Smashbox • Camera Ready BB Cream SPF 35 • BB Cream

rated 3.5(271 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 spfxchic on 7/3/2012 9:47:00 PM more reviews by spfxchic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I really do like this BB Cream! I have dry skin and have been on the hunt for a foundation that works for me for years (half the fun is trying new things, though my wallet disagrees). I've stopped the search, as this (in conjuction with other products) does the trick! I like that there is not much of an odor to the product. The packaging is great, love the squeeze tube - saves on wasted product and doesn't get contaminated. The retail price isn't any worse than other BB Creams I've seen.

I am a MAC NW20 in the winter/spring, and get minimally darker in the summer and the Medium/Light Shade matches well.

I do use the Smashbox Hydrating Primer under the BB Cream and the Halo powder to finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sc2944 on 6/28/2012 1:59:00 PM more reviews by sc2944

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this BB cream. It makes my routine much, much easier when leaving the house and it makes my skin feel smooth and soft. It lasts all day long without melting off of my face, and for people like me with sensitive skin, it's definitely a keeper.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ilovestuff on 6/27/2012 9:46:00 PM more reviews by ilovestuff

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Let me start by saying that I have fair skin with pinker areas and really started to use BB creams to even that out and give coverage, spf and to even tone.

I found this to be expensive for the amount of the BB cream compared to others. It has the texture and coverage of a tinted moisturizer and whether I applied it with a brush or my fingers, I found it to be streaky. After wearing for a couple of hours, it got patchy and definitely did not last all day. Unfortunately it was very obvious that I was wearing this product as it came off in some spots with just normal wear (not even sweating or in the heat or anything).

Overall, I was disappointed with this product. It's nowhere near as much coverage or staying power as the Hot Pink Triple Function Skin79 BB.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JThunder on 6/20/2012 8:28:00 PM more reviews by JThunder

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have never been a foundation fan, but BB creams sounded up my (makeup) alley. I chose this one because I have friends who are vehement Smashbox fans. Also, I had store points to redeem, so it was kind of free. I dont know if i would have spent $50 on this otherwise. Initial findings during application: light, blendable, smooth coverage. My shade is light and it matched my pale Canadian skin well. It dried quickly and felt nice, not drying or makeup-y. I wore it today in sweltering "I didn't know it gets that hot in Canada" humid weather. It didn't budge. I was complimented on my makeup in the afternoon, hours after application. Now, I have used a few cheapo tinted moisturizers (Cover Girl) and this was way nicer. I have no experience with more expensive tinted moisturizers (like Laura Mercier), so I can't compare it to that. But I am happy with this, and will spend my points on it next time. The $50 is hard to swallow, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeupFairyxo on 6/19/2012 7:45:00 AM more reviews by MakeupFairyxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I LOOVE this BB cream!! I've used liquid foundation, powder foundation, mineral foundation, and tinted moisturizer and while those were all great none of them were as quick and easy as this one. Especially now that it's getting into summer I don't want to spend too long getting ready in the morning or feel/look like I'm caking on so much makeup. With this you get the moisture, protection, and coverage all in one! So I don't need to spend time moisturizing or using sunscreen first- just quickly apply this with my fingers and it results in a great non-streaky application. This lasts pretty well throughout the day as well. I do find that I have to blot throughout the day though but I'm fine with that. Yes, it is pricy but totally worth it and you get what you pay for, right?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3buzyboyz on 6/18/2012 5:27:00 PM more reviews by 3buzyboyz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this when I saw it demonstrated on QVC one afternoon while I was channel surfing. This is the only BB cream I have tried so I don't have anything to compare it to, but I really like this product. Great SPF, decent moisturization, and just a light dusting of mineral makeup over it and I'm set to apply color. I even think my makeup tends to last longer when I wear it. I'm sold.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luckycatpdx on 6/15/2012 10:38:00 PM more reviews by luckycatpdx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Oh, man. I love this stuff. I've been on board with the BB Cream craze for awhile, now, and I've even traipsed through the shelves of Pretty and Cute here in Portland, but I've been hard pressed to commit to BB creams for a couple of reasons. A) Limited shades. I don't care how you market it, grey is not a flattering camouflage for blemishes. Ever. I realize the general consensus is: too many color options defeats the purpose of a bb cream. I completely disagree, but whatever. B) I have extraordinarily sensitive skin, so any multitasking product containing a plethora of polysyllabic ingredients runs the high risk of rendering me a rashy fright.


