Batiste • Original Dry Shampoo • Dry Shampoo

rated 3.8(68 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 lilshaxter on 2/19/2014 3:05:00 PM more reviews by lilshaxter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first dry shampoo that I've tried that I like.
It's well-priced and works decently.
I'm a brunette and while people say it leaves a white residue - it's still perfect for getting rid of grease so you can go that one day without washing your hair. Make sure you comb it out properly or else it's going to seem as if you have dandruff.
I like that it leaves my hair clean. It also adds a bit of volume to my hair.
I don't love or hate the scent, but it could be better. The way I can describe it is that It's a slightly powdery smell.
I would purchase it again because it's relatively cheap and found easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jod84 on 12/4/2013 10:09:00 AM more reviews by jod84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

im not a fan of dry shampoo because it takes all the shine out of my hair and leaves it feeling stiff and powery and dry lol. girls train your hair if you find your roots get oily after 2days then just wash it three times a week your hair will get use to it and stop makeing unwanted oil

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Elizabeth82 on 11/19/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by Elizabeth82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am allergic to this....my head broke out in an itchy rash that lasted for days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 11/19/2013 10:42:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

IMHO, this is only suitable for blonde or white hair. I tried using it on the whole family once, when our plumbing was out for 4 days. My son, a blondie, was the only one who didn't look like he was wearing a George Washington wig after use. I still do use it on him, as I rather like the old-fashioned barber-shoppy smell and he prefers Batiste to actual shampooing. But on most hair colors, this just looks chalky and weird, even after a vigorous brushing. Also: Do NOT spray it directly onto your hand, the butane burns!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 breeze1234 on 11/19/2013 4:48:00 PM more reviews by breeze1234

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I like the Batiste line of dry shampoos. This one seems to be the easiest to find and I'll use it but prefer the Fresh. You'll need to brush out the white residue. There's not too much and this doesn't bother me because I think it works really well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrMontyBurns on 10/31/2013 10:26:00 AM more reviews by MrMontyBurns

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This was my first venture into dry shampoo, and I'm not impressed. It's hard to get just a little bit on, and as other reviewers have mentioned, once worked into my hair, it left a weird waxy feel, and also made my roots look slightly lighter in color (I have dark auburn-ish hair).

So, nope, won't repurchase. I'm going to try one made specifically for dark hair next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 10/16/2013 4:34:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Like other reviewers, I've tried multiple kinds of dry shampoos. I have dyed/highlighted dry/damaged hair that definitely should not be washed everyday. But yes, the roots get oily gross and the lengths get lifeless in between washes. I have tried the Tresemme dry shampoo and had similar results with it as with this product. The Tresemme probably smelled just a tad better (but neither really smells great). I bought the Batiste in the green/blue can at Walgreens, and it was supercheap. I make sure to hold the can pretty far away from my head before spraying - just a dash or two on the top and one or two on the underside & that's it. I definitely wait a bit longer than the directions suggest (I brush my teeth or do something comparable while I wait), before brushing it in/out. I do not overbrush, just a few strokes and done...otherwise I've found my hair goes right back to flat. I wouldn't say that the volume is out of this world, but it is an improvement, and it makes my blond color look "brighter" and more clean and less dark/dirty. I tried it first years ago on my virgin hair at the time, and it did not work. Obviously, my hair has changed due to processing & now it responds positively. I plan to always keep a can on hand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* satin828 on 10/10/2013 10:07:00 AM more reviews by satin828

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've only started using dry shampoo a year ago and am really in love with the concept. I believe that hair should be washed & shampooed only 1-2 times a week. However, given that I have dry bleached hair and go for touch-ups every 10-12 weeks, the roots can be very greasy in between washes. The Batiste dry shampoo really helps with this problem. Do shake it very well before spraying; otherwise, only aerosol comes out of the spray. It does go on white and very visible, so I have to really rub my scalp to work in the product. Once it's on, my hair feels amazing. The texture is fine, the volume is fuller, and the product has soaked up all the excess oil. It doesn't leave any nasty residue, and the scent isn't overbearing either. I think the effect last for 1-2 days, which is all you really need. Now I can't imagine living without dry shampoo! While I haven't tried any other brands for comparison, Batiste is well-priced and works well. Give it a try if you have oily roots!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MoodySunshine on 8/24/2013 10:00:00 PM more reviews by MoodySunshine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A truly great dry shampoo, I'd suggest it to anyone! I love the cute bottles it comes in, and the product itself works really well freshening up hair. I even use it on days I've washed my hair just because it gives nice volume and softens hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 omgVitasoy on 8/24/2013 1:03:00 AM more reviews by omgVitasoy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I heard so many great things about this product before, and I wasn't completely convinced this was THE DRY SHAMPOO to buy until I tried it out for myself. I've had pretty bad experiences with other dry shampoos (they would make my hair look and smell way worse), so I was starting to be convinced that these weren't for me. After trying Batiste, I think it's safe to say that the high praises were right! The spray comes out in a white powder, and it does a good job absorbing most of the oil at the roots (especially at my part and bangs where the greasiness is the most visible). Will definitely be buying again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Batiste products

More Dry Shampoo products