Smashbox • Camera Ready BB Cream SPF 35 • BB Cream

rated 3.5(255 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 luckycatpdx on 6/15/2012 10:38:00 PM more reviews by luckycatpdx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Oh, man. I love this stuff. I've been on board with the BB Cream craze for awhile, now, and I've even traipsed through the shelves of Pretty and Cute here in Portland, but I've been hard pressed to commit to BB creams for a couple of reasons. A) Limited shades. I don't care how you market it, grey is not a flattering camouflage for blemishes. Ever. I realize the general consensus is: too many color options defeats the purpose of a bb cream. I completely disagree, but whatever. B) I have extraordinarily sensitive skin, so any multitasking product containing a plethora of polysyllabic ingredients runs the high risk of rendering me a rashy fright.


I am definitely a foundation junkie. With roughly high end 40 foundations and a dozen bb creams scattered about my bathroom- I can safely say I've left few stones unturned in the search for a miracle in a bottle. I usually avoid Smashbox foundations all together- they run dark/orange, and some of their formulas have been disgusting, frankly. The Smashbox BB Cream is a complete dream, though. It goes on buttery smooth, dries to a natural matte finish, provides more coverage than many of the BB Creams I've tried (including Skin79 and Dr. Jart, which seem to be the most popular here in the U.S.), never looks chalky or weirdly pink, and it lasts for HOURS. I mean, it really lasts and lasts on my combination skin. Every couple of hours I look in the mirror to see if it has yet to sink into my rather large pores and it never happens!


The best part however is, it actually makes my skin feel great. Soft and supple. I had a rashy patch by mouth when I first applied the Camera Ready BB Cream, and the redness was considerably diminished when I washed it off later that night. The bumps felt smaller and my skin seemed smoother overall. This is actually a first as far as bb creams go, since very few truly seem to deliver any obvious skin benefits beyond sun protection. I look forward to applying this product, because I genuinely believe it is improving the condition of my skin.


I have yet to experience any irritation or breakouts. I attribute this to the fact that it doesn't contain any of the cyclo-silicones (i.e., cyclomethicone, cyclopentasiloxane). It's also easy to wash off! Many of the bb creams I have tried have been so difficult to remove, even with a proper makeup remover, but this rinses away easily. It's almost impossible to fathom- a product with staying power AND washes off without aggressive scrubbing?


For reference, I'm a smidge darker than warm vanilla in Bobbi Brown, closer to a Nars Deauville (probably a NW20ish in MAC, but more on the neutral side), and the light shade is perfect for me. Not too yellow, not too pink. Not too light, not too dark. Just right and really makes my skin look soft and radiant. I'm not sure if there are light reflecting pigments, but it does provide a nice natural glow that seems to take a few years off my age. I love that it never feels greasy, and truly does seem to provide some degree of oil reduction/control.



I hope Smashbox never quits making this bb cream! This outperforms most of my foundations and puts every tinted moisturizer I own (Laura Mercier, Urban Decay, Smashbox, Estee Lauder, just about any iconic TM on the market) to shame. LOVE this stuff! Love it!


The one, though not completely fatal, flaw is the price. C'mon....$39 for 1 fl. oz? REALLY? For a bb cream, which is essentially a glorified tinted moisturizer? Ugh. It's ridiculous, but I will most likely continue cough up the dough. If it wasn't for the exorbitant price, I would have happily given Camera Ready BB Cream five lippies.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Antidentite615 on 6/15/2012 1:36:00 AM more reviews by Antidentite615

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this is light/medium, it blends pretty well but is slightly orange on my NW25 skin. I only have the garnier BB cream to compare this to, but I honestly love this product. Not greasy at all, slightly moisturizing, not matte but not too dewy either. I have to blend this in sections, and it doesn't cover all imperfections, but it definitely evens out my skin tone and redness. The biggest downside for me is the price($39 for one ounce), but a little does go a long way so I feel like it will last a while. This doesn't replace foundation for me but I do reach for it when I'm in a hurry, just running to the store or don't feel like fooling with brushes and foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cboylove on 6/13/2012 10:17:00 AM more reviews by cboylove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is truly a holy grail product for me, I'm 21, male, olive medium skin tone, some acne scars, and combination skin. I've been looking for a product like this forever! I love that this contains SPF 35, plant extracts, anti-aging peptides, and that it covers without looking cakey. The use this with this with the smashbox light primer and set it with mac mineralized skin finish. I love this. The price is a bit steep but it is an amazing product. I would like to mention that the sunscreen in this product does not adequately provide protection from uva rays so wear a broad spectrum sunscreen underneath if your going out in the sun.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 yelloweed on 6/9/2012 8:59:00 PM more reviews by yelloweed

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have been wanting to try BB Creams since it became popular with YouTube makeup gurus. Not wanting to buy from Ebay I was glad when Smashbox created their own line. I bought the Light/Medium shade at Sephora and tried it on several times.

I wanted to like this product because I paid $40 for this bottle but it has failed on me repeatedly.

It flaked on my skin even with primer. The flaking looked disgusting and was so embarrassing. I had a few meetings and people pointed out that my make up was melting or that I looked like I'm peeling.

It did not completely covered my imperfections. I still had to use a concealer. I thought BB creams are meant to be an all-in-one base for face.

The worst part is that I feel this sting on my skin after a few minutes of application (with or without a primer). After an hour of it on my face, I would develop this unbearable rash across my face and chin - like a sunburn. It hurts a lot and itches like crazy that I have to wash off all my make up. I am left with no choice but to go make up free until I the allergy goes away.

