Too Faced • Shadow Insurance • Eye Primer

rated 4.2(1585 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarrieLynnJ on 10/6/2010 12:33:00 PM more reviews by CarrieLynnJ

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this at Ulta in the little trial tube for around $8. I can see this lasting me a LOOOONG time. I have used it for 4 days straight and I love it. I have used it with cream shadow, powder shadow, loose powder, and very glittery loose powder and everything looks great. I put a tiny dot of this on and rub it in up to my brow. I let it set for a few minutes, then I come back with my Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy and put a little dot of that on and rub it in over my lid and a little under it. When I apply my eye make up I get a good 10+ hours out of eye make up. Today I have on BE Trust and it looks as good with no color change and no creasing since 7 am and its now noon. This will stay on the same way until I take it off around 8 tonight. Good stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 poopichia on 10/5/2010 8:55:00 AM more reviews by poopichia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It made my eyeshadow stay and does help the eyeshadow not settle into the crease but it seems to work better with cream shadows rather than powder. It got the powders all cakey and I looked like I had on a layer of colored flour on my eyelids at the end of the day. Stick with cream shadows when you use this product, works much better this way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 woahitsbrooke92 on 10/5/2010 1:41:00 AM more reviews by woahitsbrooke92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried UDPP because of it's rave reviews, but it truly let me down. So I thought I would try this one out. I'm glad I didn't pay for it, and instead got it in a swap. I have seen numerous videos saying you should put a primer on underneath a paint pot, and since I always use Painterly, I thought I would try it. It didn't make my eyeshadows crease, but the color seemed to fade from my crease and look awful. And it had only been three or four hours since application. I pretty much had to redo my makeup because of it. SO then I tried it two more times without Painterly, thinking it would just work better without the extra layer. Nope. It creased my shadows up so bad by the end of the day. Now, I do have slightly hooded eyes, so I understand when my make up will either settle in my crease or crease up. But Painterly BY ITSELF works better than this or UDPP. SO sad. I had such high hopes. Oh well. At least I have my Painterly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gorbe on 10/5/2010 1:07:00 AM more reviews by gorbe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Without primer, my eyeshadow vanishes within, like, an hour. UDPP prolonged this to like, three hours. Still not very impressive. This primer, on the other hand, much better! I put my makeup on at around 8am, around 5 when I get off work I'd say it's still 80% there. By 10 at night it's mostly gone, but I'm about to take it off anyway, so who cares. I like the packaging MUCH better than UDPP's, I find that genie bottle tube atheistically pleasing, but at the EXPENSE of the usefulness of the product. With this one, the tube form makes you able to squeeze it out. I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chaovivi on 9/30/2010 10:56:00 PM more reviews by chaovivi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I chose this over Urban Decay's primer potion because of two reasons, (1) its cheaper and (2) it's in a convenient squeezable tube.
I do like this primer, I haven't seen any creasing ever since I started using it, however I'm only giving it 4 stars because I've only used two eye shadow primer in my life. This and the sucky L'oreal decrease. Therefore, I feel that I have not encouter enough primers to say this is the best. I feel that there may be something just as effecient (or maybe even better) and cheaper in the market for me to find.
But if you're stuck between this and Urban Decay's, I would say buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 petitebabygirl on 9/30/2010 5:40:00 AM more reviews by petitebabygirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Mac Prep & Prime Eye creased my shadows after a few hours, and so I bought this over Urban Decay because of the packaging. It keeps my shadows from creasing until I remove my makeup. I just wish it kept the shadow vibrance. Either way I won't wear eyeshadow without this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 9/29/2010 6:33:00 PM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this a while now but rarely use and when I do its often not for the intended use. I like pixi epoxy better, though that's too sticky, but here's why this doesn't work for me;
-shimmery, don't get why its shimmery, that shimmer shows through some shadows
-simply doesn't hold e/s in place on me that great, cream e/s worked almost as well
-too expensive given its eh on me
-just don't really get it or the hype

When I do use this I do as a highlighter under my brow alone, or even dotted on the area right where I have darkness under my eyes. It works better for me that way than to keep e/s in place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* uraznbabygurl on 9/29/2010 5:55:00 PM more reviews by uraznbabygurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sooo glad I finally invested in a "higher end" primer. ELF's and NYX's primers were decent, though they would not last me a whole school day especially if it was 90+ degrees outside. With TFSI, I've worn my eyeshadow for about 11 hours (before I washed it off) and there was NO creasing! Lastly, the packaging is what made me choose this over UDPP (though UDPP came out with a squeeze tube, but in a "professional" size). I will definitely repurchase this again and again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missdollparts on 9/29/2010 2:44:00 PM more reviews by missdollparts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love this primer so much, eyeshadow is worthless without it. This is a MUST HAVE. They could do a better job on the packaging though, the primer exploded out the top when I was squeezing it.I will still buy this until I die.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alisdr on 9/29/2010 2:35:00 PM more reviews by alisdr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazing at keeping your shadows from creasing, fading, smearing and all that stuff. It's easy to apply and the packaging is super cute and practical. Only problem I had with it is that it separates, meaning that when I squeezed it a clear liquid came out before the actual product which is really annoying. I even tried shaking and squeezing the tube a little bit before I opened it but I still had that problem. It is great as a primer but I would not buy again simply because I like my UDPP a lot more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Eye Primer products