Orly • Bonder Rubberized Basecoat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(256 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 semolinapilchard on 3/5/2005 3:25:00 AM more reviews by semolinapilchard

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

tried opi chipskip first, which was a mistake- this was nearly half the price and actually works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chedoux on 1/20/2005 7:53:00 PM more reviews by chedoux

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I only require that a basecoat not allow my nails to turn yellow, which is a problem on my toes since polish lasts there for weeks on me. There was no yellowing of my toenails a month after applying one coat of this and two coats of deep red polish. (There always was with the Sally Hansen microfiber basecoat.) I would definitely repurchase it for this reason.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chochosan on 1/20/2005 1:23:00 AM more reviews by chochosan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Polish does stick to this rubberized base coat, but I'm having a hard time getting the base coat to stick to my (natural) nails! It does help somewhat with chipping at the tips, however, once it goes it goes completely ... all the polish comes off in one piece. I'm using a treatment (Opi Nail Envy) underneath so that may be the reason it's not working for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 osujen25 on 1/10/2005 4:27:00 PM more reviews by osujen25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

UPDATE: i have found if you let this dry say like 5 minutes it makes all the difference, my manicures last a week easy
ok i have used this 2x, the first time i used it i went a week w/o any chips! now i am using a red and i have one little chip (today is the 2nd day) but i was drilling/putting up shelves last night.! but just one chip!!! wow i do a lot of typing/stuff w/hands and my manicure lasts maybe 2 days w/o chipping so thus far im impressed! i bought it at sallys for like $5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 VICKIEO1 on 10/1/2004 4:53:00 PM more reviews by VICKIEO1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought this at Sally's and it seems to work well. Keeps my nails from turning yellow also.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Green_Bean on 8/15/2004 1:17:00 AM more reviews by Green_Bean

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fantastic product. I hadn't used nail polish in a number of years. It came off so fast that it just wasn't worth it. But with Bonder, my nail polish stays on. I can wash dishes galore, dig in the sandbox, and use my nails as screwdrivers--I may mess up the top layers of polish, but it still sticks. (I favor OPI nail colors, by the way. I also had good luck with Hard Candy and Essie. I did have some chipping with cheap nail polish from Sally Hansen and NYC.) Bonder's consistency is quite thin. It goes on easily and dries very quickly. I love the Orly bottle with the rubberized grip. Even though this product doesn't claim any nail strengthening properties, my nails have been better than they've ever been since I started using it. Wow!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hontapocasgreen on 2/28/2004 11:21:00 PM more reviews by hontapocasgreen

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am impressed with this base coat. I had been using a now discontinued Sally Hansen base coat with bonding formula to it before replacing it with this. It does really keep the color bonded well. I had been using it under the L'oreal Jet Set line. Anybody who has used any speed-dry formula polish knows that stuff chips in a couple of days. This made it last at least 6 days for me & I did forget to put any type of topcoat on. I was really impressed because it stood up to my housework wear & tear. For about $4 at Sally's Beauty supply, it's a bargain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CronFest on 1/2/2004 5:08:00 PM more reviews by CronFest

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is the best for helping my manicures last on my natural nails. I had acrylics for years and got tired of the hassles, but was worried I would have to touch up constantly, with my bonder under Sally hansen products my manicures last a week! Great stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brazen on 10/14/2003 3:06:00 PM more reviews by Brazen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The best base coat I have ever used. It was recommended to me by the owner of a nail supply store. He said it had rubber in the formula so it stretches as your grow and this keeps the polish from chipping.
It goes on easily, dries fast and keeps the polish from chipping a week or more. It doesn't crack the polish like "Sticky" another fixative base coat.
I only use one coat,with 2 coats of Essie or OPI and a top coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mle35794 on 9/20/2003 9:10:00 PM more reviews by mle35794

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not bad. I find putting two coats of this instead of one under polish makes a BIG difference in staying chip-free longer. And this stuff works really well if you use it with the 2-in-1 formula as a top coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Orly products

More Top/Base Coats products