Too Faced Shadow Insurance

4.2

1599 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Talc, Cyclopentasiloxane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Glyceryl Triethylhexanoate, Polyethylene, Trihydroxystearin, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Isopropyl Lanolate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Dimethicone, PEG 40 Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


on 11/20/2010 2:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

To explain why I don't like this product I should tell you have have oily skin and this product isn't made for oily skin user. When I first got into using makeup I bought the shadow insurance. I was kinda happy with the results, but not really. I would have to put on two coats of this and use elf facial whip as a base shadow to get some long wear use out of my eyeshadows. I used the shadow insurance over a year until I found a better product, that miracle product for those of us who have oily skin is Urban Decay's Primer Potion.



on 11/19/2010 10:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I recommend this to everyone! Eye make up lasts at least 6 hours if not more..


on 11/18/2010 12:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a very good product, and essential to any eye look. Seriously prevents creasing. I much prefer this to UDPP for a few reasons... 1) much more sanitary container. 2) less annoying container. 3) seems less oily to me and, therefore, works better. The UDPP just doesn't cut it compared to this. A little expensive, but I bought my tube over a year ago and I'm still not even close to finishing it. A little goes a long way.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

After going back and forth with TFSI and UDPP, I think I prefer this product. I find it easier to work with since it is a bit more liquid than UDPP which makes it easier to spread over my eyelid. I also feel that it is easier to blend shadow over TFSI than UDPP. My main issue with UDPP has always been the packaging (the new doe foot was no improvement! I see that they now have a professional size tube at a higher price, but I just don't think it's worth it) so TFSI wins out there too. This sometimes does separate in the package, but a simple roll between my hands gets everything back to where it should be. It has never caused a problem with the use. I apologize that this is a mainly comparison review, but I felt it was important to point out why I prefer this over that.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2010 5:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is an amazing product. I bought a tube of this a very long time ago, and i use eyeshadow pretty often. This tube has lasted me for almost a year. You dont need much of the product at all, and when you use this it improves many things.
It makes youe eyemakeup twice as bright and pigmented. makeup NEVER wears out, you ca rub your eyes and all fo your makeup will still be in place.
The little tube it comes in is also very nice. Unlike the Urban Decay Primer potion, you get ALL the product out of the tube, where as when useing urban decay's primer some of it is still left in the bottle.


on 11/12/2010 9:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like the packaging, that's why I bought this. Squeeze tube is nicer than UDPP wand/bottle. Mine separated (from Sephora, I've noticed this a lot lately with their stuff) but I religiously shake it before using so it hasn't occurred again. I feel like the texture is too thin. It glides on easily but I don't feel like it's doing anything. I prefer UDPP in Sin :)


on 11/12/2010 9:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a good eyeshadow primer, but not great - at least not for me. My eyeshadow will crease some during the day when using this primer :\ Will not buy this again.


on 11/10/2010 10:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

The staying power of this product is great. It truly helps your shadows last all day long. I didn't care for the consistency of the product. It's quite oily. I already have oily lids. I does blend easily and I top it with a MAC paintpot, so it's not a big issue. You get a ton of product so you get what you pay for. I didn't like the tube packaging (oil sometimes separated from product) so I "depotted" mine and put in an empty Maybelline dream mousse blush pot. It will probably last me for an eternity. I wouldn't repurchase when this one runs out. I like my primers to be less oily, but it is not a bad product.


on 11/9/2010 4:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use both this and Urban Decay's Primer Potion and I don't notice a difference in their performance. Both make my eyeshadow last all day with no creasing. By all day I mean starting at 4 or 5 that day; I haven't tested their ability to last from morning until night.

One benefit to this brand is its tube packaging, though Urban Decay also offers a tube now. However, I think UD's is bigger, and therefore more expensive.

I do notice that if I go a while without using this it separates. Storing it upright with the cap pointed up and shaking it before opening it seems to fix that. It still works, anyway.

I haven't decided if I like this or Primer Potion better, but when I need to stock up again I would definitely consider this brand again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2010 5:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using Too Faced Shadow Insurance as a primer for almost a week. I used it with cream eyeshadow from Benefit and powder eyeshadows from MAC and Inglot. After 15 hours of serious workday - no creasing. But, I have to say that I spent all those time in an air conditioned building. MAC's paintpot creased on me after about 8 hours in the came conditions. I found my new primer. Will repurchase this until UDPP becomes available in my local Sephora, I will have to try that one.


Back to Top