Too Faced Shadow Insurance

4.2

1601 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Talc, Cyclopentasiloxane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Glyceryl Triethylhexanoate, Polyethylene, Trihydroxystearin, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Isopropyl Lanolate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Dimethicone, PEG 40 Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


on 12/7/2010 10:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I picked this up at sephora with my VIB discount (along with other things). I had high hopes for this however the stuff separates in the tube and no matter how much I shook it , it came out separated oily runny mess and I would not put this on my eyelids. Not sure how others make this work, but this is not for me, I am a UDPP kind of girl, but decided to give this a try because the packaging is much more user-friendly, but the product sucks in my opinion. Can't comment on how it functions as an eye primer because I did not get that far. This is going back.



on 12/7/2010 2:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was a 'what was MUA thinking' moment. I picked up the very small trial size at Ulta. It was still expensive (to me) for how little you get. With such glowing reviews, I couldn't see what could go wrong. The packaging was nice. I appreciate the tube. However, this did nothing at all for me. It's extremely greasy and it not only creased, it makes my eyeshadow look worse! I have tried it several times with different high end/low end eyeshadows and the results are all the same. I'm sticking with my HG UDPP and Elf mineral primer thank you!


on 12/5/2010 4:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love this product. Can sleep in my makeup and wake up and the shadow is still perfect. Tube lasts FOREVER, only need a little tube to do the job. WAYYYY better than UDPP :)


on 12/2/2010 8:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this product. I'll never use another. I prefer this over UDPP. The packaging is perfect, you can squeeze every drop of product out so theres no wasting. This is definitely my staple that I can not do without.


on 12/2/2010 8:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Not sure how I lived without this. I can sleep on my makeup and it still looks awesome (and sometimes even better after a nice smoosh/sleep blending) because of this stuff! I've tried other eye primers but this one is the diamond. If I had to recommend a friend to buy only one of my fav. makeup items this would be the mandatory first!


on 11/30/2010 6:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I learned to love this through trial and error. The first sample I got a long time ago I didn't like because it didn't really work for me. I found it to be too oily and it creased. I just gave up on it and moved on. Then a few months ago I got a another sample, tried it again, and was puzzled as to why I didn't like it the first time. Now that I've read a couple of reviews here, I realized that the first primer got separated which is why it didn't work for me. All I needed to do is shake it a little. Since I started using the new one a few months ago it hasn't creased on me yet even after 12 hrs. For reference, MAC's paint pots start creasing on me after 6 hrs. Also, the application and blending of eye shadows is smoother than paint pots. I love the packaging too. I can't wait to purchase this in full size! The little one is quite a generous sample.


on 11/27/2010 2:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

TFSI > UDPP if you have normal to dry lids. I've went through two tubes of UDPP before I got fed up with that awful, wasteful packaging. The texture was also harder to spread on my lids evenly, and made shadows so hard to blend (especially mattes). With continued use, it made my lids flake.

I've been a TFSI convert for a while now, I'm nearly done with the tube. It has a creamier texture than UDPP so it's much easier to spread evenly. It IS greasier than UDPP but as long as it's mixed well in the tube (since it tends to separate if left alone for a couple days), I don't find it too oily. No problem blending shadows over it either, even without waiting for it to dry. The packaging is also A+, in a sleek, cute hygienic tube with a pointed tip. I only need a tiny dot for each lid. My eye makeup lasts 6+ hours before it begins to fade, but it doesn't crease.

The only con is that it doesn't hold my eye makeup longer than UDPP does (8 hours). I recommend UDPP for oily lids and TFSI for dry.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2010 2:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this product! I found this AFTER I'd been using and tried all of Urban Decay's primer potion colors. I liked UDPP alright, but after 7 hours if would start making my eyeshadow crease. I have no creasing whatsoever and no fading of eyeshadow color whatsover when I use Too Faced Shadow Insurance. I love the packaging because its a squeeze tube so every drop will be used and I like the tube form because it keeps it from drying out (like a flip lid container would) and it isn't stupid packaging like UDPP. I even use this along my lashline on days that I'm just wearing eyeshadow as eyeliner and it is AWESOME. I will be buying this again and again.


on 11/26/2010 9:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I found this product easy to apply and long lasting. The only issue I had was that it took awhile to dry.


on 11/24/2010 6:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love this eyeshadow primer! the packaging and the quality are much better than udpp


Back to Top