Laura Mercier Tightline Cake Eye Liner in Bleu Marine

4.6

90 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS: Talc, Propylene Glycol, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Alcohol Denat., VP/VA Copolymer, Polyethylene, Magnesium Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Alumina, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Tocopherol. May Contain ( /-): CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 7799 (Iron Oxides), CI 77742 (Manganese Violet), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide). OLD INGREDIENTS: Talc, Propylene Glycol, PVP/PA Copolymer, DEA-C8-18 Perfluoroalkylethyl Phosphate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Polyethylene, Magnesium Myristate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Zinc Stearate, Mineral Oil, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Iron Oxides (CI 77491). May contain: Ultramarines (CI 77007), Carmine (CI 75470), Manganese Violet (CI 77742).


on 11/29/2008 11:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is my HG eyeliner. I first bought this 6 years ago before my wedding and have bought it only a couple times since. But each time, I wonder why I don't buy it more - probably because it's $20. But I LOVE this eyeliner. Easy to apply (after instruction) and it stays on all day with no smearing.



on 10/18/2008 11:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

UPDATE: ok, so I spoke too soon and rated this a 2, but I love it now. I use the urban decay primer w/ this, and the racoon eyes are less of an issue. The color looks beautiful w/ my blue green eyes.

although the color is pretty, this didn't last and it made me look like i had racoon eyes. there are a bunch of long-wearing blue eyeliners that make my eyes pop just like this but they actually last.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2008 8:52:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm a big fan of eyeliner and thought this looked like a gorgeous blue. Unfortunately, I couldn't get it to show up and stay very well. I tried it dry, wet with water, wet with Visine, but nothing seemed to work. I have to say I was very disappointed with this product. I just couldn't get the rich color payoff that I was looking for -- especially for a high end product. This ended up in the garbage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2008 4:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The best eyeliner I've used. I use one drop of Visine into the pot and swirl with my brush. At this point, I use Essence of Beauty synthetic eyeliner brush for tightlining. This process reminds me of watercolor painting when I was a child, but the effect is quite stunning. I had no idea eyeliner made such a difference with this product! I have used pencil eyeliners in the past, but this is much easier for me, and the color stays all day. The color is a gorgeous dark blue, but it looks like a softer shade of black. If I need to correct, I dab a q-tip in water and smudge the line away.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have this eyeliner in Blue Marine and Black Ebony. I have little asian eyes and whenever I open my eyes, the liner will smudge onto my lid unless even when I use waterproof liner. But LM's eyeliner stays on all day and doesn't move. I apply it with MAC's pointed eyeliner brush so I can get in between my lashes and can draw as thin or thick a line as I want. It does kind of smudge when I apply on my lower lashes, but to make it stick I use Benefit's She Laq or I'll use Chanel's stylo yeux waterproof eyeliner pencil (also another great eyeliner). I will definitely buy LM's eyeliner again.

Update: The eyeliner isn't as intense as some waterproof/gel liners and doesn't stay well on my water line, but it works well on my lids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The Laura Mercier SA recommended I try this product. For reference, I am an Asian MAC NC 25-30 with black hair and dark brown eyes. I have always used black eyeliner (when I bothered using eyeliner). This was my first foray into a cake liner and I was very pleasantly surprised.


The real reason I'm giving this product 5 lippies is because of the color. I can not believe how much better the bleu marine (dark navy blue) eyeliner looks compared to your basic black. This made my dark brown eyes absolutely pop. If you are considering this eyeliner, and can try it before buying, you will see the difference. Have the SA do one eye in bleu marine and the other in black (or your usual color)!


The downside to this product is the fact you will need to invest in a quality brush to apply. Without the proper fine line brush, don't bother buying the eyeliner. It is that important. It may take awhile to get used to lining your eyes with a thin brush, and experimenting with the proper amount of water to add to the cake liner. It will, however, be worth it. The good news is this lasts a long time.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2008 2:44:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Oh how I love this liner. Forget black, dark blue is the trick to bright eyes. I have found my perfect eyeliner.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm already on my second one. Yes it takes more time to prep and apply than a gel or stick liner but its so worth it. It stays all day and the color is gorgeous. Plus it gives a very natural look that somehow still makes my eyes look wider and brighter. I change my eyeshadows quite a bit, but for the past year I've stayed with this liner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2008 6:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have dark brown eyes and would typically use a black liner. I LOVE this color. It is amazing how the deep blue looks so much better than black. It is not as harsh looking and still makes eyes pop. The key to this eyeliner is the application - the right brush is absolutely required.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/26/2007 10:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had been dying to try this product for ages. I have tried just about every eyeliner out there. Pencils smeared, I can't seem to master getting liquid to look right. I have the Bobbi Brown gel which I love, but I have the dark black color. I needed something a little more subtle for day. Browns tend to make my brown eyes and olive skin look drab, so I went for this blue after reading the reviews here.

I have very large eyes, so tightlining is a bit of a waste on me, I just put this on like regular eyeliner. I love that you can build the color up. I tend to be a messy eyeliner-apply-er (always pressed for time with kids). This made it impossible to wear liquid, and I had to keep a tissue handy when trying to apply the gel. The cake liner is practically goof-proof. Even if I am paying no attention to what I am doing, the application is natural, softly smoky and beautiful.

I do notice I need to build the color up a bit to get the definition I want, but that may be just because I am used to jet black gel.

This is an AMAZING liner, a beautiful color for brown eyes. It is very easy to do a smoky look using only this product, or you can make it look natural just as an everyday liner. Highly recommended.

*EDIT - I am taking off one lippie only because it takes so long for me to get the look I want. I can do my eyes much quicker with a gel liner and that lasts all day as well. This is still a beautiful color and great product, but I am saving it for nights out - not fast enough for me to wear everyday.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top