Maybelline Color Sensational High Shine Lip Gloss

4.2

37 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Polyisobutene, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Hydrogenated Styrene/Methyl Styrene/Indene Copolymer, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Hydrogenated Castor Oil Isostearate, Hydrogenated Styrene/Butadiene Copolymer, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Isopropyl Isostearate, Pentylene Glycol, Caprylyl Glycol, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Parfum/Fragrance, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Alumina, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Citral, Aluminum Hydroxide, Mel/Honey/Miel, Acrylates Copolymer, Limonene, Tin Oxide, Dimethicone, Nelumbium Speciosum Extract/Nelumbium Speciosum Flower Extract, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 45410/Red 28 Lake, CI 15850/Red 7, CI 45380/Red 22 Lake, CI 15985/Yellow 6 Lake, CI 19140/Yellow 5 Lake, CI 42090/Blue 1 Lake, CI 75470/Carmine.


on 11/5/2012 9:28:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am very impressed with Maybelline's Color Sensational Gloss for two reasons. This gloss has a great texture. It feels creamy and not in the least bit sticky. More importantly, it has staying power. It's not like those other long-wear lip glosses that require you to use a very-drying liquid followed by a lip balm. I never liked Cover Girl's Outlast lip product or Revlon's. This one wears on and on. I wore this a week ago when I went out to breakfast with friends. I was accused of reapplying my lip product after my meal. No, I said, "Maybe it's Maybelline." Few glosses I've tried last through a meal. This one passed the test. The color selection is OK. I just wish they offered an opaque pale pink. "Glisten Up Pink" has a far too frosty, circa 1970s finish for my taste. I would still rate this product as the best the drugstore has to offer with regard to lip gloss. Better than Revlon's Superlustrous, or Colorburst, better than Rimmel's. Give these a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 11/1/2012 10:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

let me preface this review by saying that lipgloss is the one thing that I'm not totally in love with. it's one of those products that I purchase even though I don't really get around to wearing it, I'm more of a lipstick gal.

But I saw several YT vids on this product and they looked very pigmented, so I gave it a go. I have the raspberry shade that looks very purple in the tube, but ends up being quite hot pink on my lips.

The formula is extremely comfortable and not too sticky or to slick. I hate when lipgloss 'travels' and this one definitely does not do that. Stays put for a very long time and even leaves behind a bit of a stain.

Doesn't dry out my lips or accentuate liplines when it fades away.

The packaging is sleek and quite "HE" for a DS brand. I like that it is simple and doesn't have any tacky writing on the actual tube.

Color selection is OK, just wish there were more creme finish shades. Will definitely repurchase in a few more colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2012 3:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Just bought 2 of these in Mirrored Mauve and Gleaming Grenadine. I quite like these. Nice light fruity scent, not sticky, feels nice on the lips. Mirrored Mauve is definitly more pigmented and more like a liquid lipstick. Nice nude without making me look dead. Gleaming Grenadine is more like a gloss and less pigmented/opaque. Looks quite red in the tube but more sheer corally red on my lips. Both show verly small amount of sparkle/glitter in the tube but not really on the lips.


on 10/20/2012 2:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I Love these glosses by far some of the best glosses released in a long time. They are not sticky they are very pigmented. The best thing is when the line was released they did not offer just 2 colors they released a bunch of colors. I love these OMG!!!!! If you are looking for some I have a couple for swap.

Colors I Love

Captivating Coral
Electric Shock
Raspberry Reflections
Iced Chocolate


on 10/8/2012 4:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am so impressed with this gloss. I have Plum Lustre, which is bright, rosy color with a little shimmer that looks kind of fushia on my lightly pigmented lips, rather than plum. I am amazed at the opaque, pigmented color and the creaminess and the long wear without being sticky. I really consider this a liquid lipstick rather than a gloss, although it is nice and shiny. Boy, this gloss lasts a long time on the lips. I'm wearing it today. I put it on a 7 am and got to work at 9 am and ate a toasted buttered bagel and when I was finished eating, most of the color was still there. If not eating, it lasts for hours. When it wears off, it leaves a nice stain. I'm going back to CVS for more colors!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/5/2012 4:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got these lipglosses in several colors! They are soft on the application,non-sticky,they go well over a lipstick,they last fairly long! Electric shock:a bright pink.Raspberry reflections:a bright magenta.Plum luster:a shimmery dark plum-red.One shine day:a dark shimmery pink-peach.Glisten up pink:a pale shimmmery peach.Luminous latte:a shiny pale caramel.Mirrored mauve:a dark mauve.Iced chocolate:a medium nude with silver shimmers. Verry nice selection of colors! Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2012 6:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Selected shades: almond crush (sheer shimmery pink), captivating coral (orange), glisten up pink (shimmery baby pink), electric shock (barbie/bubble gum, pink), one shine day (rosy pink), raspberry reflections (fuchsia plum)

Pros

- pigmented
- not sticky
- long wearing
- applicator

Cons

- none

Comments: I'm so glad they revamped this line, rather than discontinue it. The formula is the same as the original - creamy and not sticky (with a fruity scent). I have always found these comparable to Revlon Super Lustrous glosses, only with a thinner consistency. The shade range and pigmentation has definitely improved. The applicator is now slanted and picks up more product for easy distribution. I also think the packaging looks really nice.

Will repurchase.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top