This was a complete waste of my money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 champagneshadow on 6/7/2012 3:18:00 PM more reviews by champagneshadow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I think that a lot of disappointment in various BB Creams has come from the hype surrounding them. They will not change your life or even your skin; or at least the domestic ones won't. I haven't tried the import products myself however. As far as this product goes it has a lot of great positives but some pretty bad negatives as well. To me (and to many others judging from the boards on here and Sephora) this is more or less a tinted moisturizer; I typically use Laura Mercier SPF 20 when I wear tinted moisturizer (usually on the hotter days of summer when I plan on being outside a lot). Being that I find the two products to more or less serve the same purpose I can't help but compare the two...here's how they stacked up:

Price: Laura Mercier is the winner. At Sephora.com 1.5 oz of this product is sold for $42 vs 1 oz sold of Sephora BB Cream for $39. An extra 50% of product for $3? Yes please!

Look: Toss up. Neither one of them provide the amount of coverage I like for just an every day look; hence I just use this type of deal outdoors on really warm California summer days. I like to mix it with Nars Illuminator in Orgasm and apply Bare Minerals Foundation in light amounts over it for a more matte look and of course Bare Minerals Mineral Veil over all of it for an even more mattifying effect.

Sun Protection: This is where the Smashbox BB is the big winner. SPF 35 vs SPF 20.

Overall Feel: I have to say I like the Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer a lot better. It's a much "lighter" feel when applied vs the Smashbox which I can definitely feel on my face.

All in all I'm seriously considering taking this product back and exchanging it for the Dr. Jart BB SPF 45 sold at Sephora. Pretty much the only reason I would use the Smashbox over the Laura Mercier is the SPF and Dr. Jart gets better reviews with a higher SPF. I am anxious to see if Dr. Jart as a BB cream is comparable to tinted moisturizer as well or if it's a different beast altogether. Stay tuned!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 flamingoyo on 6/7/2012 1:34:00 PM more reviews by flamingoyo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ever since I've heard the buzz about BB creams, I've been dying to try one. I finally bought the Smashbox one, after a salesclerk at Sephora suggested it over the other brands. I have fair to medium skin, with no problems. I don't usually wear foundation because I don't need it, so dropping 50 bucks on this was a little painful, but I had to try it. I've since learned that, for me, the best way to apply it was straight after moisturizing my skin: it goes on so smoothly and evenly in comparison to when I don't moisturize. It really evens out my skin tone and gives it a dewy glow without making it look greasy, and it compliments my blush perfectly. A little goes a long way, so I know it'll last me a while, which I'm grateful for because of the price. The only factor, besides the price, is that I've yet to notice any improvement with my skin, although I was blessed with a pretty good complexion so I have no idea if that's why I haven't seen any difference. I really love that it has a high SPF, another reason I've been applying it daily. All in all, I really enjoy the product, the packaging itself is a no muss, no fuss type of deal and it does what it advertises. I just wish the price was a bit lower. The fact that it was only 10 bucks cheaper than the Dior BB cream did not sit well with me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ggalie on 6/6/2012 10:06:00 PM more reviews by ggalie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I want to like this, I really do, but I just don't. I haven't noticed improvement in my skin (one of the "benefits" of a BB cream), and I don't think it provides very much coverage. It's nice when my skin is a little tanner (I bought medium-light) and my complexion has no problems, but when I'm paler and have a couple problem areas it does nothing. I also think it makes me feel oily as the day goes by. It blends in nicely but after a while it practically disappears, NOT what I paid for!

Not a bad product but for the price but not great, I won't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KellynElise on 6/6/2012 6:43:00 PM more reviews by KellynElise

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got a sample of this at Sephora in the color Light. I have never tried another BB cream, and now I will never need to! It blended very smoothly into my skin and looks very natural and even. It did not, however, cover blemishes very well, but this was to be expected due to the light coverage a BB cream offers. The only downside to this was the $39 price tag. This product will not become a staple in my collection by any means because it's a tad pricey, but I love it nevertheless and would repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupizmypassion on 6/6/2012 1:27:00 AM more reviews by makeupizmypassion

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first bb cream I have tried and I love it. It gives a light to medium coverage and a very natural look to the skin. With my concealer and powder i think it gives me a medium coverage.
What drew me to this particular bb cream was the claim to control oil. It controls my extremely oily skin and lasts all day when set with a powder. I love the soft matte finish it gives to my skin, it gives my skin a healthy glow without looking to dewy or oily.
I was really hesitant to buy the bb cream because the shade range isn't very good, I have the palest skin and was worried the fair woud be to dark on me. The fair shade is a true fair shade and matches my skin perfectly, It is not to yellow or pink undertoned either!
The consistency is very thick which made it a bit difficult to blend compared to a tinted moisturiser but I found the perfect way to apply this bb cream is with a wet makeup sponge. I like to set my bb cream with my Mac Mineralise Skin Finish Natural which gives a but more coverage and makes it last all day long.
I was pleasantly surprised when I took the bb cream off at night how soft my skin felt and with continual use it has made my skin baby soft!! I love the fact it also has SPF 35 but the bb cream does smell like sunscreen. It doesn't bother me because it's not a strong unpleasant smell and you can only smell it when applying the bb cream.
The price!!! I payed $54.95 in Australia!! I would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't so expensive. When I got it in the mail I was so shocked how small the bb cream was for $54.95. But I would purchase it again because it's the best foundation I have ever purchased. Overall I think it's a great product whether you use it as a light foundation or under your foundation as a primer I think it is a great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Blah15 on 6/5/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by Blah15

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

The shade "light" is the only face makeup to match me perfectly!! Too bad this bb cream isn't for my dry skin. It isn't moisturizing at all and has a thick consistency. Still on the hunt for the perfect face MU :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More BB Cream products