Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2086 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 ElectricBlack on 2/4/2014 6:59:00 PM more reviews by ElectricBlack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this to give it a try. The lady in Sephora recommended the 153 Shade and since their lighting is horrendous in there... I was slightly convinced to buying it. Give it a few days of wear and my mum laughed at me stating that it looked like my face is covered in 'mud'. I looked at it some more (I usually do my makeup in front of the window for more natural and accurate lighting)... and I was just mortified. It was definitely darker than my own skin tone. I finally got my match with Shade 123 and it looked perfect with natural light plus the foundation can be sheered down to a natural finish. Its a great match under natural light but under Flash Photo it has was slightly lighter than my neck but it wasnt to bad... there wasnt any flashback. It has NO oil control at all so be weary and find a nice powder to touch up your T Zone. It lasts a good 6+ hohrs on my skin and I dont normally like touching up my liquid foundation. I use this on a daily basis on my 12H shifts and it does just fine. I used to use Benefit Hello Oxygen and it was the exact same quality... sheer, buildable, great with photos, and no oil control. I dont regret buying it though since I really want a base that does not look like makeup. I will continue using it until I find the next best thing. My MUST HAVES with foundations: 1. Flash Photo Friendly 2. Looks like skin/Undetectable 3. Oil Control 4. Long Lasting 5. Close to a Perfect Match with my own skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MakeUp_0507 on 2/3/2014 1:32:00 AM more reviews by MakeUp_0507

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin so this foundation didn't last long on me. I think it should be used for people with dry and/ or normal skin. I don't recommend it for those with oily or combo skin. It has light to medium coverage. If you use it with setting powder than it may last longer. It leaves my skin with a dewy finish but it is just not for me because I have a oily t-zone and the dewy finish, made my skin look even oilier, even with setting powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CamillesNails on 1/30/2014 9:44:00 AM more reviews by CamillesNails

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It does wonders on my combination to oily skin. It's super lightweight so it just feels like a second skin. It has a mattifying effect that will give you a velvety finish that won't wash you out nor end up by being cakey. It's staying power on me it's pretty amazing and I also wear my hd primer underneath and my make up stays super flawless from 9am to 9pm.

My colour is 117/ marble and I must say that the first time I tested it it was on a sephora counter and firstly it looked amazing but two hours after I bought it, the foundation oxidised on me and the ended up by being two shades darker. Of course I freaked out but it never happened again because I apply it wrist after I cleanse my face deeply and moisturize. If this foundation mixes with your natural oils it will probably end up by oxidising so be careful with that!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Anahata66 on 1/29/2014 10:41:00 AM more reviews by Anahata66

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this foundation. Tried it here and there for months. Everytime I used it, my face ended up an oily mess. I was talking on my phone once and when I hung up I looked at it and there was a huge smeared smudge from this makeup. I've never been one to use "too much" product, I don't like that look. Even after applying in small amounts, it just didn't work for me. I know some rave about this. If this worked great for you...that's awesome. Sadly, I wont be buying again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3110hello on 1/27/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by 3110hello

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Most love this foundation but frankly it seems to cause my relatively dry completion some issues. I have purchased this more than once, thinking it would work on me THIS TIME - but each go around I find that within three to four hours on my face, I feel oily patches through my t zone - something that never happens with my Lancome 24 hour or Nars' Sheer Glow foundations. So, this foundation remains problematic for MY skin and I cannot recommend it. I especially would not recommend it to anyone who has any breakout or similar issues.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 futurestrength on 1/27/2014 5:45:00 PM more reviews by futurestrength

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

As an NC15 girl, they don't offer shades light enough for me. I have the 110, and it's very pink (as described) but is also significantly darker than my Mac/Nars(Siberia) shades. There is a 107 shade however it is never carried instore or online. It's medium coverage but capable of being built to full. If I had a perfect tone match then I would probably like it, but I don't. I can't see myself re-buying just due to the colour issues, but if it matched I may. 50$CAD for a foundation is kind of a stretch.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/25/2014 6:00:00 PM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm 34, with dry, sensitive skin. The main things I look for in a foundation are: it needs to be oil free, not break me out, medium coverage, and to not draw attention to dry spots and fine lines. This is my perfect foundation! I use shade 115, and it matches me perfectly. It gives a really nice satin finish, you don't need very much, and when used with a primer it lasts all day. It makes me look my best in person, in photographs, on video, and especially under harsh light! I will never go back to another foundation again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 clairerenee on 1/18/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by clairerenee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Just got this a couple weeks ago. It is absolutely sublime. Texture, pigmentation and ease of blending....awesome. It is difficult for me to find foundation shade that is pale enough for me but not pink or peach.....I have strong yellow undertone and 117 matches beautifully.

I can see that oily skin would not take to this foundation. My nose is a bit oily and I use NYX Pore Filler prior to applying foundation and it is helpful.

I think that this foundation would be a slamdunk for mature skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Andreasylvester on 1/17/2014 10:18:00 PM more reviews by Andreasylvester

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this foundation this past week. I have moderately oily skin and that's why I was on the look out for a new foundation. I was previously using revlon color stay which is an overall great foundation but I found that I was still too oily even with a primer. First of all, let me say that I used this foundation for the first with the smash box photo finish light primer. I can honestly say I have never been so oily in my entire life. After only three hours I was completely drenched in oil and the makeup was coming off my face when I touched it. At first I thought it was because of the primer so the next day I wore the foundation on its own. I still became unbelievably oily after three hours. The finish once you first put it on your skin is matte which is what I was looking for and I would say that this is medium coverage but definitely builds me. I also thought that it took quite a bit of it to cover my entire face. Overall I do not think this is for someone with oily skin. I looked more oily than I did in the summer with a tinted moisturizer which I just do not understand how that is possible. I'm not nearly as oily in the winter so to see that happen was definitely a disappointment. I will be returning both the primer and foundation. This is definitely not for people with oily skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GacktCamui on 1/17/2014 5:53:00 PM more reviews by GacktCamui

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite foundation for events where I know my face is going to end up on camera whether I like it or not. The coverage is medium and buildable to full. It does a fantastic job of blurring out lines and imperfections. My acne scars are practically invisible with this on. It doesn't have SPF so it's VERY flash-friendly. It's the only foundation I can count on to not get that dreaded ghost-face.

While I love the photographic results of this foundation, I don't love it for my very oily skin. It doesn't get cakey, but it's very slippery feeling and I get shiny very quickly. I apply it with a buffing brush (Sigma F80, Real Techniques buffing brush, or Real Techniques expert face brush) and always set with some type of powder. It's not a foundation that I would wear on a daily basis.

It does sort of blank out your face after application. It's not matte by any means; it leaves a satiny finish. But you lose a lot of the definition from various shadows and discolorations that are naturally in your face so I always do the whole make-up shebang with blush, contour, bronzer, and highlight. Not that I wouldn't anyway since I use this for events -- a heavier hand with make up stands out much better on camera.

It's rather pricey, I believe at $42, but there's a great shade range. I use shade 120, which is a very good match for my very yellow NC25 skin. The packaging is perfect since it comes in a clear bottle with a pump and cap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products