Maybelline • Great Lash Lots of Lashes • Mascara

rated 3.5(336 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 stargirl87 on 10/12/2011 1:51:00 AM more reviews by stargirl87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i really liked it! i was a little hesitant at first because the old version was pretty wet and didn't hold a curl to save its life but i think they've improved A LOT! and the wand is sooo tiny but flared and it just really grabs my lashes and i swear on anything that you can actually SEE my lashes and their not all clumped together! i'm not sure you can go past two coats bc it might clump on you but i didn't need that much to get what i wanted. and i mean 4 bucks at walmart you can't beat that!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 greenbird on 10/11/2011 3:15:00 PM more reviews by greenbird

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I hated every Maybelline Great Lash I tried, until this mascara. In every magazine, Maybelline Great Lash wins "Best of Beauty Awards." Supermodels, beauty editors, and famous movie stars talk about how it's the greatest mascara in the world. I kept buying it again-in different forms. Regular, curved brush, the color Royal Blue, the limited edition Teal, waterproof, Blackest Black, and Great Lash big. I literally tried Great Lash at least 7 times.

Every time I bought it-it would suck. The formula was running, thin, too wet-would smear & smudge. It would do very little lengthening or thickening. All it seemed to do was darken my lashes. I have short, sparse, stick straight Asian lashes. The hair on my head is thick and long-my eyelashes are awful. I need a dramatic mascara, I am not blessed with long thick lashes that only need to be darkened. The brush was tiny, and would clump the lashes I had together so it looked like I had 5 spikey lashes together. It was awful.

But marketing, the cheap price, the rave reviews in magazines and by celebrities, and the cute packaging (it's hard to miss a pink and bright green iconic tube), the #1 mascara in America hype-it's said that a person buys Great Lash every 1.7 seconds or something kept me coming back.

So why did I got for one last try? Well, I am a mascara junkie and I give everything a try. Cover Girl Lash Blast, Maybelline Colossal, Maybelline Full N' Soft, Maybelline Falsies, Revlon mascaras (they tend to suck-though Revlon does great lipsticks), Loreal Voluminous, Loreal Double Extend and Beauty Tubes, Loreal Collagen mascara, Prestige My Biggest Lashes, my beloved Max Factor mascaras that discontinued (2000 Calorie and Volume Couture were awesome!), Rimmel mascaras (Sexy Curves, Lash Accelerator, Glam Eyes), Almay One Coat, and expensive mascaras: Dior Show, Lancome Deficinils, Lancome Hypnose. I don't think this list is complete-and though I have tried bad and good mascaras-

I went for one more last try with Maybelline Great Lash. Partially because it was on sale, and I read a good review on "Clumps of Mascara" (the largest mascara blog on the internet, or one of the largest) and on MUA.

This mascara is not the best I tried-but for its regular prices (around $5.00)-

it lengthened my lashes considerably, it didn't smudge at all, I can reach all the tiny lashes on the inner corners, the wand is small so it's easy to manipulate and not get on my lid (a problem with huge wands was that even if they gave me volume, they were messy and smeared on my smaller Asian eyelids), and I get some volume. The color is extremely black (I bought the darkest shade), and my lashes stay curled (a huge problem with my stick straight Asian lashes-I even tried heated lash curlers to help). It's more about lengthening, long wear, a very black color, and curl than about volume for me. When I want more volume, I layer a voluming mascara like the Falsies over it.

It's what Great Lash should have been-rather than a legendary marketing hype from beauty editors who are paid for advertising, and movie stars/models who may be using them on false lashes for film, or women who have long, thick lashes to begin with.

Buy this. The rest of Maybelline Great Lash sucks. Okay, the royal blue gives you a cheap way to have blue eyelashes. That's about it. The waterproof can't be removed, and the regular Great Lash is quite possibly the worst mascara I tried. The Lots of Lashes is a big improvement. It's not the best mascara in the world-but it's a huge improvement and delivers beautifully fanned out, curled, longer, and slightly thickened lashes that won't smear or smudge. And I am a girl who always buys waterproof-the regular didn't smudge in heat and humidity.

I will keep buying this. Even at regular price, it's a steal. It can be layered over other mascaras, and it gives you the iconic Great Lash with actual results. About time. 40 years of women buying crap, being sold inky black water with a small, horrible brush. Some things need a makeover, and this mascara is not only cute (heart shaped brush!) but actually delivers.

