Orly Bonder Rubberized Basecoat

4.0

283 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Heptane, Ethyl Acetate, Trimethyl Pentyl Diisobutyrate, Tosylamide/Epoxy resin, Polyvinyl Butyral, Nitrocellulose, Benzophenone-1, Cl 26100 (Red 17), Cl 60725 (Violet 2), Cl 47000 (Yellow 11).


on 11/19/2006 10:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OK I am changing my rating. I figured out what the problem was. You can't use a protein coat or other nail strengthener with it, or it won't work. This is kind of problematic because my nails are very weak and need that protein coat. So the product works well if you use it alone and be sure to let it dry 5 minutes before you apply the color. But if you need nail treatments, they can't be used at the same time.



on 11/17/2006 2:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have to say I'm disappointed. I've been using this with various polishes over the past month or so, trying to give it a chance. I end up having to change polish often because I'm left with chipping and peeling within 3-4 days as opposed to the week+ that I got out of my Creative Stickey. (This is using the same polishes and top coats that I've always used.) I'm going out to restock my Creative Stickey, even though I have a nearly full bottle of this.


on 9/25/2006 11:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just got this based on recommendations from the nail board! I LOVE it!! It's better than Creative Stickey which I had been using. I just love that it's thin and grips my polish color to it amazingly well. I applied it under Essie Clutch Me If You Can and then headed out to detail my car with my boyfriend. That's including washing, waxing, vaccumming, washing the interior with wipes, armorall-ing the inside, cleaning the windows with glass cleaner, applying Rain-X to the windows, scrubbing the tires and using cleansing foam, scrubbing the mats, etc. This bonder, with no topcoat, held my polish on and I ended up with minor chips on my right hand only (I'm right handed). With a topcoat I would've been even better off but I'm still waiting to receive my Sech Vite in the mail :) Love this base coat, highly recommend it, and will repurchase after I run out of this huge bottle!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/31/2006 10:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is a really, really nice base coat! It definitely makes my nail polish spread on more evenly and stay on longer. It does have a slight brownish-orange tint, but it pretty much goes on clear. I haven't had any problems with the tint affecting pale or sheer polishes. Bonder is a bit liquidy and you can apply a very thin coat of it easily. It dries quite quickly, too.

I also like that Bonder dries to a gummy, rubbery finish. Not only does it help polish adhere, but when it dries around the neck of the bottle, it doesn't get hard - you can just pull it off like dried up rubber cement!

The Orly rubberized cap is also very handy, and I like the shape and heft of the bottle - there's little danger of accidentally knocking it over.

I haven't tried too many other base coats (just OPI Natural Nail, a SH, and OPI Ridge Filler) so I am only giving it 4 lippies. Also, it is not able to totally prevent my nails from staining (it does a better job than OPI NN and the SH, though).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/31/2006 9:58:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the best base coat, bar none! I've been doing my own nails since I was about 12 (that was a VERY long time ago)& tried countless products so I can make this claim with confidence. Thanks to MUA, I discovered it & ran down to my local Sally's to try it that very evening. My manicure lasted so well that I threw out my other half-used basecoat. It's a thin liquid that dries quickly, and however it works, it really does bond the color - right now, I'm on day 5 of my manicure with only a hardly noticeable fading of the color at the very tips. All I've done is touched up the shine with some topcoat. I also got a bottle of Orly polish and so far I'm convinced that the line is just as good as Essie or OPI, if not better & for less money.


on 8/15/2006 1:26:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Ever since I found this basecoat, which I use with Orly polish and Won't Chip top coat, my polish stays on for at least a week or more. In fact, sometimes it's embarassing because I realize that my polish has been on so long there is a space between the polish and the bottom of my nail (not a great look). Definitely the best base coat I have every used. Orly products are great and so reasonably priced. I have found that Sally's has the best prices on their products.


on 8/14/2006 7:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

"Bonder" is what helps me love my nails. I normally put so much time and care into polishing my nails that I'd hate to see my manicure start chipping away after a few days. I've been using this product exclusively for years and the only reason some of my polish jobs last less than a week and a half is becuase I get bored and need a change of color, not because I'm experiencing chips. I use the computer for hours each day and tapping away at the keyboard can cause chipping and flaking - not so with bonder. The bottle is very large and easy to grip and use, 18ml of product s a very generous amount for the price. I am very pleased with this product and will continue using it for as long as I apply nail polish - it has permanently become part of my manicure process.


on 8/9/2006 11:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This stuff really works. I get more miles out of a vampy/dark manicure by using this than anything else. If you know anything about vampy/dark manicures, they can chip or show wear almost immediately. With Bonder, I can go for at least four days without major signs of wear, or any chips. You apply this as a basecoat, and I've found that the longer you wait to apply polish (five minutes or so) the better it "rubberizes" making it a stickier base for polish to adhere to.

Having said that, the only reason I took a lippie off (I would've given it 5) is that it is a little harsh on nails. It can dry them out. Depending on how often you use it (I do a lot of manicures) I find that I have to take a break from it after every two or three manicures, and use a more nourishing basecoat. Other than that, this is a definite repurchase. You can find this at Sally's Beauty Supply for about $5, IIRC. But they put it on sale every now and again for about $3.50.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2006 1:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this! Whenever I give myself a french manicure, it takes FOREVER. (Base coat, 2-3 coats of polish, white tip, top coat, another coat of white) Before I started using this, my polish would last only a day or two before I had to touch it up, no longer than 4 days before I had to do it all over again. With this stuff, my polish lasts for at LEAST a week without having to touch it up even once. I can probably get a week and a half out of it. LOVE this!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this stuff!!! Seriously. I was having a terrible time keeping a mani for longer than a day or two. It would chip or peel no matter what polish I used, even with a good topcoat. Someone on the nail board recommended this to me and my manis have been super long lasting ever since. I will keep using this until I stop doing my nails!!!




Top Rated Orly Products

Back to Top