sprayed it - mmmm. Love it! UPDATE: the more I wear it, the more I love it. The notes are wonderful and soothing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HolliVomit on 3/29/2009 3:22:00 PM more reviews by HolliVomit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

A lot of salt and incense/sandalwood. Amazing staying power. If it were packaged differently, I think I'd like it more. The butterfly does not match the scent at all. Good fragrance concept. Poor marketing concept. If a different house put this out in better packaging without a celebrity name, it would get raves.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Fragrances products