Revlon ColorStay Liquid Liner

4.0

787 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Water, Propylene Glycol, Triethanolamine, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract. Tocopheryl Acetate. Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Oleyl Alcohol, TEA-Stearate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Cellulose, Hectorite, Glyceryl Stearate. Xanthan Gum, Isopropylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben. May contian : Ultramarines, Iron Oxides, Titnaium Dioxide, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Mica, Chromium Oxide Greens, Bismuth Oxychloride, CArmine, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Manganese Violet.


on 7/12/2013 1:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really have nothing against this eyeliner. It's just not different than anything that I ever used. I have a liquid eyeliner that I spent literally a DOLLAR on and I like it better than this stuff. The formula on those two are the same, the look when drying is the same ( matte ).. The only things that aren't the same is the packaging and the brush.. I do NOT like the brush on this eyeliner. Like, at all. It's too wide for me to attempt to wing with it.The wing ends up being too wide and big-like ( if that makes sense ). Also, the brush is extremely stiff. That also takes part in me ruining my wing. Since its so stiff it doesn't really work with me when I try I wing it, ruining it. I can't make any curves or turns when I use this. The brush on my current liquid eyeliner is way more flexible than this which makes it easier to use. Overall, I will stick to what I'm using now.. They're no different formula wise I just didn't like this eyeliner's packaging. Nothing extraordinary about this stuff.



on 7/9/2013 11:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I rarely use liquid liner because im terrible at it and i just dont like wearing a lot of makeup, but this eyeliner is definitely the best liquid liner ive ever used. it is so easy to apply! the only con is its not very pigmented and wears off after a while, but since its sooo easy to apply i give it 4 stars out of 5

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2013 5:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

So looking at many online lists of the best affordable eyeliners, I came across the colorstay liquid eyeliner. It was the cheapest liquid eyeliner listed, and it had very good reviews saying that it was easy to apply and the pigment was strong.

Well. The pigment was not strong AT ALL. I love a black black blackest black liquid eyeliner and once I applied it on my eye, the more i tried to extend the line, the color would start to thin out. I had to apply multiple layers of liner to get the color I wanted. It just looked watery.

It was, however, easy to use. It has a felt tip instead of a brush, and I just had to sweep it in one go to get the shape right.

The finish was a nice matte and I liked this.

Overall I wouldn't buy this product again due to the crappy pigment, but in terms of application, it was easy on my hands.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/1/2013 3:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like how this liner lasts but most of all, I like how dark the black is. I hate when I buy a liner and it isn't super black, and this is. I like the applicator but I kind of wish that the tip was just a little bit thinner so that I could make thinner lines. I have to try pretty hard to get that perfect thin line on my inner eyes. But other than that, it's great and I will be buying again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/29/2013 12:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i bought this after reading reviews here and on other websites but for me it is one of the worst liner i ever spent money on!the tip is okay,packaging is fine though ive bought some other liners for less..my main issue is that the solution dries out and fades away after 3-4 hours..ive actually decided to not use liquid eyeliners anymore!!i used loreal,rimmel and palladio's eye liners and they were amazing..would stick to them in future if i ever decide to buy one again


on 6/28/2013 10:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The similar design to Rimmel exaggerate is what drew me initially to this eyeliner as it has the same chubby plastic-like nib (I did feel, however, that the nib compared to Rimmel was much more scratchy and hard upon application). Application was smooth and easy, and the staying power was impressive, staying deep black all day! Hurrah! Yet, I was saddened to find that it smelt slightly reminiscent of permanent marker pens and made my eyes sting. This is just a personal issue so please don't be dissuaded from purchasing.

Pros:
Great staying power
Easy to apply (recommended for liquid eyeliner newbies)
No colour fade throughout the day

Cons:
Weird chemically smell...
Slightly stingy eyes


I am going to try this eyeliner again soon, so I shall update my review when I do so:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2013 2:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG liquid liner. It has everything you could want!

Pros: intense, affordable, long wear, no smudge, even lasts on waterline
Cons: sometimes hard to apply

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2013 3:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I kept having a problem with my MAC fluid line drying out, or getting smeared by the end of the day, and after searching reviews I decided to try this product. It took a bit of getting used to, but the applicator made it really easy to learn how to use liquid eyeliner. For the first few weeks I was absolutely in love with it. It literally lasted all day and would not smudge whatsoever, a huge improvement over gel liners for me. However, now it's gotten really... watery? And I don't know why. I can't wear it without eyeshadow underneath because it just doesn't apply well anymore. It doesn't seem to be close to empty either. If I line my eye it's not a black line anymore, just patchy and runny. And if I go over the spots where I missed, it just removes more liner than it puts on. But with eyeshadow underneath, it's fine. So while it was great at first, I'm not going to re-purchase.


on 6/16/2013 3:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Green

I am an eye-liner fiend. I bought this at the grocery store on sale "just because" .... i have roughly 9 others in rotation. I have no issues with using liquid and yet i hated this. The tip is fine and the formula is ok though it didnt wear that long considering its from the Revlon color stay line. I found it hard to make the line i want and make the eyes match with this, something about the amount of control with it. I much prefer the pen style liquid liners for ease of use. They make getting a sleek line or making a fatter/thinner line with more control easier so im really just not a fan of this design. Id return this if i could but wont bother.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2013 2:28:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

at first, when i bought this liner, i was kinda whatever about it, but it's really grown on me in the past few weeks, and i've noticed i've been reaching for this liner the most!
i like the formula, and it stays 'black' longer than other liquid or pen liners i've tried.
in my opinion, a lot of liquid liners and pen liners fade to grey and don't have a sharp, black, pigmented look anymore, and this one lasts longer than most, pigmentation-wise!
i also like the applicator, because it hasn't feathered or gotten worn out, and it lets me do a wide range of line thicknesses!
there isn't a lot of product for the price, however, and i'm not totally blown away, but it's a good buy!

UPDATE 8/02/13:
i've had this eyeliner for about three months now, and it doesn't seem to be running out of product in the slightest! i use it everyday and i like a thick liner look, too. i really recommend this product!


Back to Top