I am definitely a foundation junkie. With roughly high end 40 foundations and a dozen bb creams scattered about my bathroom- I can safely say I've left few stones unturned in the search for a miracle in a bottle. I usually avoid Smashbox foundations all together- they run dark/orange, and some of their formulas have been disgusting, frankly. The Smashbox BB Cream is a complete dream, though. It goes on buttery smooth, dries to a natural matte finish, provides more coverage than many of the BB Creams I've tried (including Skin79 and Dr. Jart, which seem to be the most popular here in the U.S.), never looks chalky or weirdly pink, and it lasts for HOURS. I mean, it really lasts and lasts on my combination skin. Every couple of hours I look in the mirror to see if it has yet to sink into my rather large pores and it never happens!


The best part however is, it actually makes my skin feel great. Soft and supple. I had a rashy patch by mouth when I first applied the Camera Ready BB Cream, and the redness was considerably diminished when I washed it off later that night. The bumps felt smaller and my skin seemed smoother overall. This is actually a first as far as bb creams go, since very few truly seem to deliver any obvious skin benefits beyond sun protection. I look forward to applying this product, because I genuinely believe it is improving the condition of my skin.


I have yet to experience any irritation or breakouts. I attribute this to the fact that it doesn't contain any of the cyclo-silicones (i.e., cyclomethicone, cyclopentasiloxane). It's also easy to wash off! Many of the bb creams I have tried have been so difficult to remove, even with a proper makeup remover, but this rinses away easily. It's almost impossible to fathom- a product with staying power AND washes off without aggressive scrubbing?


For reference, I'm a smidge darker than warm vanilla in Bobbi Brown, closer to a Nars Deauville (probably a NW20ish in MAC, but more on the neutral side), and the light shade is perfect for me. Not too yellow, not too pink. Not too light, not too dark. Just right and really makes my skin look soft and radiant. I'm not sure if there are light reflecting pigments, but it does provide a nice natural glow that seems to take a few years off my age. I love that it never feels greasy, and truly does seem to provide some degree of oil reduction/control.



I hope Smashbox never quits making this bb cream! This outperforms most of my foundations and puts every tinted moisturizer I own (Laura Mercier, Urban Decay, Smashbox, Estee Lauder, just about any iconic TM on the market) to shame. LOVE this stuff! Love it!


The one, though not completely fatal, flaw is the price. C'mon....$39 for 1 fl. oz? REALLY? For a bb cream, which is essentially a glorified tinted moisturizer? Ugh. It's ridiculous, but I will most likely continue cough up the dough. If it wasn't for the exorbitant price, I would have happily given Camera Ready BB Cream five lippies.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Antidentite615 on 6/15/2012 1:36:00 AM more reviews by Antidentite615

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this is light/medium, it blends pretty well but is slightly orange on my NW25 skin. I only have the garnier BB cream to compare this to, but I honestly love this product. Not greasy at all, slightly moisturizing, not matte but not too dewy either. I have to blend this in sections, and it doesn't cover all imperfections, but it definitely evens out my skin tone and redness. The biggest downside for me is the price($39 for one ounce), but a little does go a long way so I feel like it will last a while. This doesn't replace foundation for me but I do reach for it when I'm in a hurry, just running to the store or don't feel like fooling with brushes and foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cboylove on 6/13/2012 10:17:00 AM more reviews by cboylove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is truly a holy grail product for me, I'm 21, male, olive medium skin tone, some acne scars, and combination skin. I've been looking for a product like this forever! I love that this contains SPF 35, plant extracts, anti-aging peptides, and that it covers without looking cakey. The use this with this with the smashbox light primer and set it with mac mineralized skin finish. I love this. The price is a bit steep but it is an amazing product. I would like to mention that the sunscreen in this product does not adequately provide protection from uva rays so wear a broad spectrum sunscreen underneath if your going out in the sun.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 yelloweed on 6/9/2012 8:59:00 PM more reviews by yelloweed

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have been wanting to try BB Creams since it became popular with YouTube makeup gurus. Not wanting to buy from Ebay I was glad when Smashbox created their own line. I bought the Light/Medium shade at Sephora and tried it on several times.

I wanted to like this product because I paid $40 for this bottle but it has failed on me repeatedly.

It flaked on my skin even with primer. The flaking looked disgusting and was so embarrassing. I had a few meetings and people pointed out that my make up was melting or that I looked like I'm peeling.

It did not completely covered my imperfections. I still had to use a concealer. I thought BB creams are meant to be an all-in-one base for face.

The worst part is that I feel this sting on my skin after a few minutes of application (with or without a primer). After an hour of it on my face, I would develop this unbearable rash across my face and chin - like a sunburn. It hurts a lot and itches like crazy that I have to wash off all my make up. I am left with no choice but to go make up free until I the allergy goes away.

This was a complete waste of my money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More BB Cream products