Biotin (All brands)

3.5

242 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Bummer. I wanted this to see if it could strengthen my hair but within 3 days of starting to take it, I had a break out of 9 mini pimples. Not everyone can handle the biotin, I am one of those who can't.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/25/2009 2:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I took Biotin for a month, and it didn't do anything for me. It was only $6 for a month's supply though, so no biggie. Later I read that Biotin also can make hair grow faster. I don't know if that's true. I didn't have any acceleration in my hair's growth, but it's something to keep in mind in case you decide to try Biotin. Maybe it will make your nails healthier, but it also may give you a moustache.


on 7/25/2009 1:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product based on the suggestions that it could strengthen my nails and promote nail growth. For those who are unfamiliar with Biotin, it is Vitamin B-7 also known as Vitamin H. It is naturally produced by the body by bacteria in the intestines to assist in the break down of carbs and transfer of carbon dioxide from the body. However, it has also been known to strengthen nails and beautify hair when taken in higher doses, as much as 1000-2000mcgs a day.


I was taking exactly 1000mgs per day in the hopes of finally taking my nails from short, soft, flexible, and pealing/chipping; to those thicker, strong, medium length nails, I always dreamed of that only fake imitations could provide. After 6 weeks of use, I saw a dramatic change in my nails, they had indeed become a little thicker, but mostly stronger, and much less flexible. They still pealed a little bit, but I hoped with consistent use, my nails would improve with time.


However, there is one minor problem with Biotin that some users may encounter, and I was one of the unlucky few to experience this problem. High doses of Biotin is known to cause acne flair ups in acne-prone skin. Although this is not always the case, it certainly was for me. I noticed a few more pimples 4 weeks after the use of this product, but I thought nothing of them, thinking thy were hormonal. However, after reaching the 6 weeks mark, I had a horrible outbreak of red angry pimples that took some time to heal. I had to say bon voyage to my new favourite beauty product.


I am pleased to say I have found an alternative that will still give you great nails, hair, and skin for those who are acne prone and want stronger nails- Silica Supplements. I am currently using GNC, but research reveals that the best on the market is Biosil, it is much more expensive then the GNC one (GNC is roughly $18, where as Biosil is $30!) however Biosil produces a natural liquid form that is more readily absorbed by the body, than the standard solid pill. I have been using Silica supplements for 6 weeks and it has proven to be almost as affective as Biotin for nails, but more rewarding for skin. View my review for more details.

Happy Shopping

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2009 9:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

ive been taking 5,000mcg of biotin for about a year. before i started taking biotin, i had VERY VERY fine blonde hair, and not a lot of it :( i was self conscience and the top was a little thin, but thankfull im 5''9 so no one notices, haha. anyways, a month after i started taking this my hair not only grew REALLYYYY fast and got super long, it also made my hair about twice as thick. i've been taking it everyday for about a year and will never stop! there were a few months where i stopped taking the B. b/c i was on another medication, and my mom could immediately tell by my hair and said "you stopped taking B havent you"? i'm 100% confident this could help the ladies out there who have thinnning, thin hair who feel bad about their hair, b/c i used to be like that all the time, but not now :) so when you first start taking this vitamin, be patient, it will take about a full month till you start seeing results. after a month you'll notice youre hair is thicker, looks and feels MUCH healthier, and def longer! i didnt notice any side effects of breaking out or anything at all actually......ok well theres my story, if ya'll have any questions or anything about it, dont hesitate! <3

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2009 1:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I took several courses of biotin starting March 2008 - each course at least 3 month long, 5 or lately 10mg/day.
It does speed up hair growth, but visibly mainly on my face. (((
I saw only minor effect on health of my nails. But at that time I was happy even with that little effect. It is now, when I experienced a real miracle with my nails after Nail Tek foundation II and Intensive Therapy II, I can say that biotin alone doesn t do miracles.
And one but not least drawback is that I think I gained because of biotin 5-8 kg of body weight. I couldn't get to my previous size even with eating dayly just salads for 1 year and doing a bit gym (but still taking biotin).
I would buy it again if I'll find a proof now that it doesn t affect my body weight.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2009 4:05:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using Biotin (a B vitamin) for a couple of years now, on the advice of a dermatologist. I've seen no improvement. When I was younger, my nails were hard and unbreakable. I've come to the conclusion that my nail problem (they break if you look at them wrong and are now prone to splitting) is the result of having to live on thyroid supplements. And my hair has always grown quickly, so I see no change there. The bottom line is that Biotin is pretty safe and pretty cheap, so try it for six months or so. Keep your nails moisturized. I just started using Avon Nail Experts Strong Results Length & Strength Complex, so I'll keep my fingers crossed.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2009 3:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have been taking 5000 mcg of biotin for almost a year. It has increased my hair growth from about 1/4 of an inch a month to a 1/2 an inch a month. I love this stuff!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2009 2:10:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For the two months I've been taking 1000 mcg of Sundown botin a day. The tablet is scored, so I'm able to break it in half and take 500 mcg twice a day, along with half of my vitamin tablet. My primary goal is to make my nails stronger, and my secondary goal is to reduce hair loss. I can see a reduction in hair loss, but it's too soon to see stronger nails. Unfortunately, it made my skin break out (and my dry skin never breaks out), so i discontinued taking it

