Maybelline Color Sensational High Shine Lip Gloss

4.2

38 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Polyisobutene, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Hydrogenated Styrene/Methyl Styrene/Indene Copolymer, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Hydrogenated Castor Oil Isostearate, Hydrogenated Styrene/Butadiene Copolymer, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Isopropyl Isostearate, Pentylene Glycol, Caprylyl Glycol, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Parfum/Fragrance, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Alumina, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Citral, Aluminum Hydroxide, Mel/Honey/Miel, Acrylates Copolymer, Limonene, Tin Oxide, Dimethicone, Nelumbium Speciosum Extract/Nelumbium Speciosum Flower Extract, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 45410/Red 28 Lake, CI 15850/Red 7, CI 45380/Red 22 Lake, CI 15985/Yellow 6 Lake, CI 19140/Yellow 5 Lake, CI 42090/Blue 1 Lake, CI 75470/Carmine.


on 6/29/2015 5:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My friend gave this lipgloss in MOCHA-MAZING to me in Dec 2014 as it was a tad too dark for her, she's half Native Indian & I'm East Indian so I'd say I'm an NC 42-45 depending on the time of yr. Even tho my lips have a natural purple-ish undertone, this lipgloss on it's own works as a nice high shine gloss for natural days. I do however, mostly wear it as my "savior gloss"...meaning when I purchase too light lipsticks, I ll coat this on top to level it out so it won't look so bright & crazy on me. For example, I bought Wet N Wild's Peach Megalast lipstick which was far too light for me, if I put Mocha-mazing on top, it tones down the bright-ness & feeling of looking clownish. Only thing I wish is that it were a little thicker in consistency, mine's somewhat watery, but I still really appreciate it for the price point.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

UPDATE: these have been discontinued. :( I'm sad - cannot imagine a gloss I'd like better. Yet after initially running 'round building an apocalyptic, my-hg-has-been-discontinued stash....I find myself purchasing and reaching for other things. It's the perfect gloss, but I guess I'm glossed-out. fwiiw.
___________________________

This is my HG gloss, I wear 060 'Iced Chocolate' every day over Rimmel Exaggerate lip liner in 'Addiction'. Perfect natural, nude lip. My second fave is 070, 'Mocha-Mazing', which contrary to the name is not mocha at all, but a soft wine. Just gorgeous, again over Rimmel liner in 'Addiction' for day, or over Rimmel 'Epic' for night. So pretty both ways w/o being over the top. I've gotten compliments on all three of these combos.

What I love about the formula:
1) Sheen w/o being too glossy; not a liquid or laquer effect whatsoever. Shine can be modulated depending upon what gloss is layered over/under - super versatile!
2) creamy, not too sticky, not syrupy.
3) Soothing in texture (improves lip condition/smoothes flakes, etc.).
4) long lasting (over Rimmel liner - applied over the whole lip like a lipstick - no outlines here) - amazingly so. HG combination!
5) virtually unscented/tasteless (finally!)
6) both 060 and 070 have a mild shimmer - super subtle - however they leave behind zero glitter (I repeat...finally!). Just enough to give dimension w/o bling.
7) Cheap, given all of the above, and drug store, no less!

Cons: none I can think of.

I've bought these two shades over and over again. Two thumbs up!


on 4/14/2015 11:19:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have the Electric Shock shade, a bright pink, and I really, really like it.
* very glossy as advertised
* not sticky
* very faint scent
* nice opaque bright pink
* long lasting
* moisturizing
* nice applicator
* cheap-ish

What more can one ask for from a gloss?


on 11/13/2014 3:35:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I bought this in the shade Almond Crush after seeing stacysunnysidemakeup rave about this on youtube quite some time ago. I am so glad I did. It is beautiful. Looks like a high-end gloss when on. Has a pleasant feel and not an overly powerful or offending smell. Feels good on the lips. I have paired this with many lip shades, both cool and warm shades, with very pretty results, as well as wearing it on it's own. Although I do have to agree with the previous reviewer that worn alone it can be a little too nude for some folks. All depends on what you are going for/what you like and what works with your skin tone and coloring and lip pigment. I am thinking also this might mainly suit older ladies like myself (I am in my early 40's) or ladies who like a more natural lip color......I am an NW20 and I can and do sometimes wear this alone, but I mostly wear this over top of another lippie. Very pretty...A very versatile shade and will definitely repurchase!!!


on 9/17/2014 11:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I had been searching high and low for a nice pink gloss that was long lasting, wasn't drying, and would compliment my skin tone when I stumbled across this. I bought the color 'Electric Shock' and I LOVE it! It's a perfect Barbie pink, not too obnoxiously bright. It's my go to gloss.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2014 9:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this in mirrored mauve, I love the color! It is to die for, it reminds me of beso by urban decay. The gloss is well pigmented and glossy, gorgeous mauve color. The bent applicator makes it extremely easy to go on. One of my favorite lipglosses of all time.


on 3/10/2014 11:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I got this in Almond Crush after seeing a couple of blogger reviews on it. The swatches were beautiful and looked a pretty shimmery nude when put on in the photos online. However, when my Aunt and I tried it, it was a frosty white and made both of us look sick. This shade is definitely not for ladies with yellowish undertones!

On the good side, the gloss was quite moisturizing, thick but not sticky and didn't have any nasty fragance. Might try it in another colour but for now, I'll stick with my NYX gloss.


on 3/3/2014 9:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this lip gloss in Raspberry Reflections, a bright purple-toned pink shade, to wear alone or over my lip colors in the raspberry family. The gloss feels moisturizing and it is not sticky, the fruity scent doesn't bother me but it only lasts a nanosecond anyway. The color, however, lasts and lasts!
After four hours I still had a beautiful, bright stain. This shade has no shimmers or sparkles at all- a big plus for me. The only qualm I have is that the pigment seems to settle into my lip wrinkles by hour three. Time to reapply! I've never been a gloss girl, but I will definitely be buying more shades of this.


on 12/20/2013 1:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

From the Fall 2013 Limited Edition series, I purchased Flash of Pink 290. The color has a pinkish lavender tint in the tube. On my lips, the color morphed to a lovely subtle baby bubblegum pink color with just a nod to the lavender.

Longevity is 2-3 hours. Lip feel is smooth, creamy and definitely not sticky. Just an ever so slight smell and taste of Fruit Loops, which dissipates almost immediately.

Gorgeous color for a drug store lip gloss.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this in captivating coral... the outside looked orange. It didn't have very good pigmentation and came off pretty quick. It wasn't bad but it wasn't anything special either. I prolly wont get another though, I actually really like the Maybelline elixir's.


Popular Lip Glosses


Butter Gloss
Butter Gloss
355 Reviews
Deelight
Deelight
42 Reviews
c-thru lipglass
c-thru lipglass
461 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top