Too Faced • Shadow Insurance, Anti-Crease Eye Shadow Primer • Eye Primer

rated 4.2(1574 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 10/24/2010 6:42:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Shadow Insurance is definitely an improvement over no primer at all, but it's just a mediocre primer, and I wouldn't re-purchase. It does work to keep shadow from fading, about the same or maybe a little worse than my Lumene primer. However, this is much thinner than the Lumene, and it separates in the tube. It's impossible to mix it up, so you just end up with gobs of oil coming out instead of primer. I bought it for my mom, and I feel bad now because I know she's not impressed with the oily separation issue, and will be less likely to believe me when I recommend anything to her. For the price and the performance, I don't think it's worth it. If I want a primer in squeeze tube, I reach for Lumene, and otherwise Painterly Paint Pot is my favourite primer for lasting power.
Edit 11/14/10: So I checked in with my mom - she says she loves the primer. To be fair, she's never used anything else, but the fact that TFSI has got her using eyeshadows again (she hated the constant creasing) is a great thing. So I'm bumping this up to 4 lippies, but won't be buying it for myself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smn864 on 10/24/2010 3:59:00 PM more reviews by smn864

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This works absolutely fine, though I think I still like Urban Decay better (with the exception of the wand used with UD which I do not like). Re: some comments about the liquid that comes out of the tube: be sure to store the tube tip-side up. Since I starting doing that I've no oozing out of the tube. Next I will try ELF's primer. Getting tired of spending $20 for a tiny tube for product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rallu on 10/23/2010 11:37:00 PM more reviews by rallu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I usually use Urban Decay primer but I thought I would give this a try. This one feels more wet and oily and it makes my shadow still crease a little. It was a gift from Sephora so I threw it away otherwise I would have returned it. Back to Urban Decay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beccacat96 on 10/20/2010 1:17:00 AM more reviews by beccacat96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have only a sample of this from Sephora from about 1 and a half months ago and I still have a long way to go in the little sample jar! I loove this product. you need the tiniest little bit to cover your whole lid, and although when you first put it on it feels a bit greasy, it dries beautiful and clear. my mom recommended this product to me, because her co-worker uses it, and she can work through a whole day at the office, then go to the gym, work out for 45 minutes, then take a shower.. and her eyeshadow is still perfectly intact, crease-free! i thought that was insane, so i had to try it, and i can completely verify that statement. i've heard people complain that it's not as forgiving or easy to blend the eyeshadows as with UDPP, but i have never experienced that problem. i <3 tfsi!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aurora1793 on 10/20/2010 12:18:00 AM more reviews by aurora1793

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great eyeshadow primer base, comparable to UD Primer Potion, but the squeeze tube packaging (although nothing particularly special or pretty to look at) is very effective at keeping the product from drying out (I had this problem with all of the UDPP I bought), and also makes dispensing a lot cleaner. It stays on all day without creasing, but is still workable enough so that blending shadows isn't a struggle. A little goes a long way, and I've had my tube for almost a year now. I'll definitely be repurchasing this product when I run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DrTierraFierce on 10/10/2010 9:19:00 PM more reviews by DrTierraFierce

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay so this was my first eyeshadow primer I ever bought I bought it from Sephora and wa told that this was the best and I am very impressed. I bought it because when I where the matte eyeshadows out of my 120 eyeshadow palette, they tend to fade, not go on right and doesnt stick to my lids and fades out a litte. I must say that I am very impressed with the primer, it helps my mattes last all day, no creasing, and the color shows up and sticks to it very well. Just a tiny dot goes a very long way, the tube may look small BUT, it can last you for a very long time if you use very little and not too much I will try the Urban Decay Primer next to compare to this otherwise, I would def repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fatisil on 10/9/2010 8:39:00 PM more reviews by fatisil

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

EDIT: I can't explain why, but after a week of using it, it became oily... It's not because of the temperature, since it's been cold... But it ruined my make up on a wedding, so now I officially hate it :( Still use it for everyday make up... If someone knows what happened and if I can do anything to fix it I would deeply appreciate any input! Thanks :)

PAST: The best eye shadow primer I've tried!!! Works wonders, easy to apply, user friendly packaging... (Can't say how long a tube will last, but will update!)

I have to admit, though, I haven't tried Urban Decay Primer Potion, since the brand is not available in my country. Nor are any non-high end primers. So the range of products I tried are only on the high-end side and I believe this one was the cheapest!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 10/7/2010 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've purchased this twice now. The tube lasts me about 9months to a year. That's not that bad for $18 USD. I just have to say that I never noticed my eyeshadow looking better or lasting longer with this. It's just okay and I bought it twice now because it's better than UDPP.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pompomgrl81 on 10/7/2010 4:30:00 PM more reviews by pompomgrl81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this product based upon a reco from a friend when I told her I always have a problem with my shadows creasing. She gave me a sample and I tried it - I have to say I can't believe I never knew about this before! Here I have been walking around with creasing shadows thinking there was nothing I could do about it! My life has now changed! This product went on so nicely - smooth and invisible. I put my shadow on next and boom...COLOR...I couldn't believe how it enhanced my shadow color. That was at 7am....now comes 7pm and guess what? NO CREASING! Even after I went for a run outside. Love this product and would definitely buy again and again! It is pricey but a little goes a long way so I figure 1 tube must last a long long time. It has now become a part of my must-have beauty staples!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarrieLynnJ on 10/6/2010 12:33:00 PM more reviews by CarrieLynnJ

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this at Ulta in the little trial tube for around $8. I can see this lasting me a LOOOONG time. I have used it for 4 days straight and I love it. I have used it with cream shadow, powder shadow, loose powder, and very glittery loose powder and everything looks great. I put a tiny dot of this on and rub it in up to my brow. I let it set for a few minutes, then I come back with my Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy and put a little dot of that on and rub it in over my lid and a little under it. When I apply my eye make up I get a good 10+ hours out of eye make up. Today I have on BE Trust and it looks as good with no color change and no creasing since 7 am and its now noon. This will stay on the same way until I take it off around 8 tonight. Good stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Eye Primer products