L'Oreal • Sublime Bronze Airbrush-Effect Dry Mist BODY • Self Tanners

rated 3.4(53 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 HannahS12 on 7/25/2014 2:46:00 PM more reviews by HannahS12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Besides the smell I really like this product. I use it on my face and neck. I'm fair-medium skin tone and I like the glow this gives me. Lasts for a few days

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bidgybidgy on 7/2/2014 12:50:00 PM more reviews by bidgybidgy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The other reviews pretty much cover what I have to say about this product.

I have only applied it twice, and it has already left ugly steaks/clumps. Both times, I misted it evenly, and waited at least ten minutes for it to dry. It has left a marbling effect in a few places. I also find the color quite orangey, but it isn't too dark. I'm going to discontinue using this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jarona on 8/3/2013 3:06:00 PM more reviews by jarona

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

My obsession with self-tanners knows no boundaries. One of my friends had such a nice lux tan and I mentioned how great she looked. She told me it was due to this L'Oreal Sublime Bronze Airbrush Effect Dry Mist. Like me, she is on the pale/Irish-American/skin side so I could not wait to get out to the store and make the purchase.

First, the good: It DOES mist on in a dry fashion and doesn't take long at all to dry. It does not turn orangey.It doesn't smell! It does look natural..........

Second--the not-so-good: ....it looks natural when you spray it so that it doesn't streak or "miss" spots!

Yeah. While you spray this, the mist is so fine that you really cannot see where the product is going. (my friend told me her husband sprayed her--that's why she didn't streak). After the color set in I looked down at my legs only to see splotches and stripes and a fine mess!

The thing is--the parts of my legs that WERE tanned, looked great..but the rest...well, I looked like a moron!

If you purchase this, please have someone else spray you. Don't do it yourself. I'm going to have my husband spray me--..

Now..I gave this three lipsticks because it fell short of perfection in the fact it is so difficult to get an even spray. I am also still on the fence as to whether or not I would ever repurchase.

Given the fact there are so many self tanners that go on in a better way, I just may stick to TanTowel!

Thank you for reading, and if you decide to purchase and spray yourself..don't say I didn't warn ya!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lady5andy on 7/23/2013 11:33:00 PM more reviews by Lady5andy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was a disaster for me. It is really hard to apply when you're alone, and I'm clumpsy, so I don't want to discourage anybody from trying it, but is was a .... complete.... disaster! It made me streaky, like a zebra, with splotches, and some streaks and.. horrible. I had to wear long sleeve and jeans for a week (even after exfoliating like crazy and moisturizing with a regular lotion everyday). I guess it's a good thing for people who actually get it to work because it's long lasting, but it's a bad thing when you're as bad as me for applying self tanner.

Also, do not apply if you have wet hair or if it's pretty hot in your bathroom because if sweat or water run down where you already applied the mist, you'll have a big streak.

I have to say that were the color was correctly applied, it was a really nice color, but I was too stupid to make it work so it will go it the garbage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 casemend1 on 4/18/2013 9:46:00 PM more reviews by casemend1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I purchased this from Walmart a few days ago. I just used it today on my legs because I was a little worried as to how it would turn out. As far as the colour goes i am happy with my one application i will be using this on my stomach next and see how the colour looks on that before i go straight to my arms.

For a spray on tan I think this is a well made product. i always look for tanning products for the winter and its very hard to find ones that arent orange or streaky. This one has surely got my attention. i have the medium one so one applications was good enough for me. I do use another self tanner mousse from Sephora that has a better colour when it goes on but for a quick fix fast dry this one has really caught my eye.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 2/7/2013 5:10:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this product in the winter on my face and décolleté for a boost of color. It looks very natural if you follow the instructions! I made the mistake of misting too close to my body and ended up with orange splotches. It was a lesson learned, and now I'm careful about how I apply. The color is very sheer and build able, I have it in Medium. As far as sunless tanners go, this is one of the few I really like, but it is expensive for DS brand. Likely will repurchase if I can find it- noticed it has disappeared from many stores & I wonder if its been discontinued.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 haircrazed on 9/1/2011 6:06:00 PM more reviews by haircrazed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

In my opinion, this is the BEST self-tanner for body. It goes on really light versus any of the lotions, and I have oily skin, so that's a plus. The reason why I use this on my body and not really my face is because i wash my face too often and the skin is softer and this stuff is very light in colour as well, so it doenst ever tend to "stick" or last on my face. (I use Clarins Cream Deliceuse on my face btw)

Pros:
- Inexpensive ($12 or something in Walmart - I live in Canada)
- Dries SUPER fast
- It's not tacky
- Gets your hands - no need for tanning gloves and stained fingers!
- Because it's a mist it covers the surface area of the skin better than a lotion since it's hard to miss much. that which you do miss will only be a fade into what you didnt - therefore not as noticeable as a line or splotch.
- Takes less than 3 minutes to apply.

Cons:
- Stinky, but still not nearly as bad as some of them out there. Honestly, have you ever tried a self-tanner that won't stink? no, it's DHA.
- It's only a light tan with one application, unless that's a PRO for you
- Self tanning is an annoying process


How I use it:
In the morning before work I shower and exfoliate. When I come home after work (around 5pm or so), i strip down and hop into my shower curtains closed. I start by spraying top-down. Reason for this is because the mist DROPS. Gravity - it still works. I found once when i sprayed bottom-up that my feet were SUPER dark and the rest of me got lighter as you went up. I didn't account for the mist dropping and therefore applying an extra layer on my bottom half. So, I spray liberally on top, then just lightly once I get to my feet and legs. Stand with legs apart and DON"T move your legs until you get out of the shower stall. Reason? Because if you step around, you'll end up stepping on spray that's on the tub bottom, making the bottoms of your feet creamsicle orange!!! Get out, let myself dry off to the touch, then I hose down my tub so it doesn't stain. I walk around pretty much naked for about 10-15 minutes. Then i put on some "crappy" home clothes that are dark coloured. Lounge around for the night, then I go to sleep and i can even see it develop before I go to sleep.
Reason why I do this after work and not before bed: in bed you can sweat. Sweating causes streaking. Also, it helps control colour. Sometimes I can wake up looking like an orange. If I notice that there's some bad splotches at night I can hop into the shower with bath oil and stave off some of the damage before it develops well over night!

I know this sounds like a lot, but it's honestly the best most easiest, cheapest way. I apply about twice a week. Keep exfoliating because i f you don't it will wear off in patches.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Luv_MAC on 8/12/2011 4:44:00 AM more reviews by Luv_MAC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I can't stand the smell of this. Instant headache. Smells like mens cologne. I rather have the normal stench of self-tanner. I'm a pretty experienced self tanner so I knew to rub this stuff in even though it claims you don't have to. It dried SUPER QUICK. I like that a lot. The color was pretty good on my pale skin for a 1st time application. However, i will not repurchase because of this cologne smell. Oh, I got it for about $8 at walmart.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissDizzle on 8/10/2011 12:07:00 AM more reviews by MissDizzle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am super pale and the color from this (even though i used the medium) is very very nice. Honestly, just follow the instructions on the package. The only reason for streaks/blothes is if the bottle was held too close to the body when misting.

Absolutely loved the product and will def. buy again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkbrush on 7/1/2011 2:40:00 PM more reviews by pinkbrush

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have this in medium, I like the colour, I like that it's a mist BUT... it takes forever to dry, takes overnight to process, spots all over and clings to areas more than others. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Self Tanners products