Bath and Body Works Exotic Coconut

3.5

63 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I found Exotic Coconut out of the blue & was so excited because I've been obsessed with Bath & Body Works lately. It cost $9.50 & on the label, it reads: Toasted coconut folded into sweet cream. What I love about this is how it smells like a coconut & nothing else—an actual, natural-smelling coconut. It's subtly sweet & not made to smell like coconut-flavored something. I read a lot of people had a bad reaction &/or a burning sensation upon application… thankfully, this did not bother my skin at all. Even though coconut is typically a "beach" scent for summer, it's truly warm & will work during the fall/winter months, too. I like to wear it after bathing to moisturize my skin & to smell good. An entire day after application, I can still smell this on me. If I could find it, I'd repurchase.



on 1/2/2014 10:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I purchased this product because I love coconut scents, and actually loved the "suntan" smell this reminded me of. Luckily I got each bottle for only 4 dollars...unfortunately I bought 4 of them. This lotion burns on my skin very badly for about 5 or 10 minutes after applying. I thought I was going crazy and found this site. Gave a couple of stars for the scent, which I love, but that is all. I will use up the 4 bottles but definitely would not buy again. Too bad.


on 7/2/2013 4:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this stuff. I am a huge coconut scent fan and this is the best most sophisticated coconut I have smelled. It smells more like sun tan lotion than the fruity pina colada types of coconut I have smelled and thats what distinguishes this from the other fragrances. Its perfect for summer or even in the winter if you want to feel like you are on vacation. I purchased this at the SAS for $3 but when I run out I will definitely buy again. None of the other BBW coconut scents have come close to this for me.


on 6/30/2013 11:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am really glad I'm not the only one having the burning sensation when using this product. I thought something was wrong with me! I do not have overly sensitive skin when it comes to lotions and body sprays but when I use this product, I feel like my skin is on fire. I'm just really glad I got it for $3, on clearance, otherwise I think I would have been mad. I definitely won't be buying this one again!


on 6/16/2013 5:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The only scent I bought in the semi-annual sale at BBW. Lovely scent, burns the heck out of my skin right after a shower though. Looks like others have been having issues too. The shower gel is OK though on my skin.


on 1/27/2013 8:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Wow, I'm so glad I found this review.. I thought there was something wrong with me since I experienced burning of the skin with this lotion too.. I'm not sure if it's from the high concentration of alcohol in the product as I usually felt the "burning" sensation when I used it directly after I showered. I don't think I'll be repurchasing this one again..


on 9/5/2012 6:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I would give this product a 5 if it did not have any chemical preservatives in it. The scent is very nice for a coconut product and not at all too sweet. I am still trying to find an all natural product in the coconut range, but until I find one, I will keep using this product.


on 11/14/2011 2:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've had this lotion sitting around forever in my stash but I've only just gotten around to using it. I'm glad I did, though, because I love this scent! It's a more natural-smelling coconut scent than many other products. It still has a little bit of a fruity smell to it, but overall this is a very warm coconut scent that isn't overpowered by fruity or floral notes. I think the smell is great for all seasons. Coconut is usually seen as a more summery smell, but since this is a warmer scent, it's also great for the fall and winter. The smell is quite strong, which I love, but if you prefer your lotion to have a lighter fragrance, this one might not be the best for you.
As far as the consistency, it's not too light or greasy, but it's not as thick as a body butter. I have normal skin, and it works well to keep me soft and hydrated throughout the day.
Definitely recommend to coconut lovers!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Exotic Coconut is one of my favorite scents ever...but I don't love the whole line of products. For some reason, the scent in the lotion is STRONG. Like, really super strong. I still enjoy the scent once it's calmed down a bit, but it's just too much in the lotion. I stick to the cream and body butter. Other than that, I love the toasted coconut scent—it has a touch of sweetness without being too sweet, and there aren't other scents overwhelming the coconut. Just a subtle, gorgeous toasted coconut scent. P.S. Weirdly enough, I hate the taste of coconut. I also hate the beach. But I love coconut scents. Who knows?


on 1/31/2011 2:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This scent is strong and over whelming but, I like it. I used to live in an apartment where people smoked and this helped mask the smell. So I grew to like it.


Popular Lotions / Creams


Sesame Oil
Sesame Oil
26 Reviews
Creme de Corps
Creme de Corps
364 Reviews
Body Butter Shea
Body Butter Shea
226 Reviews
Lipikar Balm
Lipikar Balm
37 Reviews


Top Rated Bath and Body Works Products

Back to Top