Laura Mercier • Tightline Cake Eye Liner in Bleu Marine • Eyeliner

rated 4.6(85 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gioja on 8/17/2010 2:38:00 AM more reviews by gioja

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Iím really disappointed of this. I wanted to buy it since so long because I wanted to replace my loved and sadly discontinued Chanel La Ligne (marine and black). The colour is a sort of grayish blue, (but more on the grayish side) so that it doesnít perk up the green tone of my eyes how the Chanel did. Also the intensity is poor. You have to apply and reapply in order to get a visible line. No long wear.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HeatherWeather on 5/12/2010 6:03:00 PM more reviews by HeatherWeather

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am not a great eyeliner fan as I've never got the hang of using it properly. I've tried pencils, liquid liners, gel liners, you name it - but I could never get a satisfactory result. Then my local SpaceNK had a Laura Mercier MUA in store for the day and I got an appointment for a makeover. She recommended that I use this liner in the Bleu Marine colour as I have very pale skin and green eyes, and she said black would be too harsh as I tend to go for the natural look with makeup rather than the dramatic.

Anyway she taught me how to use the tightlining technique, and after a few false starts at home (plus a further visit to a Laura Mercier counter for a refresher lesson) I am happily applying every day and absolutely loving the product. It stays put, gives a look that is not too heavy for every day, and basically I love it. I've used it lots of times but have hardly made a dent at all in the pan so I think it's going to last me for ages, which makes the price tag seem a bit less scary.

To summarise: I am no longer afraid of eyeliner which definitely merits 5 stars for me!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sansari on 3/4/2010 4:03:00 PM more reviews by sansari

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I agree with everyone else - this is a great liner, and stays put. The only downside for me is that I wear contacts. So I need my contacts in when I apply it, and it can irritate them.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachelhal on 2/20/2010 12:52:00 AM more reviews by rachelhal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

My HG eyeliner. Definitely part of the reason I love it has to do with the under-the-lash line (tightlining) technique the LM MUA taught me. Widens my eyes, brightens my eyes, stays on all day. I wet the recommended LM eyeliner brush and make a paste in the eyeliner pot. Then I push and wiggle the brush under and within my eyelashes. The key is to make sure the paste is nice and pigmented and not too watered down.

This is the only eyeliner I have ever used that doesn't make me look tired. The bobbi brown gels come in second but they dry out so quickly. This stuff lasts forever; I have had mine for almost two years and haven't hit pan yet (don't use every day though)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flojob on 1/11/2010 5:42:00 PM more reviews by flojob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

HG! I love this eyeliner so much. It's kind of a pain using the tightliner method, but it looks wonderful and makes my brown eyes really pop without looking too done up. Make sure you have a good brush for application otherwise there's no point. Doesn't smudge, lasts all day and all night. LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nanashimara on 12/18/2009 4:31:00 AM more reviews by Nanashimara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It has been ages since I wrote a review, but reading all the absolutely adoring and glowing reviews for this product makes me frustrated. Using Bleu Marine for anything other than tightlining is useless. I've tried multiple times, to no avail, to use this on my upper lid. THIS HAS ZERO COLOR PAYOFF no matter what I do. What I end up with is a streaky 'watercolor' mess. I'm completely shocked that anyone who has tried other eyeliners would find this subpar quality even somewhat satisfactory, especially at the price. This is the first non-drugstore product that found its way to my trash bin. Shame.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JCYChang on 9/27/2009 11:34:00 PM more reviews by JCYChang

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i love this eyeliner! yes, it takes a bit of work (over my regular pencil-type eyeliners), what with having to wet the brush, swirl, etc... however the results are amazing! i use the flat eyeliner brush and dot it on the base of my lashes, and makes my eyelashes appear fuller! i'm asian, so my lashes are more sparse... also,i bought the blue, not black, on the advice of the sales rep, and the effects are great! i would definitely purchase this again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nekochama on 9/22/2009 1:24:00 PM more reviews by nekochama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have bought this fabulous gem twice, and believe me, it takes a long time to make a dent in it! I use Bleu Marine to tightline on a nearly daily basis. It hardly pulls blue at all, more like an eye-brightening soft black. I spray either water or MAC Fix + on my LM flat eyeliner brush (the best I've found) and tightline away. No other eye product makes me look as awake (or as young!). I also have LM Black Ebony cake eyeliner, but for some reason the Black one transfers when the Bleue one does not, go figure. For reference, I'm NC 20.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mooks06 on 9/4/2009 8:19:00 AM more reviews by mooks06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG day time eyeliner. It provides fantastic definition without being harsh and heavy. The bleu Marine is subtle and appears to smudge just upward of the lashes as if to look blended, yet it doesn't smudge to the point of racoon eyes. It is very pretty and my eyes really pop with this. It is completely mistake proof and such an easy application. I absolutely love this and am happy to wear eyeliner now!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sophia1105 on 7/14/2009 11:50:00 AM more reviews by Sophia1105

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Overall a decent product. I was looking for something softer than my Chanel la Ligne, which I adore and is my HG. The reviews drew me to this color. I love the color and would like to find a liquid in this tone. That said, having experience using the Chanel cake liner, this pales in comparison. It's an inconsistent consistency in color once wet. The cake absorbs alot of water or MU remover, which ever you choose, and the line often isn't as heavily pigmented as I'd like. Also, layering to achieve greater depth is a no-no as it seems to wipe the bottom layer off, so you're left with thin clear streaks throughout.

However, for a subtle look, this color and formula give me what I'm looking for. I'm very anti-color on my liners, and this is just the slightest shade of dark with a navy tinge, such that you can't tell it's blue, just makes the eyes look brighter without the harsh definition of a black.

Would repurchase, but only in this shade. Otherwise there's better options out there if you're looking for a black.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Eyeliner products