Too Faced Shadow Insurance

4.2

1602 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Talc, Cyclopentasiloxane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Glyceryl Triethylhexanoate, Polyethylene, Trihydroxystearin, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Isopropyl Lanolate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Dimethicone, PEG 40 Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


on 11/10/2010 10:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

The staying power of this product is great. It truly helps your shadows last all day long. I didn't care for the consistency of the product. It's quite oily. I already have oily lids. I does blend easily and I top it with a MAC paintpot, so it's not a big issue. You get a ton of product so you get what you pay for. I didn't like the tube packaging (oil sometimes separated from product) so I "depotted" mine and put in an empty Maybelline dream mousse blush pot. It will probably last me for an eternity. I wouldn't repurchase when this one runs out. I like my primers to be less oily, but it is not a bad product.



on 11/9/2010 4:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use both this and Urban Decay's Primer Potion and I don't notice a difference in their performance. Both make my eyeshadow last all day with no creasing. By all day I mean starting at 4 or 5 that day; I haven't tested their ability to last from morning until night.

One benefit to this brand is its tube packaging, though Urban Decay also offers a tube now. However, I think UD's is bigger, and therefore more expensive.

I do notice that if I go a while without using this it separates. Storing it upright with the cap pointed up and shaking it before opening it seems to fix that. It still works, anyway.

I haven't decided if I like this or Primer Potion better, but when I need to stock up again I would definitely consider this brand again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2010 5:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using Too Faced Shadow Insurance as a primer for almost a week. I used it with cream eyeshadow from Benefit and powder eyeshadows from MAC and Inglot. After 15 hours of serious workday - no creasing. But, I have to say that I spent all those time in an air conditioned building. MAC's paintpot creased on me after about 8 hours in the came conditions. I found my new primer. Will repurchase this until UDPP becomes available in my local Sephora, I will have to try that one.


on 11/3/2010 11:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I discovered this product when I got a free sample from Sephora, and it lasted me such a long time before I decided to go and buy the full sized one. I love this product. It makes my eye shadow last forever (even if I go swimming!) and there is no creasing. It also allows for better color payoff. This primer is amazing, and I will definitely rebuy when I run out, which won't be for a long time, since you only need the tiniest bit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/31/2010 9:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this more than all of my other eyeshadow primers put together. Have tried UDPP, NARS, LORAC (apparently I only try primers that are all capital letters) -- oh yeah, and Smashbox. I always come back to TFSI. I have been using it almost every day for a year and am just coming to the end of my first tube.

As noted, sometimes it does separate, but a little bit of vigorous shaking ("I Whip My TFSI Back And Forth") makes it recombine with no problems.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2010 1:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product. I use it every day. It makes my eye shadow stay put for my 13 hour work days, NO creasing and NO fading throughout the day. It is awesome. I have also tried UDPP and I found it to be too drying, my lids would have flakes on them from the product. I do not have the problem with the Too faced.


on 10/26/2010 11:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm on the hunt for a replacement for this. The product separates into 2 parts - a watery silicone and a pigmented cream. Since it is in a tube, I try to squish it to mix them together and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. When I do get them to mix the product is ok. I particularly like that it smooths out the skin on my eyelid as well as hold the shadow. However I never know what to expect. UPDATE: the solution was right under my nose: Maybelline Age Rewind, a concealer on one end and a YSL touche eclat dupe on the other - both great. The concealer is the best, the absolute best shadow primer. It goes on smoothly, great application and it lasts. Cheap too! Tossing the SI, who needs the hassle.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I wish there was a maybe for the "would you buy this product again". I am truly on the fence. At times it works really great for my oily lids and other times it creases as if I had on no primer.


on 10/26/2010 10:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

The best shadow primer! I even use it under liner only because I know it won't budge for the day. You only need a tiny dab. I love it much more then Urban Decay's shadow primer.


on 10/24/2010 6:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Shadow Insurance is definitely an improvement over no primer at all, but it's just a mediocre primer, and I wouldn't re-purchase. It does work to keep shadow from fading, about the same or maybe a little worse than my Lumene primer. However, this is much thinner than the Lumene, and it separates in the tube. It's impossible to mix it up, so you just end up with gobs of oil coming out instead of primer. I bought it for my mom, and I feel bad now because I know she's not impressed with the oily separation issue, and will be less likely to believe me when I recommend anything to her. For the price and the performance, I don't think it's worth it. If I want a primer in squeeze tube, I reach for Lumene, and otherwise Painterly Paint Pot is my favourite primer for lasting power.
Edit 11/14/10: So I checked in with my mom - she says she loves the primer. To be fair, she's never used anything else, but the fact that TFSI has got her using eyeshadows again (she hated the constant creasing) is a great thing. So I'm bumping this up to 4 lippies, but won't be buying it for myself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top