Elizabeth Arden Mariah Carey - 'M'

3.6

174 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/24/2010 1:31:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

smells soft and soothing
its different



on 1/19/2010 6:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a clean, spicy, peppery, hint of powder and fruit scent.....has an east indian flair to it, I think I saw a description saying it had Moroccian spice in it, thats a good description....decent lasting power....I haven't decided just how much I like it.


on 1/18/2010 11:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

competition for all other brand names smells good fresh and cleaan


on 1/16/2010 11:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

House is EA. Marshmallow. Gardenia. Amber. Hell yes!!! All 3 are top faves for me and the fact that this settles as a powdery perfume means that this is most definitely a staple perfume for me. All 3 notes listed above are delightfully evident!! I cant pick the "sea breeze accord" ( wth?) but I am in love with this perfume, one of only 3 HG perfumes for me I reach for this very often!! I originally got this in a twin pack with Luscious Pink and I can say that this is the better of the two, and something I keep going back to. This is another warm scent (most of mine are, personal preference) so if you are a warm scent fan then give this one a go. My only grudges are longevity and sillage, both are rather average, I take an atomiser with me when I wear this fragrance. But overall 5 lippies for a perfume that is pure love!


Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I initially tried this out in Ulta and my first impression that it's sweet (that initial marshmallow note blast). Sweet but not Pink Sugar sweet. I gave it some time to get to the drydown before making my final decision because I didn't know where it was going to go. on me, "M" becomes an ambery incense fragrance with a touch of tiare with hints of the marshamallow and patchouli.

Being the budget-conscious shopper (cheapskate) that I am, I couldn't fathom buying at full price. Actually, by the time I got around to trying it, it was already available at a discount retail stores like TJ Maxx and discount fragrance websites and drugstores. I bought my first bottle at CVS (.5fl oz for 12.99). As far as the packaging, the bottle is cute but I never really give a thought to bottle design as long as the sprayer is easy to use on it (which this is).

When I choose a fragrance, I never give a thought as to who, besides myself, will like how it smells on me. For the most part, I like to wear my fragrances close to my body meaning I don't want to be the sillage monster. I don't want anyone to smell my fragrance before they can see me. This scent isn't too strong but could possibly be over applied. I've received compliments on it hours after I've applied it, so it does have relatively good lasting power. I like this for an everyday, casual scent. I have repurchased as I've almost used up the first bottle in a short amount of time for me (less than 5 mths) considering I have lots of fragrances. Five lippies :-)


on 12/21/2009 4:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I sniffed it in a department store when it came out and immediately dismissed it as "blah". However, after reading the notes which sounded quite intriguing to me, i decided to give it another shot.
Top Notes: Marshmallow, "Sea Breeze" accord.
Middle Notes: Tahitian Tiare, Gardenia.
Base Notes:Amber, Patchouli, Moroccan incense.
Marshmallow, amber, incense? I'm so there! Anyway, shortly after deciding to sniff it again, i stumbled upon a small gift set of it and, at the spur of the moment(yes, that's how i make lot of fragrance purchases, Lord, help me!) i decided to give it a go. Ok, it was only $19 so I feel justified.
My first spritz did not make me fall in love with it by any means. It seemed very blah and generic. Thankfully, that died down in a matter of seconds and lovely sheer scent of amber and incense took over.
Now, i don't smell marshallows at all which is a shame because i was hoping that i would. I finally figured out that weird note in the initial spray was "sea breeze" and tiare which doesn't come through at all after that which is just as well. On my skin, it smells almost exclusively of incense with tiny bit of I lamber. Lasting power is decent. I sprayed tiny spritz 3 hours ago and it still lingers softly on my skin. I would describe it as "sheer oriental" thats very soft and sensual. It lays close to the skin and whispers instead of shouts. I think this would be a nice perfume for a date because its definately sexy but not OTT and you have to lean close to someone to smell it.
I prefer bolder perfumes but I think I will enjoy using my small bottle. Not sure if i will repurchase but only because i have lot of fragrances.
I'm surprised that lot of people thought it was very sweet. I didn't think it was OTT sweet. I think if you wear light florals and fruity frags you mayn't like this but if orientals are your cup of tea, then this maybe a winner. I like the bottle too(contrary to other reviewers i didn't think it looks cheap, i think it looks unusual but i guess it depends what you like)


on 12/16/2009 4:44:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

this is yummy. i love the sweet incense note. it is sexy and long lasting. two qualities i love most in a fragrance. the bottle is cute too especially if you like butterflies.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok, so maybe I'm the odd one out but I really like this perfume. It has a very sweet, marshmallow overtone with a smoky incense / smooth soap scent when it is on my skin and I am the type of person to like really sweet, frivolous scents - I love Paris Hilton's Can Can and Jessica Simpson's Fancy.

I would recommend this if you enjoy sweet scents - toned with a smoky effect. I always feel sexy when I wear this and I think it is unique compared to the other perfumes I've tried. It smells nothing like Fantasy or Vera Wang. Imagine eating a marshmallow coated in powdered sugar near a small incense burner. That's M, and it's actually way sexier than I'm describing it.

I don't get Aquanet hairspray at all, to reference one review. I also don't get generic - smells way different from anything I've tested at the store, including sweet stuff.

And I do get the soap element, but it's a sweet soap and it blends beautifully IMO.

The bottle is also gorgeous.




on 11/4/2009 5:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Move over Dolce&Gabanna... M by Mariah is my new fave!!

This fragrance makes me feel really sexy, confident and feminine, when I wear it. Not to mention all the compliments (from men and women) I get every time I have it on. It's made by Elizabeth Arden - which is great, because it means the perfume classy and expensive smelling. My favorite notes are the roasted marshmallows and seabreeze.

I'm very impressed with Mariah for pulling this off. All the other celeb perfumes smell cheap, but not this one.

Better not get discontinued for whatever reason, or I will be lost!


on 10/9/2009 6:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I adore wearing this fragrance, but the bottle is garish and I feel silly buying a celebrity product. I am willing to overlook these things because it is such a lovely warm scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1375 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1887 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews
Back to Top