Too Faced • Shadow Insurance • Eye Primer

rated 4.2(1581 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 WendyDarling on 3/10/2008 11:41:00 PM more reviews by WendyDarling

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product does what it is supposed to do and does it very well. I've tested it both on my hands and worn it on my eyes. When I put it on my hand, I used UD eyeshadow. After a night of sleep, several hand washings, and a shower, there was still a faint tint of blue on the back of my hand.

When I wore it on my eyes, my shadow didn't go anywhere until I rubbed my eyes (my mistake, can't fault the product that). Even then, it only transfered to my finger a little bit, and didn't move anywhere else on my face. When I took a shower that night and washed my face in the shower, I stepped out of the bathroom to discover turquoise raccoon eyes because the shadow had shifted but not washed off. It took 2 applications of Clinique Take the Day Off to get that eyeshadow off my eyelids.

The packaging is adorable, with a turquoise tube that looks like an eye serum or something. I like that there's no applicator, it's really best applied w/ the fingertips or a real brush, not a wand.

It's definitely a special-occaison product for me. I don't wear makeup that often, but when I do I definitely want my eyeshadow to last, and Shadow Insurance locks it to your 'lids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dolcefan on 3/8/2008 7:20:00 PM more reviews by dolcefan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It's official.....I like this better than UDPP. UDPP keeps my shadow in place for a long time, and makes the colors pop.....but so does this, and it's much easier to get the right amount do to he packaging. I felt like I wasted so much of the UDPP, and who wants to crack open that tube all the time? Too Faced SI keeps my e/s from fading and creasing, and I can blend easily. It's a tad expensive but worth it IMO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missyfox on 3/5/2008 11:25:00 PM more reviews by missyfox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I found this product way better than the Urban Decay eyeshadow primer. This actually kept my eyes looking fierce even after running out into the rain and working all day. I have tried the UD primer after I started using this one, and I noticed that the UD primer doesn't hold the color as well (it eventually flakes off during the day), while the Too Faced primer kept my eye shadow on until I took it off! The word needs to be spread about this product, it is easily superior to the UD version!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RedHead172 on 3/5/2008 10:58:00 PM more reviews by RedHead172

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

AWESOME. Truely awesome. My shadow was on from 6:00 AM until 9:30 PM and still looked wonderful! No creasing, no fading!
I thought it was a little pricey, but it is worth it! And the packaging is so great, you won't lose any product with this. You have to try this! Will definately repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 photocynthesis on 3/4/2008 6:13:00 PM more reviews by photocynthesis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A lot of people compare this product to Urban Decay Primer Potion, and while it is similar in theory, it is a LOT creamier. This is because the Too Faced creator, Jerrod Blandino, wanted a formula that was one part UDPP and one part Paula Dorf Eye Primer. It's very creamy, yet long wearing, and in a MUCH better package than UDPP [sorry Urban Decay]. It's clear, yet enhances any eyeshadow color by making it more vibrant, and resistant against creasing. And when you're done, you can cut it open much easier to get out any excess. :]

Edit: As summer came, my eyelids started to get oilier, causing this to begin to crease on me. I recommend this to people who have semi-oily lids, but if your lids are pretty oily, Urban Decay Primer Potion definitely wins.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jmarie on 3/2/2008 6:17:00 PM more reviews by jmarie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is softer and smoother then Urban Decay Primer Potion. Worked very well under my MAC frosty shadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 3/1/2008 7:54:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This stuff has a slight edge over Urban Decay's Primer Potion, in my book. Now, Urban Decay's stuff is really good. But, this new product is FANTASTIC! It will keep your shadow on all day and even all night, if you happen to sleep in it. Your eyeshadow will stay stuck to your eyes almost like super glue. You will never experience any creasing or fading with this product, even if you have super oily eyelids like I do.

BTW......It costs $17.00 and it comes in a tube. And, it works SO UNBELIEVABLY WELL!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missxdiabolique on 2/18/2008 3:52:00 AM more reviews by missxdiabolique

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i LOVE this shadow primer. you could have sex for days and your eye makeup will look as if you just applied it. beats all other eyeshadow primers out there.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DiyaSpade on 2/12/2008 7:42:00 PM more reviews by DiyaSpade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

OMG!!! Best e/s base out there! i was looking for a e/s base n first bought MACpaint pot... heard all the great revies, but wen i used it, it made my eyelids dry and when i put my shadow over it, the eyeshadow didnt go on too well, so i returned it!

then i was about to but the Urban decay primer potion. I heard that the bottle was retarded, but was gunna buy it anyways... util i went over to the Too Faced section in sephora....... (im a huge too faced fan).. so i bought tht instead, tried it... n now iv gained even more appreciation from my already favorite eyeshadows! how do u make great eyeshadows even better? With Too Faced Shadow Insurance ^_^

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slok87 on 2/11/2008 5:53:00 PM more reviews by slok87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Absolutely the best eye primer I have ever used. I squeeze a little out of the tube (love this packaging) blend it onto my eyelid and then do my eye makeup. I have used this every single day for the past month, and my eye makeup has never creased. I like to wear a lot of eye makeup and frequently like to pack loads of dark pigment onto my oily lids, from the lash line up into the crease; at the end of the day, my eye shadow looks pretty much the same (aside from where I compulsively rub the inner corners of my eyes). It doesn't matter which eye shadow I use (MAC, BE, UD, BB, Fyrinnae, TBS) and it doesn't matter if I apply it wet or dry. The shadow blends easily and then stays put. Before this, I was trying every kind of base I could find; eye primer, face primer, concealer, foundation, and various eye shadows as bases. I like trying new things but I have no desire to use any eye primer other than this. For reference, I do not like Urban Decay Primer Potion; my shadow would still crease with UDPP (especially when I applied it wet) and I had a lot of trouble blending my shadows overtop of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Eye Primer products