Orly Bonder Rubberized Basecoat

4.1

280 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Heptane, Ethyl Acetate, Trimethyl Pentyl Diisobutyrate, Tosylamide/Epoxy resin, Polyvinyl Butyral, Nitrocellulose, Benzophenone-1, Cl 26100 (Red 17), Cl 60725 (Violet 2), Cl 47000 (Yellow 11).


on 8/31/2006 10:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is a really, really nice base coat! It definitely makes my nail polish spread on more evenly and stay on longer. It does have a slight brownish-orange tint, but it pretty much goes on clear. I haven't had any problems with the tint affecting pale or sheer polishes. Bonder is a bit liquidy and you can apply a very thin coat of it easily. It dries quite quickly, too.

I also like that Bonder dries to a gummy, rubbery finish. Not only does it help polish adhere, but when it dries around the neck of the bottle, it doesn't get hard - you can just pull it off like dried up rubber cement!

The Orly rubberized cap is also very handy, and I like the shape and heft of the bottle - there's little danger of accidentally knocking it over.

I haven't tried too many other base coats (just OPI Natural Nail, a SH, and OPI Ridge Filler) so I am only giving it 4 lippies. Also, it is not able to totally prevent my nails from staining (it does a better job than OPI NN and the SH, though).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 8/31/2006 9:58:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the best base coat, bar none! I've been doing my own nails since I was about 12 (that was a VERY long time ago)& tried countless products so I can make this claim with confidence. Thanks to MUA, I discovered it & ran down to my local Sally's to try it that very evening. My manicure lasted so well that I threw out my other half-used basecoat. It's a thin liquid that dries quickly, and however it works, it really does bond the color - right now, I'm on day 5 of my manicure with only a hardly noticeable fading of the color at the very tips. All I've done is touched up the shine with some topcoat. I also got a bottle of Orly polish and so far I'm convinced that the line is just as good as Essie or OPI, if not better & for less money.


on 8/15/2006 1:26:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Ever since I found this basecoat, which I use with Orly polish and Won't Chip top coat, my polish stays on for at least a week or more. In fact, sometimes it's embarassing because I realize that my polish has been on so long there is a space between the polish and the bottom of my nail (not a great look). Definitely the best base coat I have every used. Orly products are great and so reasonably priced. I have found that Sally's has the best prices on their products.


on 8/14/2006 7:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

"Bonder" is what helps me love my nails. I normally put so much time and care into polishing my nails that I'd hate to see my manicure start chipping away after a few days. I've been using this product exclusively for years and the only reason some of my polish jobs last less than a week and a half is becuase I get bored and need a change of color, not because I'm experiencing chips. I use the computer for hours each day and tapping away at the keyboard can cause chipping and flaking - not so with bonder. The bottle is very large and easy to grip and use, 18ml of product s a very generous amount for the price. I am very pleased with this product and will continue using it for as long as I apply nail polish - it has permanently become part of my manicure process.


on 8/9/2006 11:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This stuff really works. I get more miles out of a vampy/dark manicure by using this than anything else. If you know anything about vampy/dark manicures, they can chip or show wear almost immediately. With Bonder, I can go for at least four days without major signs of wear, or any chips. You apply this as a basecoat, and I've found that the longer you wait to apply polish (five minutes or so) the better it "rubberizes" making it a stickier base for polish to adhere to.

Having said that, the only reason I took a lippie off (I would've given it 5) is that it is a little harsh on nails. It can dry them out. Depending on how often you use it (I do a lot of manicures) I find that I have to take a break from it after every two or three manicures, and use a more nourishing basecoat. Other than that, this is a definite repurchase. You can find this at Sally's Beauty Supply for about $5, IIRC. But they put it on sale every now and again for about $3.50.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2006 1:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this! Whenever I give myself a french manicure, it takes FOREVER. (Base coat, 2-3 coats of polish, white tip, top coat, another coat of white) Before I started using this, my polish would last only a day or two before I had to touch it up, no longer than 4 days before I had to do it all over again. With this stuff, my polish lasts for at LEAST a week without having to touch it up even once. I can probably get a week and a half out of it. LOVE this!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this stuff!!! Seriously. I was having a terrible time keeping a mani for longer than a day or two. It would chip or peel no matter what polish I used, even with a good topcoat. Someone on the nail board recommended this to me and my manis have been super long lasting ever since. I will keep using this until I stop doing my nails!!!


on 4/2/2006 1:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So far so good. I recently purchased this at Sallys Beauty supply and my nailpolish has not chipped after a week of using this. I would definately buy this again.


on 11/29/2005 3:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is the ish!!! Applies thin and evenly w/o bubbles. I think the key for this working for me is allowing it to dry completely before polishing and applying 2 coats. My nail enamel sticks like glue to this stuff; I can get a week out of my mani. Def a HG.


on 10/23/2005 9:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

NEVER, have I been able to keep nail polish on for more than 24 hours without chipping, wearing or peeling off (unless you count my acrylics that I gave up on). This stuff really works!!!! I painted on a lighter coat the first time, just to see how it would work, YEAH! Didn't budge! I kept looking at my nails to see if there was anything missing. As a stay at home mom, who also helps in the classroom, I see a lot of water, dirt, and many other polish threatening situations, it lasted! So much so that after 3 days, I took it off and put on another color. And I bought a new color today! I always buy colors for the toes, never for the hands anymore. Just what I need, another thing to spend my money on!!!

Great product, would recommend it to anyone!


Popular Top/Base Coats


Dry Fast Top Coat
1679 Reviews
Overlacquer
18 Reviews


Top Rated Orly Products

image

Rage

51 reviews
image

Bare Rose

31 reviews
Back to Top