Too Faced • Shadow Insurance, Anti-Crease Eye Shadow Primer • Eye Primer

rated 4.2(1574 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 missxdiabolique on 2/18/2008 3:52:00 AM more reviews by missxdiabolique

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i LOVE this shadow primer. you could have sex for days and your eye makeup will look as if you just applied it. beats all other eyeshadow primers out there.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DiyaSpade on 2/12/2008 7:42:00 PM more reviews by DiyaSpade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

OMG!!! Best e/s base out there! i was looking for a e/s base n first bought MACpaint pot... heard all the great revies, but wen i used it, it made my eyelids dry and when i put my shadow over it, the eyeshadow didnt go on too well, so i returned it!

then i was about to but the Urban decay primer potion. I heard that the bottle was retarded, but was gunna buy it anyways... util i went over to the Too Faced section in sephora....... (im a huge too faced fan).. so i bought tht instead, tried it... n now iv gained even more appreciation from my already favorite eyeshadows! how do u make great eyeshadows even better? With Too Faced Shadow Insurance ^_^

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slok87 on 2/11/2008 5:53:00 PM more reviews by slok87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Absolutely the best eye primer I have ever used. I squeeze a little out of the tube (love this packaging) blend it onto my eyelid and then do my eye makeup. I have used this every single day for the past month, and my eye makeup has never creased. I like to wear a lot of eye makeup and frequently like to pack loads of dark pigment onto my oily lids, from the lash line up into the crease; at the end of the day, my eye shadow looks pretty much the same (aside from where I compulsively rub the inner corners of my eyes). It doesn't matter which eye shadow I use (MAC, BE, UD, BB, Fyrinnae, TBS) and it doesn't matter if I apply it wet or dry. The shadow blends easily and then stays put. Before this, I was trying every kind of base I could find; eye primer, face primer, concealer, foundation, and various eye shadows as bases. I like trying new things but I have no desire to use any eye primer other than this. For reference, I do not like Urban Decay Primer Potion; my shadow would still crease with UDPP (especially when I applied it wet) and I had a lot of trouble blending my shadows overtop of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CantMAKEUPmyMlND on 2/9/2008 12:50:00 PM more reviews by CantMAKEUPmyMlND

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay girls, back off. *I* have the oiliest lids in the world - not you. Really! LOL.

Anyway. My lids are oil slicks. I've tried the Urban Decay Primer Potion expecting a miracle. It didn't do a THING for me. In fact, I think I heard it laugh at me. I tried MAC Paints. Same thing. I won't even mention the L'Oreal, Tony and Tina and Benefit products I've tried.

I tried this on a whim. It was near the register and I'm easily influenced.

I put it on the next morning. I decided to test it out in full force. I used a little of this and put some Bobbi Brown Smoke eyeshadow on so it'd be really obvious if I creased.

I used this on a Monday where I'm at school for 12 hours, 3 hours in a lab setting.

I got home almost forgetting to check the status of my eyeshadow. Well good thing I did because it looked exactly the same as it did 12 hours earlier.

The tube rocks because unlike the UD PP tube you get all the product in there.

I LOVE this stuff. I guess it must be liken to cement but I don't care as it is the only thing I have ever tried that has kept my eyeshadow in place!

$17.50 at Sephora, well worth it!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crmeyers on 2/8/2008 10:05:00 PM more reviews by crmeyers

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I admit that I was skeptical. There was just no way that this was going to last all day and not crease. About 1 hour after applying eye shadow, I have a huge crease. I have just gotten to the point of not wearing eye shadow unless I go to the bar, in which case, by the end of the night, I really don't care what my eye shadow looks like anyway!

Amazingly, this stuff really works. I don't know how, considering my trouble with creasing. I have used SI for about 2 weeks daily. (I waited a while to review because I figured it was too good to be true and I would have to revise my review anyway--not so!)