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 10/8/2011 6:18:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Maybelline's Great Lash: Lots of Lashes (LOL) is the newest reformulation of the classic mascara; Great Lash. I got my tube from Ulta for $4.99, but after a $5 off coupon, it ended up being free!
I purchased LOL because I was curious, due to all the hype. Also because I'm a big fan of Maybelline mascara, but have mixed feelings about the Great Lash line. The Original Great Lash was my first mascara. It was ok. I later moved on to the Great Lash with the curved brush, which was my go-to mascara for years, until One By One came into the picture.
Great Lash LOL is packaged pretty much the same as the original Great Lash. Hot pink tube, lime green cap. Very appealing. I also think the name of the product is cute, and probably appeals to teenage girls.
The brush, or "Great Little Grabber" as Maybelline calls it is a rubber brush that's supposed to be heart shaped, but I would call it conical. The widest part is at the base and it tapers in from there, into a rounded tip. The shape of the wand is designed to give maximum lift to the lashes in the outer corner. Which it does. My problem is applying it to my left eye. I don't really like to flip my wrist around to apply my mascara, so I end up applying it with my left hand, which turns out ok, but not as perfect as my right eye turns out.
I get awesome lift from this mascara, particularly in the outer corner. It lengthens well, thickens slightly, and keeps my lashes separated by looking full. It pretty much does everything you can ask of a mascara.
I find this mascara a little bit inconsistent, but it might be my lashes. This mascara looks great, every other time I wear it. The times in between it still looks good, but not quite fabulous. Its a little bit annoying, but like I said, it could be my lashes' fault. They're a little inconsistent themselves.
As with all Maybelline mascaras, I experience no flaking or smudging, even on my bottom lashes. I get all day wear. The formula is pretty water-resistant without being waterproof. But it still removes easily with warm water and a bit of makeup remover.
I feel this is a two-coat mascara. The first coat looks good. Natural, with a little bit of extra lift. However the second coat is what really does it. It really separates your lashes and gives really nice length.
This mascara gives me a serious case of Itchy Lashes. After about 6 hours of wear I get an itchiness at the base of my lashes that makes me want to rub my eyes and take my makeup off. I have this problem with a lot of mascaras, including Covergirl Lash Blast Volume and Maybelline's The Colossal Volume Express. I'm not sure what does it, if its the type of formula, or an ingredient. I should probably investigate that further in another post.
I recommend this mascara if you're looking for a lot of lift, with a bonus of length and separation. I also recommend this mascara if you're not a Great Lash lover. This might just make a believer out of you. And for $5 or less, it really can't hurt to try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CuppycakeLover on 10/8/2011 3:04:00 AM more reviews by CuppycakeLover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this one except for the fact that you have to change your hands when you do a different eye.I mean one is perfect the other one is clumpy. But it gives good volume and length and good for an everyday look : )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thejewelryjunkie on 10/8/2011 2:29:00 AM more reviews by thejewelryjunkie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'd been in need of a new mascara for a while, and was scraping the last bits of my Clinique's Long Pretty Lashes (rip!) and I saw Lots of Lashes on display at my local Walgreens. The first thing I do is check out the reviews on MUA haha.

I was impressed by the general positive response so I decided to give it a whirl, in the blackest black. The first thing I really enjoy is the brush. The cone-like shape helps to pick up the tiny lashes in your inner corners, and took my lashes to pretty impressive heights. I really dig the formula, it's slick but not too wet, and the color is perfect. I also was able to get a nice curl, even without using a curling iron.

I'm not the kind of girl who does a day vs. night mascara.. I want big, pretty lashes all the time! I think that this product can definitely do that if applied properly. The price is great, I scored it for around $5, and I love the pretty pink & green "iconic" packaging. For those of you who were "meh" on the original Great Lash, give this formula a try. I think Maybelline is really stepping up their game in terms of quality, so I'm hoping that this is mascara is here to stay.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sheridingdong on 10/6/2011 12:04:00 PM more reviews by sheridingdong

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am so surprised that I love this mascara so much. I've tried Tarte's LCL, Maybelline: full definition, falsies, colossal, stiletto, L'oreal: Voluminous, Million lashes, telescopic.. you get the point. None have ever satisfied me like this one does. This makes my lashes super black, it lengthens a lot, defines every lash, and I love how small the brush is. It makes it so easy to maneuver and get every single lash. It doesn't flake or smudge during the day and it comes off very easily. Could this possibly be my HG.. never thought I'd see the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 10/6/2011 12:46:00 AM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried the original Great Lash years ago, and it was one of the worst mascaras I had ever used. However, after reading the MUA reviews, I decided to try again with the new brush. I was very pleased with the results and did not find the arrow-shaped brush awkward to handle. In fact, I liked the way the narrow end captured the sparse outer corner lashes and the wide part worked well for the full upper lashes. The Blackest Black shade is very black, indeed. It removed as easily as most non-waterproof mascaras and did not flake or smudge. It did not leave my lashes stiff as did another new find: N.Y.C. High Definition (which I also liked a lot). Now, I plan to experiment with layering these two new (to me) mascaras with my old favorite Maybelline Full 'n Soft. Will update. EDIT: After using the product for a while I noticed it was flaking more and more. Mascaras vary a lot in how the tube contents hold up to repeated exposure to air; this one is not doing too well in that aspect so I deducted a lippie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alyssareinhart on 10/5/2011 1:53:00 PM more reviews by alyssareinhart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Violet    

Love this mascara! It has long plastic bristles that are like a brush, they comb through my eyelashes. Wayy better than my expectations, makes my lashes bold and as if i am wearing falsh lashes. Completely different from original great lash mascara, it holds my vurl and give dramatic length. try this mascara you will not be disappointed! i have tried all different mascaras (lancome, mac, clinique, benefit, etc) and this is the BEST mascara ever for an amazing price. Need only 1 coat to give crazy amazing eyelashes! BUY THIS ASAP!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kendraalorenn16 on 10/5/2011 12:24:00 PM more reviews by kendraalorenn16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Personally, I love this mascara! First of all, for under 5 dollars? How can you go wrong. I'm not a big fan of the original "Great Lash" mascara, however the Great Lash "Lot's of Lashes" is fantastic. I'm used to using higher end brands, but decided to give this a try after spotting this in a isle at Ulta. The cone shaped brush is really interesting, and it's really small so it really does grab onto every lash. I found this to be more of a defining and lengthening mascara rather than thickening. Also, the signature pink and green tube is adorable. The only thing I don't like is, it takes a while for it to dry. Other than that I love it and recommend this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hotnerd on 10/4/2011 9:03:00 PM more reviews by hotnerd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ugh, I hate this stuff. It is a big clump goo mess on my lashes. I have to use another mascara brush after to even it all out. I hate to just throw it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products