NARS • Orgasm Blush • Blush

rated 4.0(5124 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 marchesa on 4/29/2009 2:06:00 PM more reviews by marchesa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Ah, Orgasm blush. It was so very nearly not so. I remember the first time I tried this lovely blush. I'd heard about Orgasm and its enviable status as secret makeup weapon of the stars, so off I toddled to Harvey Nicks to try and, hopefully, buy.


Half an hour later, I'm sitting at the Nars counter while the assistant helpfully flutters a brush-full-o-blush over my cheeks. Alas, here is where the dream almost ended.


"I can't see it!" I wail, as she holds a mirror up for me to survey her handiwork. Disappointed, I purchase a lipgloss and go my not-so-merry way.


So I'm on the train home when I decide to slick on my new lippy. I flick open my makeup mirror and am taken aback by the gorgeous, peachy glow staring back at me. Closer inspection reveals that yes, it's the Orgasm blush. Clearly the lighting in the shop wasn't right, so the following week I return to the Nars counter, somewhat sheepishly, and buy one on the spot.


I've been an ardent fan of Nars blushes ever since, and have since acquired Deep Throat, Desire and Angelika, all wonderful blushes in their own right, but Orgasm is the one I find myself returning to again and again and again. It's well-pigmented and contains a little sparkle, but it's totally natural-looking on the skin. It warms up my complexion like no other, transforming me from pale and washed-out Brit to California beach babe in just a few sweeps. And miraculously, it seems to suit every complexion, as my darker, sallower and redder-toned friends attest.


So if you only ever buy one blush in your life, make sure it's this one. It's pricey but it lasts, and it's worth it.


*EDIT* I've noticed some people aren't keen on the glitter in Orgasm. If you fall into this category, then Deep Throat should be a good alternative for you. The shade is similar, perhaps a smidge darker, and contains no glitter, though it does have a healthy shimmer.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 egoboost on 4/28/2009 9:45:00 AM more reviews by egoboost

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this blush. The colour is nice and peachy with some natural shimmer. It lasts througout the day on my oily skin. The packaging is good, and it has a convenient little mirror in the lid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaaatie on 4/28/2009 9:09:00 AM more reviews by kaaatie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Grey    

This is an incredibly gorgeous pinky peach which shows some shimmer in the pan but looks natural on the skin. It goes with any make-up look, wakes up a bare face, and seems to work on most skintones. I have been using this blush for about 5 years and am just hitting the pan on my second. I will continue to buy this forever; Nars blushes are certainly worth the hefty price-tag, especially this remarkably pretty colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juicy75 on 4/27/2009 5:30:00 PM more reviews by juicy75

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very pretty and natural-looking. I've tried lots of other blushes but always come back to this one. I'm in love with it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anz on 4/27/2009 9:14:00 AM more reviews by anz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I like this,thought I would LOVE it.
I agree that the color is universal. I like the shimmer in it,I need a little glow! I am light skinned and I thought I'd get more color pay off,I just don't like to have to put too much on to see it and build shimmer up too much. I end up putting a little matte blush on first,or bronzer then add orgasm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chocobunny on 4/26/2009 11:39:00 PM more reviews by Chocobunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It's nothing stunning on me but I must agree that Orgasm is a lovely, buildable everyday blush you should have in your collection. It suits most skintones, colourings and any outfit!

I would buy it again. I took 2 lippies off because it's too exxy. Personally, I'm rather fair and MAC Springsheen looks better on me because it has less orange tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 muffinphonic on 4/24/2009 10:43:00 PM more reviews by muffinphonic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I would give this more of a 4.5 than a 5 but nevermind. The reason it loses half a point for me is because it is quite expensive and i think for the price you are paying, you should at least get a little brush on the side.

As for the product, i find it beautiful. I am NC25-27 with asian yellow undertones and have no problem with it showing up on my skin like some people have complained.


It looks peach in the pan but applies more pink on my skin, probably because of my yellow colouring. This isn't a problem though as the natural flush in my cheeks is actually pinker/redder than that of the blush, so if i apply carefully, it looks fairly natural rather than clown's cheeks.

And i find the glitter/shimmer quite subtle, it wakes up my face. i wore this blush on a night out and it lasted all night! Usually, powder products do not last long at all on me so i was pleasantly surprised.


I'm not really into hyped products and although i can't see this working for everyone, it obviously works for a lot of people for it to receive the hype in the first place, and i am thankful i am one of these people.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minivan86 on 4/23/2009 5:14:00 PM more reviews by minivan86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

at first i was hesitant because of the price of the blush and the color...but i got it anyways. at first i wasnt too impressed by it...but overtime ive fallen in love...it is my HG blush it gives you just the right amount of color on your face. i would definantly buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dawnimitsu on 4/23/2009 10:41:00 AM more reviews by dawnimitsu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

orgasm is part of my holy trinity of nars blushes - deep throat, crazed and orgasm. when i reach for blush, 95% of the time, its one of these.


i started my trinity with orgasm because it was so hyped. its pinky peach, showing much more pink than peach on me. I wore orgasm almost everyday for 2 years. I liked its glowiness even if i felt it might be a tad too pink, even when applied with a very light hand. eventually i decided that orgasm is a wash of pink with no depth on me. and i experimented with various highlighters and contours, trying to make the apples of my cheeks look like something more than flushed pink rounds- i still loved the glow!


then i discovered deep throat which gives me glowiness, depth and contour. and orgasm took a back seat to deep throat. i still consider orgasm a main stay of my blush wardrobe; its just that it takes more effort to work in than deep throat.


for reference, i am the palest of the pale and have great difficulties finding foundations to suit my palor. i have a very neutral cast with no pink, yellow or olive undertones.


i hate the rubber nars packaging. it hate that it gets full of glitter and powder and just looks icky after a week or so. but the quality of nars blushes, including orgasm, overshadows the gross packaging and cost.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 K12347 on 4/23/2009 3:51:00 AM more reviews by K12347

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this blush, I bought it after hearing all the hype. I have fair skin and this truely perk up my cheeks. You dont need to use a lot since its really pigmented. It also have gold specks that make your skin "glow." If you dont like that, i suggest the "deep throat" from NARS. i heard its almost the same color but without the glitter. It lasted longer on my cheeks than most other blushes. Even though its pricey, its probably going to last me foreverrrr. I hate the packaging, its velvetly feel causes other powders to attach to it and its hard to get off! It looks dirtyy lol

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Blush products