Too Faced • Shadow Insurance • Eye Primer

rated 4.2(1588 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lawdiva on 3/20/2008 6:06:00 PM more reviews by lawdiva

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Great product. Thanks to the reviewers here for leading me to this! My shadow lasted through my work day, but I did touch up before going out at night. My eye makeup didn't crease, and my eyeliner stayed in place. Even though my eye shadow lasted all day, the color wasn't as fresh as it was in the morning, which is to be expected. Urban Decay's product also worked well for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeslieCZ on 3/19/2008 2:51:00 PM more reviews by LeslieCZ

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is probably the best eye primer I have ever used...and I have tried plenty of them over the years...from top of the line expensive to cheapie drugstore versions...I can't even remember them all! I have most recently used UDPP (too thin), Guerlain (too lumpy) and Paula Dorf (too greasy). This one has a smooth, even texture, it hydrates, it doesn't lump or cause shadows to go "bump in the night" and it's not so thin that it sinks into my very dry lids. This provides a fabulous protective layer that holds shadows in place for hours on end and works equally well under cremes or powders. DEFINITELY A WINNER...this was recommended by several MUAers and they were, as usual, right on target...glad I am now insured!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keahi on 3/19/2008 10:47:00 AM more reviews by keahi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for over a month now so I can now say that yes, I will buy this base again. But, I will also continue to buy UDPP, MAC Paint Pots, Shadesticks and Paints. I guess I am not a one eyeshadow base kind of girl.

TFSI is different than UDPP. Better than? Maybe. Depends on what you're looking for. Things it does better than UDPP are packaging, blendability, and moisture content (doesn't dry out your eyelids as much). I still think UDPP trumps this however in the longevity department. I do experience slight fading and sometimes even creasing with TFSI depending on the type of eyeshadow used. TFSI works VERY well if you are working with highly pigmented shades that tend to last well on their own. I.e. MAC, Bobbi Brown, Urban Decay, Shu, etc. I don't think it works very well with loose powder/ mineral eyeshadows--these seem to fade away sooner whereas UDPP seems to hold tight to no matter what crap you slap on your lids.

For making colors pop MAC paints, PPs and shadesticks trump both UDPP and TFSI. Shadesticks are the only base I've found that make some of my loose mineral shadows worth a darn. Bottom line: this isn't an end-all be-all base for me (which is what we're all hoping for, right?). I've resigned myself to the fact that if you want to experiment with a variety of e/s textures, finishes, formulas, and effects, you need an arsenal of bases to go with it. If I ever develop a "signature" eye look this has the potential to be my one & only, but until then, this earns a "solid" ranking as opposed to HG.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bossanovaville on 3/18/2008 7:21:00 PM more reviews by bossanovaville

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG!!! I'm asian, I have oily eyelids, and I live in Houston where it gets hot and extremely humid. I've never been able to keep eye makeup on for longer than about 2 hours before it starts fading and smudging under my eyes. This product is amazing. My eye makeup stays on all day, I can rub my eyelids with my finger and it doesn't come off, doesn't even smudge! The product itself is light and silky and doesn't flake or crease. I've had no irritation and no dryness. It does make it difficult to blend eyeshadow, but that's to be expected for a product that makes your eye makeup stay on. I highly recommend this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melissap1 on 3/17/2008 2:08:00 PM more reviews by melissap1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have used UDPP for a while, and I have never liked it. It is powdery, flaky and dulls my eyeshadow colors. But it was the only thing out there that really worked to give shadows staying power. I had also tried the Beauticontrol primer in natural which was about the same. A couple of weeks ago I went to Sephora and asked the SA if there was a primer that was less heavy, lighter and kind of clear. All the SA's there were so enthusiastic about the Too Faced Shadow Insurance that I had to buy it. Of course they were out of it, so I ordered from Beauty.com. It is exactly what I wanted and needed. First of all, the packaging is greatly superior to UDPP. I'll bet it lasts twice as long for that factor alone. It goes on clear, and may be a little more moist than UDPP, but I have dry eyelids. It enhances the color of your eyeshadows rather than dulling them. It doesn't flake or get powdery at all and just feels like your actual skin, except eyeshadows last forever on them. My favorite thing is that it makes your shadow colors more intense and brings out the colors. Finally I found my HG primer. We spend too much money on nice eyeshadows to have them flake, disappear, smudge or travel. Highly recommended!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trulylovely on 3/14/2008 4:59:00 PM more reviews by trulylovely

