OPI • The Thrill of Brazil • Polishes

rated 4.5(60 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 leaveherbe on 6/8/2011 4:34:00 PM more reviews by leaveherbe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My favouriate bright red shade! Super easy to apply and long lasting. Colour might be too jumpy for winter but perfect for summer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fairlady01 on 5/25/2011 10:06:00 AM more reviews by fairlady01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

"Thrill of Brazil" is such a heartbreaker! She's the perfect true red that's not too dark for my fair, cool-toned hands. The blue undertones make this one flattering and super hot color for pale ladies out there, but I'm sure this would look great on many skintones. The application is very smooth, even though the pro wide brush is a bit difficult to handle. It's hard to get close to your cuticles with the wide, squared off tip of the brush. I do have dainty hands and tiny fingernails for an adult female, though. I can see how you might prefer this brush if you're new to OPI polishes. It certainly helps cut down on streakiness and application time. Two coats "Thrill of Brazil" are needed for opacity.


The problem with this color is that it chips! It chips at the tips on the second day for me, every time I apply it. I tried it with SH Instra-dri and Seche Vite, but perhaps my bottles of top coat were old. It might just be the Southern humidity during this hot summer. I don't know, but I'm disappointed in this polish. The Zoya and Essie shades I have last me at least 4 days without chipping.


I will still continue try other OPI colors. Will have to go back to Sinful "Ruby Ruby" for my HG red, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mininana on 5/14/2011 10:35:00 PM more reviews by mininana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I must have tried over 10 different reds and this one is the BEST for my pale asian skin. I am in love with this color! can't wait to use it again :)

One coat is very pretty but I prefer two coats

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kirakiraboshi82 on 5/14/2011 8:04:00 AM more reviews by kirakiraboshi82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Absolutely perfect bright red. I'm very pale & redhead, and it looks good on me. It gives an instant pin-up sexy feeling, and it's a great way to spicen up any boring style. I found that it combines great with YSL 143 lipstick, and the application is really great. I only need to use one layer. Sometimes I combine this color with "happy anniversary" on top of it to make it kinda soft-strawberry icecream ready for the summer glammy color. I just love love love my thrill of brazil, which actually gives me a very big thrill.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bellaessentiel on 5/4/2011 3:23:00 AM more reviews by bellaessentiel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Total love affair with this red! This is the first OPI color that I bought, and it was a matter of impulse. I was actually looking for pinks but the exclusive distributor in my country was out of stock on those shades. But then they had several reds on the rack, and this one definitely stood out. I've tried various brands, both cheap and expensive, but didn't have the bright red that I wanted. Not too dark, and not too orange or bordering on magenta. And I was lucky since I was able to buy the last bottle of Thrill of Brazil that they had! Upon trying it out, I couldn't help but gush because it was the perfect red tone that I wanted, perfect for making that sexy impression. My bf definitely likes it on me as much as I do! Although I do add an extra coat of clear polish so it doesn't chip or crack.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tiff1211 on 3/31/2011 9:29:00 AM more reviews by tiff1211

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A beautiful red on my skin tone......Defiently would buy it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Perthro on 3/18/2011 2:43:00 PM more reviews by Perthro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very vibrant, pretty red with a slightly blue (?) hue. Application was smooth and creamy. The wear does not seem too bad topped with Seche Vite fast-drying.
I think this is the classic red polish for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Xaephan on 2/15/2011 7:42:00 PM more reviews by Xaephan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this red! I picked it up 'cause I love the name (OPI has the funniest/most wtf names) and I was looking for a red polish. It's a gorgeous colour and I love the consistency, brush, and finished look. Could be more chip-resistant, though. I found that this one chipped more than my other red, Borota Blackberry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmadisonave on 11/28/2010 2:19:00 PM more reviews by missmadisonave

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

peeeeerfect red. i'm very fair and thought this would be too orange on me, but it isn't at all-it's so christmas-y and gorgeous. application was a dream, tho the polish was really old-i could've gotten away with one coat, which i can't say about any other polish i've tried from OPI! love this!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missmercado on 10/19/2010 5:45:00 AM more reviews by missmercado

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on the quest to find the perfect red nail polish. At the moment I'm wearing Big Apple Red, Thrill of Brazil and Color So Hot It Berns. They are all extremely similar - like triplets! All the differences between them that I've outlined in the following description are so slight as to be imperceptible to anyone who is not a red nail polish fiend!

CSHIB has a very slight pinkish tone so she would be the youngest and the most fun of the triplets. TOB has a slight blue tone, a little serious.. so she must be the eldest! BAR is the middle sister, can't really detect pink/blue undertones and she's closest to true red, making her a classic.

The formula of CSHIB and BAR is divine, so smooth.. just perfect! TOB is close behind, it's a little thinner..

Not sure which one I like the best - the three are just awesome. But I have black hair and a golden all-year tan so I found that BAR looks best on my skin-tone!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products