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2009 4:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

although i take a b complex that provides about 300mcg of biotin per tablet (more than 100% of rdi) i take an additional d-biotin supplement (at 1000mcg). i just buy a good quality but well priced brand, which works to be about 100 tablets for $3usd. no fillers or additives. i take it in the morning with my usual protein, b + c vitamins as this altogether helps with overall absorption.

primarily aiming to increase hair growth -- bad hair cuts! however the most immediate effects are rapid nail growth. although i feel that speedy nail growth is not very useful if the density of the nail does not also improve-- which should be addressed via other dietary changes. i don't tend to have very strong nails, more due to nail bed/cuticle issues (dryness, dietary fats... whole other issue), and excess growth just becomes incredibly annoying when the nail tips begin to split after about 2-3mm of growth.


i have also noticed, in conjunction with using topical castor oil on the eye lashes, taking biotin helps to lengthen lashes, at a very natural rate. there is not much increase in thickness or new lash growth (just perhaps more follicles becoming active).

most noticeably, my bottom lashes were nearly 'invisible' because they are very fine and medium length, however they have doubled in length gradually. whereas the upper lashline has just filled out more to its original density before using mascara, as with the eyebrows as well. i also tend to develop thinning at the front hairline where it is constantly parted, again with topical castor oil, i believe biotin has also boosted new growth


in terms of hair growth (not new growth), definitely has a noticeably effect. i'm currently trying to grow out my fringe, and i am experiencing about 150-170mm of growth each month, as opposed to the usual 80-100mm.


i have not noticed any increase in breakouts with biotin, although i suspect that if you only take biotin without any other b supplements, this will cause a severe b vitamin imbalance in the body and thus have some effect on the skin. i am careful to not take excessive amounts, as 300-400% over the RDI is already adequate to enhance the particular functions associated with hair growth. also in general i take regularly adoptogenic and phytoeostrogen-rich herbals which help with skin related issues.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2009 3:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE 9/17/09: I stopped taking biotin for 1 1/2 months due to laziness. I had no idea that biotin played a role in clearing up my skin and during the course of a month my acne came back in full force - plus I gained a ton of weight! My skin/makeup routine, eating habits have not changed and going off on biotin I noticed my brows/hair aren't growing as fast anymore, my nails are brittle, skin has so many tiny bumps and I've gained 15 Ibs in less than a month (fat in the most unattractive places)! I'm on biotin again and noticed my skin is slowly clearing up again and I'm not craving food as much when I was off biotin (working out now to rid of this unwanted excess fat). I will update again in a couple of months.


UPDATE 1/26/2010: After 2 1/2 months from my last update, I stopped using biotin again. I really wish I haven't. I gained half the weight I lost when I was on biotin, my nails are brittle again, my skin changed. My hair is still the same, but I noticed my brows don't grow as fast once I stopped :( I'm back on biotin again and for good! The thing I hate is now I have to rely on biotin for the results I want. Before I was on biotin I was on birth control which gave me similar results, minus the nail and hair. Biotin gave more than my bc which is why I liked using it. I don't mind taking biotin I just get lazy. So for me, I need to be on biotin daily to keep results constant.



ORIGINAL REVIEW: I've always suffered with sparse thin eyebrows. As much as I love filling in my brows there are days when I get lazy filling them in and just want to head out the door without worrying about them. After a plucking mishap I decided to do some research on how long brows would normally take to grow. Since I've been plucking my brows back in middle school my brows hasn't grown back to its natural state when I was a kid (before I started shaving them and plucking). Articles I read stated that after constant plucking/threading/waxing some hairs might not ever grow back which is in fact true in my case :( I'm a tweezaholic you see. That's when I found out about biotin supplements. I did thorough research and reviews on different kinds before taking the plunge in trying them out. I decided to go with the GNC Women's Hair, Skin & Nails Formula as I've read so many wonderful things about it and very little side effects from those who reviewed it. I was going to go for a cheaper brand at my local drugstore, but since I have a gold card with gnc I got it for BOGO.

I started with 1 pill (1500 mcg) a day to see if I get any side effects (aka breakouts etc). After 1 week I decided to take the recommended dosage which was 2 pills (3000mcg). I take the biotins with GNC Women's MultiVitamins which also contain 300 mcg totaling of 3300 mcg, but I rounded it down to 3k. So far no breakouts like some reviews I've read. My nails are a lot stronger and I'm able to keep them long without a lot of chipping! My hair also feels healthier and stronger (it already grows at a fast rate so I'm not seeing a difference). I have noticed an amazing growth in my facial hair after using biotin! Not sure if you'd take this as a side effect or not, but for me it's amazing!!! My brows have never looked this thick - EVER! I actually have brow hairs growing in areas I've never seen before :D ***Picture of my brows before and after below*** Besides my brows I've noticed that I started to grow a bit of a stache lol. I never had to remove any upper lip hair before so taking the biotin I had to start. I don't mind though as long as my brows are growing out in places they never have before. I don't mind shaving off a little upper lip hair :)

The one thing I do want to warn those who are planning on taking the GNC biotins is to make sure you take it with a meal. If you don't you will end up suffering with an upset stomach for a couple of hours :( The pills do smell and have a very awful after taste, but I take it with juice so I don't have taste it as much.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments


Fade Cream
124 Reviews

Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

106 reviews
image

Sugar

246 reviews
image

Oatmeal Mask

199 reviews
image

Tamanu Oil

45 reviews
Back to Top