Revlon Colorstay Pressed Powder with SoftFlex

3.7

160 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

New version (2011): Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Zinc Stearate, Silica, Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Glycol Grapeseedate, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Isododecane, TrimethylsiIoxysilicate, Lechithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Cymidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Serica (Silk), Malva Sylvestris Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract, Lactobacillus/Eriodictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Lauroyl Lysine, Synthetic Sapphire, Dimethiconol, Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891) -------------------------OLD VERSION: Talc, Dimethicone, Silica, Nylon 12, Polymethylmethacrylate, Zinc Stearate, Perfluorononyl Octyldodecyl Glycol Meadowfoamate, Polyethylene, Trimethysiloxysilicate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Lecithin, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Serica (silk soie), Malva Sylvestris Extract (mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Lauroyl Lysine, Alumina, Dimethiconol, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-): Mica (CI77019), Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77492, CI77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI77163)


on 6/16/2015 2:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
* Matches my yellowy tan skin well
* Applies smoothly

Cons:
* Broke me out
* Mattifying power does't last long (especially on my t zone)
* Bulky packaging

I wish this powder didn't clog my pores. At first, I noticed that my forehead would break out every time I used it, so I stopped using it on my forehead and only applied it to the bottom two thirds of my face. However, just recently I noticed the part of my skin that I thought was fine with the powder is starting to get irritated and clogged by this powder. I stopped using it. Bummer :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/3/2015 7:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been a loyal fan to the colorstay liquid foundation for the longest time...So when the powder came out I expected it to be just as good..But I wasn't very impressed with this powder...While this powder doesn't oxidize like my other powders, this looks and feels rather chalky...Plus this doesn't control oil at all...My face is oily within 1 hour...And they don't come in enough shades here in singapore...Maybe they have more shades in other countries but I had a hard time choosing the right shade for my 180 sand beige shade...So sad that this powder wasn't up to my expectation


on 3/7/2015 8:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this a year ago, when I realized I had left my MAC Blot Powder at home and Walgreens was having a 40% off Revlon sale. Glancing at Revlon's site, Walgreens and most retailers don't seem to carry the full range of shades. Darker skin toned ladies will likely not be able to find a suitable match in this range. I opted for Medium and it seems to be a good match for me.

I have combination skin with a very oily T-zone. Give that this is part of the Colorstay line and the liquid foundation is rather long-wearing on me, I expected the same from this powder. No such luck. I was in the habit of using strictly concealer and powder for a few months and this powder was no match for my T-zone. I would become shiny again within an hour or two during the summer months. Even as a setting powder over powder foundation, it didn't seem to abate the slick T-zone situation nearly as well as MAC Blot Powder. The powder is finely milled and doesn't impart an overly powdery look with used with a fluffy powder brush and it has decent coverage for a pressed poweder, but it isn't anything special.

The packaging is really bulky and annoying. I suppose I should appreciate that Revlon includes a bottom compartment for the spongey puff, which is perhaps more sanitary than constantly resting it on top of the powder. However, as someone looking to streamline my handbag and clutch, this isn't ideal. Plus after dropping this compact a few times, the top hinge finally broke off, as then tend to do with similarly packaged powders.

I'm not convinced that this is the best there is in drugstore pressed powders. Will not be repurchasing.


on 10/29/2014 4:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been using Revlon Colorstay Powder (shade: light/pale) for a week after my Rimmel Stay Matte smashed and I fancied a change. I'll start with the good things.. the packaging. Very sturdy and unlikely to break if dropped although I can't say i've tested it! Unfortunately that's where the positives end for me. I find it gives absolutely no coverage whatsoever, it tends to take off the foundation i've put underneath it (even if I let my foundation dry for 10 mins before applying powder) and instantly dries out my skin. It's not the most expensive powder in the world at 10 but for a highstreet/drugstore product it's relatively pricey and definitely not worth it IMO.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2014 10:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really loved Revlon's ColorStay Makeup for Combo/Oily Skin, so I thought that I would love this powder just as much, expecting a long-wearing, 16-hour matte finish like Revlon claims. Unfortunately, while the actual product is decent, $10 and a few days' trials later I feel no thrill to use it. Bummer.

I tried this out in the translucent shade, since this is apparently the only paraben-free shade, so no additional coverage was provided. I applied this over one of my favorite BB creams, KATE Mineral Cover BB Gel Cream, with an e.l.f. Studio Complexion Brush instead of the puff included with Revlon's powder. The powder does not give me a matte finish, but a satisfactory natural-looking finish that did last about 5-6 hours before my oil started to break through. By the 8th hour, the oil isn't heavy, but it's noticeable. So there is some decent oil-control going for this product based on my experience. Almost long enough for a full work day.

