Orly • Bonder Rubberized Basecoat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.1(277 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lirontocker on 8/14/2006 7:43:00 PM more reviews by lirontocker

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

"Bonder" is what helps me love my nails. I normally put so much time and care into polishing my nails that I'd hate to see my manicure start chipping away after a few days. I've been using this product exclusively for years and the only reason some of my polish jobs last less than a week and a half is becuase I get bored and need a change of color, not because I'm experiencing chips. I use the computer for hours each day and tapping away at the keyboard can cause chipping and flaking - not so with bonder. The bottle is very large and easy to grip and use, 18ml of product s a very generous amount for the price. I am very pleased with this product and will continue using it for as long as I apply nail polish - it has permanently become part of my manicure process.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* newsystyle on 8/9/2006 11:42:00 AM more reviews by newsystyle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This stuff really works. I get more miles out of a vampy/dark manicure by using this than anything else. If you know anything about vampy/dark manicures, they can chip or show wear almost immediately. With Bonder, I can go for at least four days without major signs of wear, or any chips. You apply this as a basecoat, and I've found that the longer you wait to apply polish (five minutes or so) the better it "rubberizes" making it a stickier base for polish to adhere to.

Having said that, the only reason I took a lippie off (I would've given it 5) is that it is a little harsh on nails. It can dry them out. Depending on how often you use it (I do a lot of manicures) I find that I have to take a break from it after every two or three manicures, and use a more nourishing basecoat. Other than that, this is a definite repurchase. You can find this at Sally's Beauty Supply for about $5, IIRC. But they put it on sale every now and again for about $3.50.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sadalsund on 5/27/2006 1:30:00 PM more reviews by sadalsund

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this! Whenever I give myself a french manicure, it takes FOREVER. (Base coat, 2-3 coats of polish, white tip, top coat, another coat of white) Before I started using this, my polish would last only a day or two before I had to touch it up, no longer than 4 days before I had to do it all over again. With this stuff, my polish lasts for at LEAST a week without having to touch it up even once. I can probably get a week and a half out of it. LOVE this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mommy22lilones on 5/10/2006 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Mommy22lilones

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this stuff!!! Seriously. I was having a terrible time keeping a mani for longer than a day or two. It would chip or peel no matter what polish I used, even with a good topcoat. Someone on the nail board recommended this to me and my manis have been super long lasting ever since. I will keep using this until I stop doing my nails!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Emily_3383 on 4/2/2006 1:03:00 AM more reviews by Emily_3383

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So far so good. I recently purchased this at Sallys Beauty supply and my nailpolish has not chipped after a week of using this. I would definately buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blufunk on 11/29/2005 3:07:00 PM more reviews by blufunk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is the ish!!! Applies thin and evenly w/o bubbles. I think the key for this working for me is allowing it to dry completely before polishing and applying 2 coats. My nail enamel sticks like glue to this stuff; I can get a week out of my mani. Def a HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Michawn on 10/23/2005 9:33:00 PM more reviews by Michawn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

NEVER, have I been able to keep nail polish on for more than 24 hours without chipping, wearing or peeling off (unless you count my acrylics that I gave up on). This stuff really works!!!! I painted on a lighter coat the first time, just to see how it would work, YEAH! Didn't budge! I kept looking at my nails to see if there was anything missing. As a stay at home mom, who also helps in the classroom, I see a lot of water, dirt, and many other polish threatening situations, it lasted! So much so that after 3 days, I took it off and put on another color. And I bought a new color today! I always buy colors for the toes, never for the hands anymore. Just what I need, another thing to spend my money on!!!

Great product, would recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anya1976 on 6/15/2005 4:00:00 AM more reviews by Anya1976

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My nails haven't started chipping yet. I polished my nails 7 days ago. This is the first base coat to ever let my nails keep polish this long without chipping or constantly putting a top coat on so they don't chip. I would definately buy this again. This week i have worn it under my OPI rent and a regular clear topcoat. I wanted to try it out with an almost clear polish in case it did chip quickly at least with rent it would be almost invisible. I am in love. now i can keep polish on my nails almost as long as i would when i had my UV gel nails. I am letting my natural nails grow out asi am sick of paying the money to get them done i want to finally have my own nails look just as beautiful as the gel ones but without shelling out 25 dollars for a fill every 2 weeks.

**update** my polish lasted til I took it off. I wanted to do new polish over 7 days after I polished my nails so I took off my polish and it was still as fresh and INTACT as the day I put it on. I am IN LOVE. Orly please never discontinue this basecoat!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gigglemommy on 5/24/2005 9:23:00 PM more reviews by gigglemommy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

YEEEEHAWWW this stuff actually WORKS! alot of basecoats are so thick if i'm in a hurry they bubble and/or peel off immediately. this was very thin, but my polished hasn't budged for nearly a week! for me that's a huge deal, as my polish usually begins to wear off at the tips the next day. i used this in conjuction with orly polish, and i'm just as happy with this stuff's performance as with opi. get it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pamelabova on 5/21/2005 3:12:00 PM more reviews by pamelabova

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

my nails were going through a peeling phase and the polish was beginning to chip within 24 hours of a manicure. i purchased bonder and couldn't believe the difference! no chips for 4 days and now that my nails are healthy again they don't chip for a week! will repurchase again and again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Orly products

More Top/Base Coats products