Elizabeth Arden • Mariah Carey - 'M' • Fragrances

rated 3.6(171 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* panda0410 on 1/16/2010 11:04:00 PM more reviews by panda0410

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

House is EA. Marshmallow. Gardenia. Amber. Hell yes!!! All 3 are top faves for me and the fact that this settles as a powdery perfume means that this is most definitely a staple perfume for me. All 3 notes listed above are delightfully evident!! I cant pick the "sea breeze accord" ( wth?) but I am in love with this perfume, one of only 3 HG perfumes for me I reach for this very often!! I originally got this in a twin pack with Luscious Pink and I can say that this is the better of the two, and something I keep going back to. This is another warm scent (most of mine are, personal preference) so if you are a warm scent fan then give this one a go. My only grudges are longevity and sillage, both are rather average, I take an atomiser with me when I wear this fragrance. But overall 5 lippies for a perfume that is pure love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hontapocasgreen on 1/13/2010 8:33:00 AM more reviews by hontapocasgreen

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I initially tried this out in Ulta and my first impression that it's sweet (that initial marshmallow note blast). Sweet but not Pink Sugar sweet. I gave it some time to get to the drydown before making my final decision because I didn't know where it was going to go. on me, "M" becomes an ambery incense fragrance with a touch of tiare with hints of the marshamallow and patchouli.

Being the budget-conscious shopper (cheapskate) that I am, I couldn't fathom buying at full price. Actually, by the time I got around to trying it, it was already available at a discount retail stores like TJ Maxx and discount fragrance websites and drugstores. I bought my first bottle at CVS (.5fl oz for 12.99). As far as the packaging, the bottle is cute but I never really give a thought to bottle design as long as the sprayer is easy to use on it (which this is).

When I choose a fragrance, I never give a thought as to who, besides myself, will like how it smells on me. For the most part, I like to wear my fragrances close to my body meaning I don't want to be the sillage monster. I don't want anyone to smell my fragrance before they can see me. This scent isn't too strong but could possibly be over applied. I've received compliments on it hours after I've applied it, so it does have relatively good lasting power. I like this for an everyday, casual scent. I have repurchased as I've almost used up the first bottle in a short amount of time for me (less than 5 mths) considering I have lots of fragrances. Five lippies :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aqua76239 on 12/21/2009 4:01:00 PM more reviews by aqua76239

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I sniffed it in a department store when it came out and immediately dismissed it as "blah". However, after reading the notes which sounded quite intriguing to me, i decided to give it another shot.
Top Notes: Marshmallow, "Sea Breeze" accord.
Middle Notes: Tahitian Tiare, Gardenia.
Base Notes:Amber, Patchouli, Moroccan incense.
Marshmallow, amber, incense? I'm so there! Anyway, shortly after deciding to sniff it again, i stumbled upon a small gift set of it and, at the spur of the moment(yes, that's how i make lot of fragrance purchases, Lord, help me!) i decided to give it a go. Ok, it was only $19 so I feel justified.
My first spritz did not make me fall in love with it by any means. It seemed very blah and generic. Thankfully, that died down in a matter of seconds and lovely sheer scent of amber and incense took over.
Now, i don't smell marshallows at all which is a shame because i was hoping that i would. I finally figured out that weird note in the initial spray was "sea breeze" and tiare which doesn't come through at all after that which is just as well. On my skin, it smells almost exclusively of incense with tiny bit of I lamber. Lasting power is decent. I sprayed tiny spritz 3 hours ago and it still lingers softly on my skin. I would describe it as "sheer oriental" thats very soft and sensual. It lays close to the skin and whispers instead of shouts. I think this would be a nice perfume for a date because its definately sexy but not OTT and you have to lean close to someone to smell it.
I prefer bolder perfumes but I think I will enjoy using my small bottle. Not sure if i will repurchase but only because i have lot of fragrances.
I'm surprised that lot of people thought it was very sweet. I didn't think it was OTT sweet. I think if you wear light florals and fruity frags you mayn't like this but if orientals are your cup of tea, then this maybe a winner. I like the bottle too(contrary to other reviewers i didn't think it looks cheap, i think it looks unusual but i guess it depends what you like)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boombutt on 12/16/2009 4:44:00 AM more reviews by boombutt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

this is yummy. i love the sweet incense note. it is sexy and long lasting. two qualities i love most in a fragrance. the bottle is cute too especially if you like butterflies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 metacognition on 11/9/2009 7:47:00 PM more reviews by metacognition

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, so maybe I'm the odd one out but I really like this perfume. It has a very sweet, marshmallow overtone with a smoky incense / smooth soap scent when it is on my skin and I am the type of person to like really sweet, frivolous scents - I love Paris Hilton's Can Can and Jessica Simpson's Fancy.

I would recommend this if you enjoy sweet scents - toned with a smoky effect. I always feel sexy when I wear this and I think it is unique compared to the other perfumes I've tried. It smells nothing like Fantasy or Vera Wang. Imagine eating a marshmallow coated in powdered sugar near a small incense burner. That's M, and it's actually way sexier than I'm describing it.

I don't get Aquanet hairspray at all, to reference one review. I also don't get generic - smells way different from anything I've tested at the store, including sweet stuff.

And I do get the soap element, but it's a sweet soap and it blends beautifully IMO.

The bottle is also gorgeous.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flirtykiss on 11/4/2009 5:01:00 PM more reviews by flirtykiss

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Move over Dolce&Gabanna... M by Mariah is my new fave!!

This fragrance makes me feel really sexy, confident and feminine, when I wear it. Not to mention all the compliments (from men and women) I get every time I have it on. It's made by Elizabeth Arden - which is great, because it means the perfume classy and expensive smelling. My favorite notes are the roasted marshmallows and seabreeze.

I'm very impressed with Mariah for pulling this off. All the other celeb perfumes smell cheap, but not this one.

Better not get discontinued for whatever reason, or I will be lost!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 m331 on 10/9/2009 6:13:00 PM more reviews by m331

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I adore wearing this fragrance, but the bottle is garish and I feel silly buying a celebrity product. I am willing to overlook these things because it is such a lovely warm scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lightgreen22 on 8/15/2009 10:58:00 PM more reviews by lightgreen22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Wow the first five lippies to any celeb scent but M is a class act yes the package is the tackiest thing this side of Britney Speares Fantasy but the juice it smells like one of my favorites Diptique Tam Dao M is a great sandlewood like TD but where TD has a anamalistic aspect of it M is a creamy dreamy sandlewood softened with white florals although I'm not a fan of white florals it works quite well in this lovely fragrance M does have its faults like every thing else in life it falls apart quite soon and doesn't have as lovely of a sandlewood as TD but it is a very close one to it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jenblossom32 on 8/15/2009 10:47:00 PM more reviews by Jenblossom32

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Cloying white, humid flowers. VERY strong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jetera21 on 8/14/2009 1:31:00 AM more reviews by jetera21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the gift set to this fragrance and returned it immediately. The first time I used it, it was just okay. The more I kept using it, the more nauseous it made me and I'm not sensitive to perfumes at all. The scent was too overbearing and sweet for my taste. I wanted to like it, because the bottle is pretty, but I couldn't take it anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Fragrances products