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This may not be a popular opinion but I honestly do not like Too Faced Shadow Insurance. I have been a big fan of UDPP since joining MUA, because I have super oily eyelids and before MUA, I was never able to wear eyeshadow for more than a few hours. After my first tube of UDPP finally went bad, I decided to purchase TF Shadow Insurance as a replacement, since everyone was raving about it on the boards. I must say, I have been very disappointed. Every single day I've used it (over 2 weeks now) it has creased on me. I keep trying different amounts and different eyeshadows, but no matter what, it keeps creasing by 2 pm. With UDPP my eyeshadow doesn't crease at all, even after 10 pm. Maybe my lids are just super oily but I am not a fan and I will not repurchase this. One thing I do like about this is the packaging, I prefer the squeeze tube to UDPP's wand, but it does not perform as well. I will go back to UDPP soon and try to swap this away.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ApplePark on 3/14/2008 12:18:00 PM more reviews by ApplePark

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am definitely the type of makeup abuser that goes is always looking for the next best thing. For longer than any other product I've used, UDPP had been a staple in my makeup arsensal. I have repurchased tubes and tubes. Then came THIS!
At first I didn't give TFSI that much attention because I thought, "it couldn't be better than UDPP!" So to compare I did a series of road tests. In each one TFSI was the winner. Day 1: I wore TFSI on one eye and UDPP on the other. I wore a neutral palette of some shimmery and some matte eyeshadows. The first thing I noticed was that the UDPP looked dehydrated, very matte. I haven't been spending tons and tons of money of eye cream for my eye area to look dehydrated. The TFSI side looked plump and the eyeshadow looked vibrant. The colors were not dull or muddy (as on the UDPP side). They seemed more brilliant and the shimmer caught more light. I had no idea that my UDPP made my colors seem more faded! I guess I was so impressed with its long wear that I hadn't noticed (at least comparatively) that the colors were faded. My skin is oily and I didn't have any creasing on the TFSI side. By the end of the day the TFSI looked great. I have heavy lided Asian eyes and my eyeliner had slightly transferred to the lid on the UDPP side. On Day 2: I decided to use TFSI alone on one side and a combination of UDPP with TFSI on top on the other. I think in the summer I may do the combination for longer wear, but it really wasn't necessary. There was only slight difference in color but the TFSI side alone was just a little bit more shimmery and colorful.

This is trumped UDPP place in my makeup toolbox. It is more moisturizing and I may try it for other purposes. It works great for lower lashline shadow bc it is less drying. Also love the tube packaging vs UDPP ridiculous genie bottle.

In summary:

PROs of TFSI over UDPP:
-more hydrating
-better staying power
-bring out e/s color better
-can be used on lower lashline
-prefer tube packaging

30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WendyDarling on 3/10/2008 11:41:00 PM more reviews by WendyDarling

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product does what it is supposed to do and does it very well. I've tested it both on my hands and worn it on my eyes. When I put it on my hand, I used UD eyeshadow. After a night of sleep, several hand washings, and a shower, there was still a faint tint of blue on the back of my hand.

When I wore it on my eyes, my shadow didn't go anywhere until I rubbed my eyes (my mistake, can't fault the product that). Even then, it only transfered to my finger a little bit, and didn't move anywhere else on my face. When I took a shower that night and washed my face in the shower, I stepped out of the bathroom to discover turquoise raccoon eyes because the shadow had shifted but not washed off. It took 2 applications of Clinique Take the Day Off to get that eyeshadow off my eyelids.

The packaging is adorable, with a turquoise tube that looks like an eye serum or something. I like that there's no applicator, it's really best applied w/ the fingertips or a real brush, not a wand.

It's definitely a special-occaison product for me. I don't wear makeup that often, but when I do I definitely want my eyeshadow to last, and Shadow Insurance locks it to your 'lids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dolcefan on 3/8/2008 7:20:00 PM more reviews by dolcefan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It's official.....I like this better than UDPP. UDPP keeps my shadow in place for a long time, and makes the colors pop.....but so does this, and it's much easier to get the right amount do to he packaging. I felt like I wasted so much of the UDPP, and who wants to crack open that tube all the time? Too Faced SI keeps my e/s from fading and creasing, and I can blend easily. It's a tad expensive but worth it IMO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missyfox on 3/5/2008 11:25:00 PM more reviews by missyfox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I found this product way better than the Urban Decay eyeshadow primer. This actually kept my eyes looking fierce even after running out into the rain and working all day. I have tried the UD primer after I started using this one, and I noticed that the UD primer doesn't hold the color as well (it eventually flakes off during the day), while the Too Faced primer kept my eye shadow on until I took it off! The word needs to be spread about this product, it is easily superior to the UD version!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Eye Primer products