Garnier • Sleek and Shine Moroccan Sleek Oil Treatment • Hair Treatments

rated 4.5(160 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Princesa7 on 7/18/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by Princesa7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So I've been using this for the past week and I must say I love it!!

My hair feels soooo much better,but i do find I have to use more than the suggest amout..my hair is long & naturally curly(spiral curly) and I straighten my hair every other day.

This stuff works like a charm with my hair!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 southernsweetheart on 7/15/2012 3:08:00 AM more reviews by southernsweetheart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

It makes my hair feel soft. It smells great & a little goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kookiekrumb on 7/12/2012 9:02:00 AM more reviews by kookiekrumb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Originally a fan of the Garnier Sleek and Shine serum with argan oil, I saw this while shopping at Walgreens and was intrigued to try it. I would say it works better than the other serum - which I love! It really smooths out frizziness before i iron-straight my hair and its not overly greasy like other oils i've tried.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 laurenmn on 7/5/2012 3:26:00 PM more reviews by laurenmn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use mostly Garnier on my hair and skin, so no hate for the brand. I have thick hair that I recently cut to my chin, and chemically relaxed. It's naturally very curly and coarse, and sucks up moisture. I lead with all this because if you don't have my very specific hair type, this review is likely useless to you and I don't want you to judge the product based on it.

But for my hair type, this stuff is too light. I can use two to three quarter size dollops on my hair and while it wont be oily, my hair still feels dry. I guess my hair absorbs it too fast or something, but I'll go back to schwarzkopf serum.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dainaleeo2 on 7/5/2012 3:10:00 PM more reviews by dainaleeo2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

[edit: 8.16.12]
Alright, so I still use this, but only on & off. I realized that it's a bit too heavy for my thin, short hair, & since it was leaving my hair far too greasy & making my have to wash my hair every single day (which isn't helping my damage issue, since I then need to flat iron it every day). I found my HG in hair products, along with my It's a 10 Keratin Mist, to be the Josie Maran Argan Oil Serum for hair. So, I'll be using those only because my hair has never looked better, but this is still a good product for those that don't want to or can't afford to shell out the $30 bucks it costs for those other two products.

---
[original]

Ok, I finally caved & bought this. I didn't want to, since I know I have enough products as it is, but I am a product junkie at heart, so of course I ended up getting it when it was on sale :P

I use this both when my hair is damp along with my It's A 10 leave in keratin conditioner, & a small bit when it is dry before flat ironing. Since I haven't found a good thermal spray to date, this is actually by far one of the best. I was using the Nexxus split in mender straightening lotion before, but since you apply it when damp, it left me wary that I was actually protecting my hair (since it's in great condition now & I want it to remain that way). So using a tiny bit of this before straightening does wonders for my hair. It really lets the flat iron glide through my hair effortlessly :)

Pros:
- Really cheap for what you're getting. The moroccan oil brand itself is super pricey, & my other moroccan oil go to is also around $20, so this for $5 is pretty darn amazing.
- I like that it does have some silicone in it so that you can use it as a heat protectant. *Note: i know someone had complained that they used silicone in it, but if you use straight oil on your hair, most oils will not be conducive to using heat as well. You'll just end up literally frying your hair. Silicones are a must for protecting your hair from heat. the oil is the 3rd ingredient as it is, which is pretty good in my book.
- It adds a lot of softness to my hair, & even reduces drying time a bit.
- There isn't too much fragrance, which can work against my allergies if there is a lot.

Cons:
- The flip top gives me a bit too much product most times, so it's hard to get the right amount. Not a huge deal but just worth mentioning.

Overall this is a great oil :) I've been using oils for quite some time, both naturally & within products, & this is going to be a new staple in my hair care arsenal :) Most times they have a pretty good deal at Target, CVS, or Walgreens, so you can pick it up even cheaper. Worth a shot!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SkyAlternative on 6/24/2012 10:23:00 PM more reviews by SkyAlternative

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I spotted this product on the shelf at Wal Mart and my immediate thought was "What is the purpose?" My go-to product is Garnier Sleek and Shine serum with argan oil so when I saw this product I thought they would be more or less the same product. Wrong. I'd say this product works better. It's an oil instead of a serum so it's very light (ONE rule to follow when using oil-based hair products: Less is more!) And this product is more versatile. If you do not want to put the oil straight on your hair, you can add a few drops to your conditioner for added conditioning. You can use this on wet OR dry hair as well. I get the same fantastic results as I did with the serum (Shiny, frizz-free, smooth hair) only the results last longer. I can wake up out of bed with my hair a mess, comb the hair out, and it will still be soft and frizz free. Love this product. This is my new HG hair product and of course I will purchase again.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lesliexyang on 6/17/2012 11:02:00 AM more reviews by lesliexyang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    


I usually don't write reviews for hair products but this one is a win for a drugstore product.

oh and i'm usually not comfortable with putting oil in my hair but the orange bottle just sold me. i love the smell of garnier products anyway.

i applied a dime size amount of this on my hair after i got out of the shower last night and instantly i noticed that it smoothed my hair out. once my hair started to dry i noticed my hair wasn't looking dry like it normally does and it felt really soft and not oily at all.

the true test was in the morning. my hair still felt soft and hydrated!! my ends didn't look dry and it wasn't greasy at all.

i would recommend this product, it is $5 at walmart and i'm sold.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dbmiller on 6/7/2012 11:25:00 PM more reviews by dbmiller

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this on a whim because I have dry frizzy hair and I will try nearly anything catered to that at the drugstore. I love this stuff because it is so multi-purpose. I've added it to conditioner, I've used it as a styling product, and I've used it to re-hydrate my hair after washing and it's been great at all three tasks. My hair just feels better, but not weighed down at all. Plus they give you a ton of product because a little goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Artbum on 5/17/2012 3:16:00 PM more reviews by Artbum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Ohhh, i'm glad someone started a post for this product. Today i was at walmart on my annual "hot humid pre-summer day searching for a leave-in small enough to carry in my bag" trip. I was spending some time in the john frieda section, pretty un-impressed when i went over to the garnier fructis section, and this little square-ish orange bottle caught my eye- big time! My favorite color is orange, and this leave-in oil treatment is awesome - Even on my fine long hair. The directions say it's good for wet, damp, dry hair (including as a conditioner supplement in the shower..haven't tried but i'm sure it def. works). i have no doubt this little bottle of oily greatness (not heavy or sticky) will be the unbeatable workhorse in my summer hair care regime

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PARA_NOIR on 5/15/2012 7:41:00 PM more reviews by PARA_NOIR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I just purchased this and it seems to be working well. I used it mixed with my hair conditioner in the shower as well as a dab on damp hair and blowdried. My hair feels very silky and it isn't weighed down at all. The texture is that of a dry oil. It isn't like a serum. The smell is nice, it's different than the typical Fructis scent. It smells like a vanilla with a hint of floral, it reminds me of a perfume I own and love called Casmir by Chopard. The scent doesn't linger for long though. The ingredient list is kind of sketchy. There are silicones, and "fragrance" is listed higher than the actual moroccan oil, so there isn't much of the actual oil in the product.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garnier products

More Hair Treatments products