MAC Face and Body Foundation

4.0

1157 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dimethicone, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Butylene Glycol, PVP/Hexadecene Copolymer, Stearic Acid, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Talc, Tocopherol, Tocopherol Acetate, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange), Fusanus Spicatus Wood oil, Xantham Gum, Triethanolamine, Polysorbate 20, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin [+/- Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens]


on 12/17/2004 8:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

HG! Sheer and natural and I LOVE it! Give me a natural glow, a "my skin but better" look. It goes on sheer but I go over my face w/ foundation brush & more product for areas that need more coverage. The formula is perfect for using a sponge, fingers or foundation brush and never streaks. Best part - I never feel like I am wearing "foundation". Actually it feels more like a tinted moisterizer and feels comfortable no matter what season - I just adjust my moisterizer I wear underneath instead of changing foundations. Love the packaging. Great color selection too. No complaints here. Would repurchase. I just hope there are no truth to the rumors that this product may be discontinued.



on 12/17/2004 8:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've used many MAC foundations over the years - my favourite being Select Tint SPF 15. I bought this one because I have found that during the winter months, ST can look a little pasty on me. Face/Body is quite good; it's incredibly sheer and it evens out the skin. I dropped one lippie because I have a feeling it may be irritating my skin slightly (actually due to the cold weather and wind, I haven't quite discovered whether or not it is this foundation or simply mother nature that is causing redness!!). If you like the formula and find a good colour match, it is really good value. I use this in C4 (a little dark for the winter, but it is so sheer I can get away with it). I use NC40 in ST.


on 12/10/2004 4:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation has got to be one of THE best ones I've ever used. The consistency of it is quite runny at first but as you rub this on to your skin, the moisture starts to get absorbed and it "thickens" up. The coverage is light and the finish is satin but I don't get terribly oily through out the day. My skin is rather dry and pale so I purchased C2 for my NC25 skin...its a perfect match. I've been using this for over 3 weeks and NO break outs. HG material for $34!


on 12/2/2004 12:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Like many of us, my quest for many years (and much, much, money) has been for a foundation that 1) compliments/matches my light to medium olive skin, 2) looks natural, 3) covers my adult breakouts and acne scars without worsening my problematic skin, and 4) long lasting...aka doesn't turn orange or flaky/greasy or melt off my face by noon. In a perfect world this foundation would be inexpensive and come in cute sanitary packaging. This sums up my HG. Having tried TONS of products from drugstore, to department store, to speciality salons and skincare lines, to several different mineral cosmetics, I was beginning to think that I was simply expecting too much from makeup. MAC's face and body seems to fulfill most if not all of my desires. I have it in C2, which is perfect for me in the wintertime (I may want a darker color in the summer time). I was worried based on other reviews that the coverage would be too light, or greasy. The coverage can be layered, and remains very natural and dewy looking without feeling like a heavy moisturizer. It is slightly water resistant and has good staying power, yet washes off skin easily with a good cleanser. The packeage in large, all though to get the coverage I like to cover some of my problem areas I might use more. 4 oz for $28 seems like a great price especially if it works for you. No break outs yet, but will update if problems develop. I have my fingers crossed that maybe my search is over!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 11/24/2004 12:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this on a whim because I already have another foundation I am very fond of (Future Skin) but I'm glad I did. The bottle is huge, so you get a lot for your money. The squeeze bottle makes it easy to control the amount you are putting on. I apply this with the MAC 187 Stippling (Skunk) brush and it goes on a like a dream. The coverage is on the sheer side, so I wear my Future Skin on days when I need more coverage, but wear this on average days. It's not matte but kind of dewey, until you put powder over it. It takes a minute to dry on your face, then it has great staying power. A winner!


on 11/7/2004 3:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an amazing foundation! It lives up to all the hype about its staying power and fantastic photo finish on the face! It took me a while to actually purchase this through GLOSS since the department stores do not carry the Face and Body..you'll only find it at the MAC Pro Stores. I normally wear Shiseido I2, MAC NC25-30, and Armani LSF #5 and so I purchased this in color C3. Surprisingly, it did not make me break out (unlike MAC's studio fix) and did not crease or increase the skin's oiliness factor at day's end due in part to the water-base formula. The other great aspect of this foundation is that it can be worn matte or dewy. Just brush sheer powder over for a matte finish or leave as is for the more dewy look. It's perfect for both sheer or medium coverage. Unlike some brands that will cake when more than one layer is applied, this nicely evens out rather than increase the appearance of heavy makeup. For those with the hygenic factor in mind, this comes with a squeeze bottle...perfect also for control. And $28.50 for a 4 fl oz bottle (that's a little over $7 per ounce)is a great investment! Specially considering that a ONE oz amount at Chanel can run you over $50...4 ounces would be over $120. Not bad...


on 10/25/2004 5:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

HG, I can stop searching. And I think I've literally tried about 50 foundations over the last 15 years. It's the only thing that looks like my skin when I put it on, isn't heavy, lasts all day, and still looks like my skin at the end of the day.
Some say it's too oily, and it is when very first applied, but if you blot with a blotting paper or tissue, then brush studiofix or MAC blot on top, it lasts all day and looks so natural.
And I'm dry with many breakouts and it doesn't accentuate dry flakes.
If it had sunscreen too it would be almost too perfect!


on 10/12/2004 4:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've had this foundation for a while now and never used it because I bought it a shade too dark. But after some long sunny vacation, now I can pull it off. I'm very impressed. I used it with Sonia Kashuk's Barely there loose powder. It gives my skin a nice glow. I love how this foundation is so light and sheer. Heave foundations tend to make me breakout. This foundation is best suited for someone with normal to dry skin. It doesnt last much on my oily skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/9/2004 11:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

The first week was heaven. Sheer, blendable, buildable coverage, a radiant finish - I thought I'd finally found it. Alas, the romance ended quickly. Like all MAC foundations, this one makes me break out. Badly. I kept trying, hoping that perhaps it was an adjustment period, but it just isn't meant to be. And it's a shame, because this is a wonderful foundation for those with less sensitive skin than mine. A light application will give you just enough coverage to even out skin tone and make you look polished but natural, but this is so lightweight that you can build the coverage without it looking or feeling mask-like. The bottle is huge, and it's quite inexpensive for the amount. As always, this is a YMMV situation; those who aren't sensitive to whatever it is that's in MAC foundations will most likely love this foundation.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My HG foundation!!! (for summer daytime)
It is sheer enough so it does not look like a mask but you can build it up to be thicker, if you want. Looks like your skin but better! The only problem is I don't like to set it with any powder because it takes away the beautiful sheen this foundation gives EDIT: This doesn't quite cover up enough for me so I took off one lippie


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Vintage Style Bridal Makeup by Sharon Farrell



Back to Top