My biggest issue isn't actually so much with the product itself for once, but with the packaging. I personally could not get over the fact that the compact is so huge! Normally I would take my powder with me to work or outings so that I can touch up throughout the day, but this takes up most if not all the space in the tiny makeup bag I carry with me, and I really don't want to carry much with me, so the more compact, the easier it is to grab and go. This, unfortunately, just sits on my dresser and only sees use at the beginning of the day. I'd really like to use it more often if the compact wasn't so bulky.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2014 12:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a pretty decent drugstore powder. I like the colorstay line as it doesn't break me out and works alright. I usually buy this at Target for about $8 or $9 (which is a little pricey in my opinion), but often buy it online for less than that. I use the color Fair.

This matches my skin tone very well (I use to use the translucent for my pale skin tone, but felt the fair gives me a bit more coverage which is what i want for my acne redness). It leaves my skin feeling soft, and I only have to touch it up maybe once or twice throughout the day (possibly more if I get a little sweaty in the heat, lol). I've noticed it can get cakey/powdery looking if you apply too much of it, or if you apply it over a concealer/foundation that is already a little on the cakey/dry side. I actually apply this over my BB cream, and it gives a nice finish. :) I don't like to use the puff that comes with it in the compact (it doesn't apply the powder well, and I think it's silly to put in that little compartment with the mirror UNDER the pan. Poor design, lol). So I use a kabuki brush which works much better. Best of all, this powder does not break me out. :) People have said this powder does not have a smell, but i think it does a little bit. Slightly flour-y (not floral, flour :D) smell, but i like that :P (idk, I'm weird XD lol).

All in all, I do like this powder pretty well and will continue to purchase it. :) I would like something maybe a bit more smooth/airbrushed looking, but this isn't bad at all :P I've recently started using a little E.L.F. HD powder (sheer) over this, and that gives a nice soft look when i want it. :)


on 3/12/2014 9:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'd been using MAC studio fix powder for quite a while and was getting super low so decided to give it a go as the liquid colorstay lasts hours, and there was a deal at priceline. I have a very oily nose a tend to get shiny on the rest of my t zone after a few hours. Apart from my nose, my face looked flawless at least 14 hours after putting this on, and only a little shiny on my nose. and that's after a full work day in autumn (30℃) good enough to touch up and go out again if I needed. Super fine powder. It stays matte and doesn't disappear into greasy foundation that slides. And it doesn't get darker which is awesome since I'm basically white, matches perfectly, unlike Mac which would get pretty orange, even with their new light shades. Packaging is not a big deal, you dont wear the package, I'm just interested in the product. I don't use the pad thing it came with, it's too small and doesn't move much. I use a nyx foam puff, makes powders flawless. This is like $15 cheaper than Mac, not as much product but way better. I don't expect anything to last 10 hours on my nose but this did a very good job. Use the liquid first then pat this around eyes and nose and chin and dust it with a big brush over the rest of my face.

Previously I hated colorstay liquid but I had used the dry skin version (I used to have dry skin) but it was just terrible. The oily skin version and powder together are awesome. Have a good scrub getting it off though !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I came across this powder after searching for a new one to get away from my old powder that caked up and made me look orange. All I wanted was a powder that gave me a nice matte finish and kept my face from looking like and oil slick at the end of the day. I've been using this product for quite a few months now and I'll admit I do really like it and have recently just repurchased. It comes with a small mirror and little round applicator. The powder applies nice and smoothly and instantly makes my face matte. As for the people saying that after application their face looks caked and chalky, I agree that you do look a bit chalky after application (if you're using the applicator), but all I do to fix it is take my hands and lightly blend the powder out and voila! After multiple uses it doesn't look chalky on me any more. This powder doesn't cost too much (depending on where you purchase) and it lasts me my school day (6-7 hours) and I only have to touch up at least once. Overall I do like this powder and will continue to use until I find a better one soon.


on 11/16/2013 8:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This powder matches my skin tone great, I got it in light/pale. You can tell a difference as soon as you put it on your skin, it looks smooth, matte, and light. The only thing I hate about this product is the price, packaging (I have the one with the half mirror so it's pretty useless because it's so small) and the make up sponge is just weird. Other then that I have oily skin and this last maybe 5-6 hours without touch up which is great. Defiently would repurchase, great drugstore powder!


on 11/9/2013 3:03:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

A typical good drugstore powder.
Soft with matte finish.doesnt get cakey,pretty good wear lasting
[i would say around 6 hours on my troubled skin.]

For me,this is not the "it" powder.
Their lightest color doesn't match my pale complexion 100%.
It looks a little orange-ish on me,but still they have pretty good color variety compared to other drugstore products.

i would recommend this to people that have no problem matching their skin color to drugstore make up average colors.


Popular Pressed Powders


Clean
Clean
181 Reviews
Blot Powder
Blot Powder
1170 Reviews
Back to Top