Too Faced Shadow Insurance

4.2

1611 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Talc, Cyclopentasiloxane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Glyceryl Triethylhexanoate, Polyethylene, Trihydroxystearin, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Isopropyl Lanolate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Dimethicone, PEG 40 Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


on 11/23/2010 4:11:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I was so looking forward to loving this, but I don't. It goes on my lids in a greasy manner and takes longer to dry than other eye primers. :( I gave it an overall rating of 3 since my shadows don't crease, and last, but no more than any other primer. I'm disappointed that this wasn't my HG of eye primers. Bare Escentuals and MAC paint pots are better IMO.



on 11/21/2010 5:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the best eyeshadow primer I've tried, but I haven't tried too many yet. I am a little disappointed though after hearing all the hype. The primer is a bit oily but that is alright for me because I don't have oily lids. The only thing is if I accidentally put even the slightest bit too much, my eyeshadow will crease. I do have a heavy crease, though. I also can't apply this over concealer or foundation (I used to like to pat foundation over my lids to cover up veins) or else it will make the foundation separate all over my lid. Maybe I'll try dusting powder over the primer like the helpful reviewer below suggested and then update.


Despite all that, I still use this daily and will continue to use unless I find something I like more. If applied carefully, my shadow will last longer than without it, but it still fades by the end of the day, even if I use a more high quality shadow. Maybe I'm asking for too much from a primer but I want my eyeshadow to look fresh all day long. There is nothing grosser looking than smeary and worn off eyeshadow on a dried out lid!


Edit: I recently stopped using this to find that my eyeshadows apply and stay better on my lids over my foundation versus this primer. My lids are noticeably more greasy when I use this (making eyeshadow slide around on them) even though I only applied sparingly. Took one lippie off and will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2010 2:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

To explain why I don't like this product I should tell you have have oily skin and this product isn't made for oily skin user. When I first got into using makeup I bought the shadow insurance. I was kinda happy with the results, but not really. I would have to put on two coats of this and use elf facial whip as a base shadow to get some long wear use out of my eyeshadows. I used the shadow insurance over a year until I found a better product, that miracle product for those of us who have oily skin is Urban Decay's Primer Potion.


on 11/19/2010 10:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I recommend this to everyone! Eye make up lasts at least 6 hours if not more..


on 11/18/2010 12:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a very good product, and essential to any eye look. Seriously prevents creasing. I much prefer this to UDPP for a few reasons... 1) much more sanitary container. 2) less annoying container. 3) seems less oily to me and, therefore, works better. The UDPP just doesn't cut it compared to this. A little expensive, but I bought my tube over a year ago and I'm still not even close to finishing it. A little goes a long way.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

After going back and forth with TFSI and UDPP, I think I prefer this product. I find it easier to work with since it is a bit more liquid than UDPP which makes it easier to spread over my eyelid. I also feel that it is easier to blend shadow over TFSI than UDPP. My main issue with UDPP has always been the packaging (the new doe foot was no improvement! I see that they now have a professional size tube at a higher price, but I just don't think it's worth it) so TFSI wins out there too. This sometimes does separate in the package, but a simple roll between my hands gets everything back to where it should be. It has never caused a problem with the use. I apologize that this is a mainly comparison review, but I felt it was important to point out why I prefer this over that.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2010 5:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is an amazing product. I bought a tube of this a very long time ago, and i use eyeshadow pretty often. This tube has lasted me for almost a year. You dont need much of the product at all, and when you use this it improves many things.
It makes youe eyemakeup twice as bright and pigmented. makeup NEVER wears out, you ca rub your eyes and all fo your makeup will still be in place.
The little tube it comes in is also very nice. Unlike the Urban Decay Primer potion, you get ALL the product out of the tube, where as when useing urban decay's primer some of it is still left in the bottle.


on 11/12/2010 9:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like the packaging, that's why I bought this. Squeeze tube is nicer than UDPP wand/bottle. Mine separated (from Sephora, I've noticed this a lot lately with their stuff) but I religiously shake it before using so it hasn't occurred again. I feel like the texture is too thin. It glides on easily but I don't feel like it's doing anything. I prefer UDPP in Sin :)


on 11/12/2010 9:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a good eyeshadow primer, but not great - at least not for me. My eyeshadow will crease some during the day when using this primer :\ Will not buy this again.


on 11/10/2010 10:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

The staying power of this product is great. It truly helps your shadows last all day long. I didn't care for the consistency of the product. It's quite oily. I already have oily lids. I does blend easily and I top it with a MAC paintpot, so it's not a big issue. You get a ton of product so you get what you pay for. I didn't like the tube packaging (oil sometimes separated from product) so I "depotted" mine and put in an empty Maybelline dream mousse blush pot. It will probably last me for an eternity. I wouldn't repurchase when this one runs out. I like my primers to be less oily, but it is not a bad product.


Back to Top