I usually just wear SI by itself. It creates a very matte appearance with a very, very light beige color. The first day, I thought it felt too oily going on. I also thought it made my eye lids feel funny. I really can't describe it. I guess, they felt sorta sticky in a way. I am sure that it is because I was used to have an oil slick on my eye lids and for the very first time ever, they were completely matte! (very nice, I know) I kept checking the mirror all day, hour after hour and it stayed completely matte ALL DAY. I even went to the bar that night WITHOUT touching up and still NO CREASE. So, I am 100% sold. I feel so much more put together now that I don't have greasy, tired looking eye lids.

I put eye shadow over it today for the first time. I did have a little trouble blending (I used a dark charcoal in the crease - Chanel Influences quad) but eventually I was able to. I have to admit, after 8 hours, there was the tiniest, tiniest crease next to the bridge of my nose. I was overzealous in blending, however, and I may have simply blended some of the SI off.

Still, this is certainly by far the best makeup item that I have found in a long, long time and I have MU to thank for it! I hope others who have had the same trouble with eye shadow that I have had will give it a try. Regarding packaging...I think it's great. Sanitary, convenient, perfect. A wand simply isn't for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 badgirl on 2/6/2008 7:59:00 PM more reviews by badgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I just tried this from Sephora a couple of weeks ago. I had always used UDPP, but I like to try new things. When I first used it a big bubble of oil came shooting out which immediately turned me off. I don't like to put oily things on my eyelids, and it seemed weird that something so oily would work to hold my eyeshadow on. I also don't like having to use my finger because I am often applying makeup on the go...and then what do you with what's on your finger? Amazingly it did work, but it made my skin look like elephant skin. You could see all my pores. It didn't cover as nicely as the UDPP does for me. The UDPP seems to make my eyelid smoother AND hold on my eyeshadow. I'll stick to my UDPP.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* meandering on 2/2/2008 9:04:00 PM more reviews by meandering

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Huge rave! I was a devout user of UDPP for several years until I started experiencing a strange reaction with my right eyelid. It became severly dry and irritated and I had to toss my beloved UDPP. I tried several other products and of course nothing came close. Then enter TF Shadow Insurance. Wow. A slightly creamier consistency, the same concealer-like shade, a much more convenient squeeze tube (not to mention more sanitary)...and it doesn't irritate my eyes! My eye makeup lasted ALL DAY...perfection. It was a breeze to blend over Shadow Insurance as well, something I always had a problem with using UDPP. Will definitely purchase again. Though it seems, like UDPP, it will probably last a long time. But with Shadow Insurance you won't have to mutilate the packaging to get to the remaining fifty percent. :)
EDIT 8/9/08: Unfortunately TFSI ended up irritating my eye as well. Shame, because it really is a great product. I'm leaving my ratings the same and saying I would repurchase again, only b/c if my eye wasn't so sensitive, I would in a heartbeat.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carbonbased on 1/31/2008 6:55:00 PM more reviews by carbonbased

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i have been wearing this stuff every day for the past week, and it is amazing. everyone go try it NOW! this stuff lasts >12 hours on me--even through naps--without fading at all.


i've never been a huge fan of udpp (even though ud is one of my favorite brands), and i normally use mac paint in bare canvas or mac shadestick in beige-ing when i want a nude base.


but the mac stuff is still a little bit visible (beige-ing is really shimmery, too), and the tf stuff is very light and invisible and doesn't change the shadow you're putting on at all. it does make pigment stand out like you're looking at the pan. GREAT! i like the packaging, too, which is a simple squeeze tube with a screw cap.


i use only about 1/3 a rice grain-sized amount per eyelid, and it works fantastic. this tube is gonna last quite a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rugby on 1/26/2008 6:08:00 PM more reviews by rugby

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably the best shadow primer I have used. I even use it on its own because it does help to even tone. I used this on New Years and it kept my shadow perfectly intact all night not to mention I fell asleep without taking off my make up. Hey it was NYE! and I still had shadow on in the morning...This a def repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 susiesephora on 1/24/2008 3:02:00 AM more reviews by susiesephora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This product is the exact same thing as Urban primer potion.
The one point of difference is that this little wonder is in a squeeze tube, not that pesky tube with a wand.

The bottom line... it works just as fabulous, and you can get all the product out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Eye Primer products