Too Faced Shadow Insurance

4.2

1620 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Talc, Cyclopentasiloxane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Glyceryl Triethylhexanoate, Polyethylene, Trihydroxystearin, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Isopropyl Lanolate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Dimethicone, PEG 40 Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


on 12/31/2010 4:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For years I was a die hard UDPP addict. I didn't think anything out there compared....I was wrong!! Last week I dropped my UDPP and broke the bottle. The primer dried up within a week. I then decided to give Too Faced Shadow Insurance a try based on the great reviews and the packaging. I was amazed!! I will never go back to UD! This stuff rocks and applies so smoothly. I find that my shadows even blend better with this stuff.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!



on 12/31/2010 12:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Between this and Urban Decay's Primer Potion, I prefer this one. I have monolids, so I need primer to keep my liquid eyeliner on, and this does the trick. It makes my liner last throughout the day for the most part. Obviously, it'll smudge eventually, but it beats the primer potion.


on 12/30/2010 8:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I received a sample of this over a year ago, and never used it. STUPID!! I recently started using loose mineral eyeshadow and I was having major problems with fallout and eye irritation. I did some research and found this product, which I dug out of my drawer unopened. I also ordered a full-size on amazon.com after reading about how the packaging is better than UD's Primer Potion.

I pat this on, a little goes a very long way. (I expect it will be over a month before I'm done with the sample.) To avoid it creasing, like the below post said it did, I keep my eyes closed while it dries. I then apply my eyeshadow over it and it does NOT budge all day.

Today I applied a dark blue all over my eyes with a cream eyeliner over it around 10 am. I just took it off at 8:30 pm and there were no creases, no smudging, nothing.

Excellent product and worth the price. It will last a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2010 10:54:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

UPDATE: 01/21/11 - I have completely changed my mind about this product. I evidently was applying it too thick. I now am putting just a small amount on with my pinky finger and patting it. NOW I'm getting the benefits of this product. My eye shadow doesn't budge and the colors are brighter.
-------------

I too fell into the hype with this product and wasted my money. I've tried it for a week now and it just doesn't work. A minute after I've put it on my eye, I have to go back and re-smooth it - because it has already creased. I do not have oily eye lids either! By noon my eye shadow looks like a mess and I have to reapply.

I'm going to stick with just poweder and base makeup from now on.


on 12/27/2010 12:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I definitely favor this over my UDPP! The packaging is more practical, and it's better for contact users, or people who rub their eyes a lot. Hands down my favorite.


on 12/23/2010 1:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was my first eyeshadow primer. I ended up choosing it over Urban Decay's Primer Potion because of the packaging. The squeeze tube just makes more sense than the Primer Potion applicator, and I'm a devoted Shadow Insurance user now. It makes my eyeshadows last for as long as I could possibly need and I've never had any creasing!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a great primer that comes from a squeeze tube. MY eyeshadow lasts all day, and the color neutralizes my lid. It can be oily sometimes but not often.


on 12/21/2010 1:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I received Shadow Insurance as a sample in a huge Sephora VIB pack, and immediately fell in love. At first I was weary, since for the past few years I'd been a UDPP devotee, but on a relaxed night at a minor league ball game, I decided to give it a try and see how it fared. Well, I was blown away! It's so smooth and creamy, but not greasy or thick. My shadows would sometimes "skip" or tug with UDPP and I always thought it was my technique/brushes or the shadows themselves. After using Shadow Insurance, I'm now convinced it was the UDPP! Everything goes on so easily, and so vibrant and true. I never though it would happen, but I'm converted! I also love the packaging 2000000x more than UDPP. The squeeze tube is superior (even though UDPP came out with a "pro sized" squeeze tube), and allows me to apply just the right amount - which is a tiny drop! HG material for sure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2010 8:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I suffer from major creasing because my lid area is quite small and overlaps when I blink. For this reason, I can't use even BeneFit Creaseless Cream shadows without creasing by the end of the day. I've tried pretty much everything out there (MAC Paint Pots, UDPP, Smashbox Photo Finish...) and I have to say that I've had the best results with this primer. It is slick and easy to apply, which I like because I have very sensitive/delicate skin.

Once it's on there, my shadow stays put all day long. No creasing, no fading. I've found that this works even better than UDPP for me, though I still do use both. The only reason to use a different primer in my opinion is if you are using shadows that have a glitter/lustre finish, which will cling better to the tacky base that MAC Paint Pots provide.

As mentioned in other reviews, the tube is much easier to use than the UDPP container and you need so little of the product that one tube will lase for months, even with daily use. I'd highly recommend giving this a try, even if you've been disappointed by other supposedly fantastic primers!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2010 5:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Great product, not a crease in sight when I use this, nor does my eyeshadow fade with it. I work 10 hour days and when I get home my eyeshadow still looks good as new. The only time I ever have a problem is when I over apply, too much seems to promote both creasing and fading.


Back to Top