Paul Mitchell • Freeze and Shine Spray • Styling Products

rated 4.1(64 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabiinchicago on 10/14/2007 2:34:00 PM more reviews by gabiinchicago

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff. If you're looking for a moderate hold, even in humidity, you'll like this spray. It doesn't feel stiff, but it holds a curl or style. I also like that it adds a sheen. Finally, the subtle watermelon scent is great, if you like that. It does fade quickly, but reactivates in humidity or when wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misstayva on 9/22/2007 11:37:00 PM more reviews by misstayva

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

My favourite hair spray, hands down. I've used it on and off for many, many years now. The shine it leaves on the hair is amazing! The hold is impeccable. I just wish that it came in an aerosol, as the traditional pump spray is a bit of a pain (it clogs constantly with this formula, and sometimes the pump gets stuck).
Other than that, I've no complaints about this stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gal_26 on 9/8/2007 7:06:00 PM more reviews by gal_26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

HG!!! This is sooo good. I love the smell and whenever I use this people say how shiny my hair is. I like to spritz this on my hair just before running through my straigtheners which keeps it looking good but not 'styled'. Gets rid of the frizzies too! My only wish was that the nozzle didn't get so clogged up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlesunshine on 9/3/2007 6:37:00 PM more reviews by littlesunshine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The best hair spray ever. It's my HG hair spray. I have purchsed this product many times and will continue too. It leaves my heavy hair shiny and holds it without being crunchy. Perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sadrina on 8/2/2007 10:55:00 AM more reviews by Sadrina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My HG hairspray and the only hairspray I have purchased in the past 5+ years. I use it daily. It is one of those products I wouldn't want to try to live without! It provides firm but not crunchy hold, doesn't flake, and gives my hair wonderful shine! It smells great too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 avapearl on 6/22/2007 5:38:00 PM more reviews by avapearl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite non-aersol hair spray. It holds extremely well, smells great, and you do not have to apply tons of it for it work. I have tried many others and always find this is the best!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS on 5/25/2007 1:56:00 AM more reviews by MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

besides my kenra volume spray, i also use and adore this! doesnt feel crunchy and doesnt weigh my hair down...i always use this after i curl my hair and the curl stays in place the whole day...luv it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 peppermintgirl on 5/8/2007 7:14:00 PM more reviews by peppermintgirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This really holds and gives shine but at the same time it some how doesn't get hard, stiff or crunchy. Hair still feels soft.


But just as a warning, my mother, (who has heavily highlighted blonde hair, smooths her hair with a curling iron, teases and sprays heavily with a holding spray all over kinda like she's gluing it) got some really bad build up after using this. But I can't blame the product she is a hair spray abuser.


After about 2 months of 4 day a week use, she had HORRIBLE buildup. I'd never seen anything like it in my life. I looked closely at her hair strand and it had this see thru coating making the individual hair strand appear very thick, lumpy and dry. When she curled her hair it was like it was melting the buildup even deeper into her hair. But it's probably the way she used it not the product itself. Just wasn't the hairspray for her I guess.


We got the buildup off with a baking soda paste made of water and baking soda let that sit on the hair for 20 minutes then used a clarifying shampoo with a good moisturizing conditioner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kyms999 on 2/13/2007 2:05:00 PM more reviews by kyms999

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I adore the watermelon type scent of this product. It smells so clean and fresh, it is a treat for the senses. The product works great at locking in your style, but does not do much in the way of ensuring your hair maintains movement, so your basically stuck in a hair lock of your style....haha
Anyway if you were going for a spike style with your bangs or some other stiff look it is great. The bad part of using this hair spray for me is that after using this for a few days to weeks my scalp gets irritated. I start getting itchy areas and then if I itch the areas I get sores on the top of my head. I have to stop using the spray and let my head heal before I can use it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 corinneyb on 1/24/2007 3:29:00 PM more reviews by corinneyb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably my HG hairspray. Why? First, I like that it is a firm hold and a little goes a long way. Second, it doesn't leave my hair crunchy but it still lasts all day. Third, I like that it doesn't have a cloying scent. I went through my first bottle of this and then went back and bought another bottle and the big refill bottle as well on sale. I saw comments in other reviews about clogging, but I only had it happen to me a few times, and a good rinse in hot water cleared it right up (and I used the same bottle through it's life and the life of the refill, too!). I've been out of this for a few months now, and every hairspray I've tried since has fallen way short - I'm using up the last of the spray I have now and then I'm going back to Freeze and Shine!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paul Mitchell products

More Styling Products products