OPI The Thrill of Brazil

4.5

62 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/22/2011 2:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

When I was searching for a classy red nail polish shade, I scored with this one.
I love this red.. it's what I imagine when I think of red nails.
Doesn't streak, I put two coats.
Along with Big Apple Red, this is my favorite go to polish for work or a night out :D



on 7/16/2011 3:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

before you read, i did not purchase this product, and I do not like red reds! that may account for my low rating. I was just given something I did not like.. I was given this nail polish after my grandma passed away.. along with all her other polishes. Red was her fave color but this one was my least favorite red. it wasn't attractive to me, or on my skin. I am tanned and I just think it's too red, like crayola red. it is too primary for me. According to the color weel, reds can go into an orange or into a violet.. and this one kinda goes into orange... (if that makes sense.) Its not like fire-engine red, a little brighter. if you are looking for a true red, this is it. I just can't wear it, If i were to look for a red, it would probably be a duller and shimmery one :) .. i would love to try malaga wine, maybe that's better for tanned skin


on 6/8/2011 4:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My favouriate bright red shade! Super easy to apply and long lasting. Colour might be too jumpy for winter but perfect for summer!


on 5/25/2011 10:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

"Thrill of Brazil" is such a heartbreaker! She's the perfect true red that's not too dark for my fair, cool-toned hands. The blue undertones make this one flattering and super hot color for pale ladies out there, but I'm sure this would look great on many skintones. The application is very smooth, even though the pro wide brush is a bit difficult to handle. It's hard to get close to your cuticles with the wide, squared off tip of the brush. I do have dainty hands and tiny fingernails for an adult female, though. I can see how you might prefer this brush if you're new to OPI polishes. It certainly helps cut down on streakiness and application time. Two coats "Thrill of Brazil" are needed for opacity.


The problem with this color is that it chips! It chips at the tips on the second day for me, every time I apply it. I tried it with SH Instra-dri and Seche Vite, but perhaps my bottles of top coat were old. It might just be the Southern humidity during this hot summer. I don't know, but I'm disappointed in this polish. The Zoya and Essie shades I have last me at least 4 days without chipping.


I will still continue try other OPI colors. Will have to go back to Sinful "Ruby Ruby" for my HG red, though.


on 5/14/2011 10:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I must have tried over 10 different reds and this one is the BEST for my pale asian skin. I am in love with this color! can't wait to use it again :)

One coat is very pretty but I prefer two coats


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Absolutely perfect bright red. I'm very pale & redhead, and it looks good on me. It gives an instant pin-up sexy feeling, and it's a great way to spicen up any boring style. I found that it combines great with YSL 143 lipstick, and the application is really great. I only need to use one layer. Sometimes I combine this color with "happy anniversary" on top of it to make it kinda soft-strawberry icecream ready for the summer glammy color. I just love love love my thrill of brazil, which actually gives me a very big thrill.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Total love affair with this red! This is the first OPI color that I bought, and it was a matter of impulse. I was actually looking for pinks but the exclusive distributor in my country was out of stock on those shades. But then they had several reds on the rack, and this one definitely stood out. I've tried various brands, both cheap and expensive, but didn't have the bright red that I wanted. Not too dark, and not too orange or bordering on magenta. And I was lucky since I was able to buy the last bottle of Thrill of Brazil that they had! Upon trying it out, I couldn't help but gush because it was the perfect red tone that I wanted, perfect for making that sexy impression. My bf definitely likes it on me as much as I do! Although I do add an extra coat of clear polish so it doesn't chip or crack.


on 3/31/2011 9:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

A beautiful red on my skin tone......Defiently would buy it again!


on 3/18/2011 2:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Very vibrant, pretty red with a slightly blue (?) hue. Application was smooth and creamy. The wear does not seem too bad topped with Seche Vite fast-drying.
I think this is the classic red polish for me.


on 2/15/2011 7:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love this red! I picked it up 'cause I love the name (OPI has the funniest/most wtf names) and I was looking for a red polish. It's a gorgeous colour and I love the consistency, brush, and finished look. Could be more chip-resistant, though. I found that this one chipped more than my other red, Borota Blackberry.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
105 Reviews
Bubble Bath
357 Reviews
Nail Polish
209 Reviews
Nail Polishes
415 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

74 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

153 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

76 reviews
image

Romeo & Joliet

87 reviews
Back to Top